We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unstuffy paradise!”
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #51 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 9 October 2013

First time ever in Marrakech and, staying in the Riad el Fenn, I now know what Paradise must be like. We were with many friends celebrating a wonderful friend's birthday. The staff were delightful and friendly and genuinely pleased to see us having such a relaxing time. Nothing was too much trouble and every whim was catered for in the most charming way. The rooms are intoxicating and the food quite simply delicious. El Fenn is luxurious but also delightfully unstuffy and unpretentious. Everything about the place is exquisite. Let's hope our dear friend decides to celebrate her xty-first birthday there as well!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

You were such a great group to have here. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for El Fenn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here. The building itself is an amalgamation of several and I frequently got lost in the courtyards and corridors. It is a fun place with a staff that really seemed to enjoy meeting the needs of its clientele. One example is that my wife had a very nasty and persistant cough and I was worried about it developing into pneumonia just as we were going into the desert; on a Saturday evening on our first day there, they arranged for a doctor to come to the riad and for the picking up of the medicine he subscribed.
Other reviewers have noted the early morning coffee outside our rooms and the roof top restaurant. Mention should also be made of the location - a short walk to the main square and the souks begin a few meters away.
Before our arrival, the hotel staff put us in touch with a charming Berber who drove us, sometimes on the fast side, over the High Atlas to the dunes and back. On short notice, they arranged for Azziz to take us on a tour of the souks and he proved a well-informed guide. We also had an excellent Moroccan massage.
The bottom line is that this us a first class hotel without losing its Moroccan soul.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are good and quiet. The riad also has a nearby house with 4 bedrooms, 4 baths...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Arnold. So pleased you made the most of the hotel as well as making trips to the Atlas and souks. Marrakech is a fascinating place and we're glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just come back from a 4 day stay where we celebrated a great friend's birthday. I felt so wonderfully divorced from reality that I am already planning (mentally at least!) my next trip to the El Fenn. The setting is exquisite - I loved all the different seating areas whether on the rooftop terrace or the Orange courtyard (completely divine with hammock). During my stay I saw many of the bedrooms and they were beautifully decorated with interesting art pieces. I thought the idea of having seating areas outside many of the rooms was a good idea - a perfect place to enjoy your early morning coffee which was left for you everyday before you went to breakfast.
The atmosphere is definitely more private house than hotel which is much more enjoyable. All the hotel staff were wonderful and a special thanks to Megan and Willem for ensuring everything went so smoothly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OAB201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

It was such fun to have you all here and so pleased that you all had a great time. Thanks for taking the time to review us so warmly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent a long weekend here recently with friends. Quiet and comprehensive service in a relaxing and beautifully designed setting - we spent ages taking photographs! Highly recommended just as a getaway destination in itself or as a base to explore this vibrant city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Merolfe. We always appreciate people taking the time to review so thanks so much for your kind words. All best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at El Fenn at the same time as the reviewer who has written the recent vitriolic review. Our view of El Fenn is so diametrically opposite some may find it hard to believe we stayed at the same place, over the same period of time. We were happy from the moment we started the online reservation process as nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We were subsequently met at the airport, warmly greeted on arrival and having been shown our room, went up to the roof terrace for dinner. The following morning woke up to a tray of coffee and croissants outside our door, before heading again to the roof terrace for breakfast. We then asked for a guide to take us through the souk, 15 minutes later we were on our way accompanied by the utterly charming Mustapha. Back in time for lunch, 5 salads, chicken skewers and dessert for £20 for the 2 of us. Simple, fresh and delicious. Rest of the afternoon on the roof terrace enjoying the peace and tranquility of our surroundings. We had booked 4 nights in a courtyard room and 3 nights in a colonnade room. Both rooms, along with everywhere else, were beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. They were also spotlessly clean. The only animals we saw were the tortoises that roam around the courtyards. We cannot recommend this riad highly enough. Willem, Megan, Allesandra and Karima couldn't do enough for us along with the rest of the staff. Would we go back, without question. Would we recommend it, without hesitation. Please try it for yourself and judge who has written the fairer review.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vinlepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you, great for us all that you had such a good time and we really hope to see you again. All best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Last week we went to Marrakech to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we stayed at El Fenn which was perfect place for such an occasion, so romantic and charming. This Riad is perfectly located for a walk to busy Medina souks but it is surprisingly quite once you enter the door of the riad. Service is perfect, everyone is so friendly, from the reception, restaurant, driver and the private tour guide. Whole riad is so beautifully decorated with a warm touch in every corner, including our room 7, only rooftop terrace restaurant is not so special, as if was forgotten - still the view and the sphere at the rest of the terrace is fabulous. We had wonderful spa arrangement, hammam and massage, highly recommended. The only min point was a breakfast, the choice was a bit limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamSdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary stay so much. Come back again next year...?! All best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our 4 night stay at Riad El Fenn was fabulous! We were welcomed into the beautiful Riad by Karima who helped make our stay so enjoyable. The accomodations were elegant and extremely comfortable and the meals were excellent. We could not be happier. Our room (number 16) was spacious and the bathroom large and stylish. It is wise to hire their driver to pick you up at the airport and also to arrange a tour guide to take you around the streets of Marrakech. Our guide was Ali and he was fantastic. The experience upon entering the inside quarters of the Riad from the hustle and bustle of the outside streets is just magical.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank beejgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

What kind words. Thanks so much for the review. All best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#28 of 502 in Marrakech
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £235 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing