We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location to Jemma Al Fnaa”
Review of Dar al Assad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar al Assad
Ranked #371 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location to Jemma Al Fnaa”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Myself, partner, 5 year old niece and sister stayed hear during April 2013 for 3 nights.
Initially, when landing we had delay with locating our luggage which consequently affected our transfers....however due to the location of the Riad, and dependent of your time of arrival, you may (as we were) be dropped near Club Med, it is then a 10 minute walk with a man and a wheelbarrow for your luggage (yes!) to the Riad, expect to pay about 30 dirhams for this. Whilst this can be a little tiring after your flight, it gives you an amazing opportunity to take in the sights, sounds and smells of this atmospheric hub of activity! The Riad was beautiful and a calm oasis within an excellent location to the world famous souks. The staff are extremely polite, however do not understand English very well, so make sure you know some basic French / Arabic phrases! Mrs Najat, the housekeeper, was wonderful, she gave us a map of the city and also assisted us in booking a quad biking and camel riding excursion.

The breakfast was delightful, consisting of homemade yoghurt, French bread, homemade jam, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, pancakes...

The decor is very rustic and authentic, you are left to freely roam the riad, and the roof terrace was very peaceful, overall Dar Al Assad was absolutely gorgeous, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sairahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This riad was first class. In fact, it has the highest rating available in Morocco (and not one usually given to riads). It is beautiful and nicely furnished. Lots of great art, and very interesting architecturally. The staff was very nice, but be sure to know a bit of French! Great location-- near all of the action but in a quiet place. Good breakfasts, too. No locks on the room doors, but VERY safe. They were very accommodating. Very modern and cool bathrooms, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57BUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We spent a long week end here and had à wonderful stay. Breakfast is just... Gorgeous and delightful.
The place is very clean and very quiet. No noise from the street. Great. To be recommended.
The location is ideal, In the center of the Medina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilppeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just come back from 5 days in Marrakech, where we stayed in the Riad Dar Al Assad in the old medina from 9th April to 13th April. The taxi brought us to the Medina main square and a porter picked us up from the car to take us through the busy small streets to our hotel. The moment we entered Dar Al Assad we knew we had made the right choice as this is an absolute gem of a place. We received a beautiful room on the first floor, you do not get a key for your room, which is not necessary anyway, as you feel you are in somebody’s private home; there are 5 rooms all in all for guests and various areas to sit and either read, watch TV or meditate. The Dar Al Assad is a beautiful oasis of calm and peacefulness and its stunningly tasteful interior makes you want to live there forever. The rooms are all individually decorated and the bathrooms are very modern and stylish. The roof top terrace is a wonderful outside space to chill out. When we arrived we were greeted very friendly and received a fresh orange juice to cool us down. Later in the afternoon we saw another couple receiving a full Moroccan dinner, which you can order with the lady of the house. It looked very inviting and made us look forward to our breakfast. The breakfast turned out to be amazing. Fresh fruit, self-made delicious yoghurt, various freshly baked breads and pastries, various homemade jams, of which the strawberry jam is just to die for, and teas and coffees were awaiting us every morning the moment we came down the stairs. Nothing is too much for the lovely people working there to make sure your stay is a happy one. After a whole day and evening out in the medina you just feel privileged to come back to Dar Al Assad, especially when the whole place is bathed in a golden light from all the beautiful decorative lamps. We have taken so many photos of it, you could start thinking it is a little museum in itself. One thing is for sure, we know we will come back to Marrakech, but only if we can again stay in Dar Al Assad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_gadget_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay in this riad with 4 of my friends (all female). Don't be put off if your taxi driver drops you with a man and a wheelbarrow, he'll lead you through the crazy alleys to the riad where you enter into another world after the initial culture shock. Words cannot describe the beauty and intricate detailing that have gone into making this riad not only totally authentic but dripping with simplistic luxury. We were all so pleased with each little delight found on opening a door or climbling a flight of stairs. You're pretty much left with the run of the place and made to feel at home just lounging around on the roof terrace after haggling in the markets or enjoying a night cap in one of the several seating areas. If you're mad enough to be interested, there is a TV too with what looked like a DVD player and satelite TV box.
Breakfast was, as others have mentioned, another suprise with so much choice including home made yogurt, pain au chocolate, sweet pancakes, bread, butter, fried eggs, tea, coffee and the most amazingly freshly squeezed orange jiuce I have ever tasted. There are toiletries supplied in the room which even include a toothbrush and toothpaste.
Once again, we could not find fault with this riad and urge anyone to try the authentic Moroccan accommodation before booking a hotel. You're also right in the centre of this crazy city's bubbling chaotic daily life and there's no better place to jump right in!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookie113-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. The hotel is very well located, about 400m from Jemaa el Fna. The road to the hotel (Derb Dabachi) gets VERY busy around sunset. Once you get to the hotel though you can't hear anything, it truly is an oasis of peace and quiet.

We called in advance and asked for the Rubis room, a really nice and quite big room on the first floor. The bathroom is marble and tadelakt with a rain shower, very beautiful (shower was very good and hot). On arrival we were greated by Mrs Najat who offered us a free glass of freshly squeezed orange juice whilst checking in. Staff were very friendly and helpful; bear in mind though that there is no lock for the room however there is a safe and they do keep a close eye on who enters / exists the hotel. As it's a very small hotel this didn't worry us.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of very tasty food and tea / coffee. We booked in advance and got a deal through a third party website so we paid £150 for 3 nights which was an absolute bargain. We recommend the hotel thoroughly if you want to experience authentic Morocco rather than a chain hotel with a good location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleen_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Walking across the square on the first night is a real shock to the senses but then you enter the house. It was beautiful. The owners have done a wonderful job. Najat is a delight - she organised taxis and we had a meal in the riad when we arrived. The food was unbelievable.
The rooms are all individually decorated and they gave us the choice because it wasn't busy.
Our room was fab. -the emerald room, the room was wonderfully cleaned every day and the modern bathroom was immaculate.
The staff were great- breakfast was a full meal in itself(pain au chocolat,bread, yoghurt ,jam,freshly squeezed orange juice,tea and a daily fried egg!)
The terrace was ideal - beautifully furnished and a lovely place to sunbathe and relax.
All in all one of the best places I have stayed in.Don't bother with the hotels stay in this riad!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetteteague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#141 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#86 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#40 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#91 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#83 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#88 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar al Assad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Assad

Property: Dar al Assad
Address: 29 Derb Hajra | Dabbachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar al Assad 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar al Assad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing