We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Dar al Assad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar al Assad
Ranked #342 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from 4 nights in Marrakech staying at Dar al Assad. We had actually booked at Riad Hibiscus but there was an issue with bookings and we were moved. Despite our initial confusion, we realised we had been very lucky as the Riad is absolutely beautiful. Huge room and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was stunning and the shower was incredible! As mentioned in previous reviews, the breakfast was fantastic. Staff very friendly indeed although didn't speak much English which was sometimes tricky - but we did our best with French.

If you have your heart set on going to Marrakech we would recommend this Riad without hesitation. The city did not particularly suit us but that is just our personal taste. The Riad offered a peaceful haven when we found the busy streets a bit overwhelming.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room so you are away from people having breakfast etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flower007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Myself, partner, 5 year old niece and sister stayed hear during April 2013 for 3 nights.
Initially, when landing we had delay with locating our luggage which consequently affected our transfers....however due to the location of the Riad, and dependent of your time of arrival, you may (as we were) be dropped near Club Med, it is then a 10 minute walk with a man and a wheelbarrow for your luggage (yes!) to the Riad, expect to pay about 30 dirhams for this. Whilst this can be a little tiring after your flight, it gives you an amazing opportunity to take in the sights, sounds and smells of this atmospheric hub of activity! The Riad was beautiful and a calm oasis within an excellent location to the world famous souks. The staff are extremely polite, however do not understand English very well, so make sure you know some basic French / Arabic phrases! Mrs Najat, the housekeeper, was wonderful, she gave us a map of the city and also assisted us in booking a quad biking and camel riding excursion.

The breakfast was delightful, consisting of homemade yoghurt, French bread, homemade jam, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, pancakes...

The decor is very rustic and authentic, you are left to freely roam the riad, and the roof terrace was very peaceful, overall Dar Al Assad was absolutely gorgeous, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sairahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This riad was first class. In fact, it has the highest rating available in Morocco (and not one usually given to riads). It is beautiful and nicely furnished. Lots of great art, and very interesting architecturally. The staff was very nice, but be sure to know a bit of French! Great location-- near all of the action but in a quiet place. Good breakfasts, too. No locks on the room doors, but VERY safe. They were very accommodating. Very modern and cool bathrooms, too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57BUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We spent a long week end here and had à wonderful stay. Breakfast is just... Gorgeous and delightful.
The place is very clean and very quiet. No noise from the street. Great. To be recommended.
The location is ideal, In the center of the Medina.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilppeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just come back from 5 days in Marrakech, where we stayed in the Riad Dar Al Assad in the old medina from 9th April to 13th April. The taxi brought us to the Medina main square and a porter picked us up from the car to take us through the busy small streets to our hotel. The moment we entered Dar Al Assad we knew we had made the right choice as this is an absolute gem of a place. We received a beautiful room on the first floor, you do not get a key for your room, which is not necessary anyway, as you feel you are in somebody’s private home; there are 5 rooms all in all for guests and various areas to sit and either read, watch TV or meditate. The Dar Al Assad is a beautiful oasis of calm and peacefulness and its stunningly tasteful interior makes you want to live there forever. The rooms are all individually decorated and the bathrooms are very modern and stylish. The roof top terrace is a wonderful outside space to chill out. When we arrived we were greeted very friendly and received a fresh orange juice to cool us down. Later in the afternoon we saw another couple receiving a full Moroccan dinner, which you can order with the lady of the house. It looked very inviting and made us look forward to our breakfast. The breakfast turned out to be amazing. Fresh fruit, self-made delicious yoghurt, various freshly baked breads and pastries, various homemade jams, of which the strawberry jam is just to die for, and teas and coffees were awaiting us every morning the moment we came down the stairs. Nothing is too much for the lovely people working there to make sure your stay is a happy one. After a whole day and evening out in the medina you just feel privileged to come back to Dar Al Assad, especially when the whole place is bathed in a golden light from all the beautiful decorative lamps. We have taken so many photos of it, you could start thinking it is a little museum in itself. One thing is for sure, we know we will come back to Marrakech, but only if we can again stay in Dar Al Assad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_gadget_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay in this riad with 4 of my friends (all female). Don't be put off if your taxi driver drops you with a man and a wheelbarrow, he'll lead you through the crazy alleys to the riad where you enter into another world after the initial culture shock. Words cannot describe the beauty and intricate detailing that have gone into making this riad not only totally authentic but dripping with simplistic luxury. We were all so pleased with each little delight found on opening a door or climbling a flight of stairs. You're pretty much left with the run of the place and made to feel at home just lounging around on the roof terrace after haggling in the markets or enjoying a night cap in one of the several seating areas. If you're mad enough to be interested, there is a TV too with what looked like a DVD player and satelite TV box.
Breakfast was, as others have mentioned, another suprise with so much choice including home made yogurt, pain au chocolate, sweet pancakes, bread, butter, fried eggs, tea, coffee and the most amazingly freshly squeezed orange jiuce I have ever tasted. There are toiletries supplied in the room which even include a toothbrush and toothpaste.
Once again, we could not find fault with this riad and urge anyone to try the authentic Moroccan accommodation before booking a hotel. You're also right in the centre of this crazy city's bubbling chaotic daily life and there's no better place to jump right in!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookie113-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. The hotel is very well located, about 400m from Jemaa el Fna. The road to the hotel (Derb Dabachi) gets VERY busy around sunset. Once you get to the hotel though you can't hear anything, it truly is an oasis of peace and quiet.

We called in advance and asked for the Rubis room, a really nice and quite big room on the first floor. The bathroom is marble and tadelakt with a rain shower, very beautiful (shower was very good and hot). On arrival we were greated by Mrs Najat who offered us a free glass of freshly squeezed orange juice whilst checking in. Staff were very friendly and helpful; bear in mind though that there is no lock for the room however there is a safe and they do keep a close eye on who enters / exists the hotel. As it's a very small hotel this didn't worry us.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of very tasty food and tea / coffee. We booked in advance and got a deal through a third party website so we paid £150 for 3 nights which was an absolute bargain. We recommend the hotel thoroughly if you want to experience authentic Morocco rather than a chain hotel with a good location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heleen_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#200 of 502 in Marrakech
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 502 in Marrakech
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#16 of 502 in Marrakech
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar al Assad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Assad

Address: 29 Derb Hajra | Dabbachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £67 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar al Assad 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dar al Assad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing