We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"never stay anywhere else in Marrakech!" michelle m”
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #53 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"never stay anywhere else in Marrakech!" michelle m”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Marrakech to the beautiful riad el fenn. From the moment we walked in we felt at home. The staff were all extremely welcoming and we were blown away by our stunning suite/room next to the swimming pool area. The room had a beautiful copper bath in the room and it we had a seating area separate from the bedroom inside and outside. We ate mainly in the hotel as the food was spectacular and the restaurant breathtaking. We did an amazing cookery experience in the riad with the chef hafid who took us out to the local food markets where we purchased our lunch. We then returned to the riad kitchens where we were given chef whites and taught how to make lamb tagine. we then ate our lunch outside in one of the luxurious courtyards. Another experience also organised by the hotel was an inspiring tourguide mustapha chouquir who took us on a 3 hour walking tour of Marrakech. He talked to us the whole time about the history of Marrakech and showed us lots of amazing buildings and areas that we probably would never have found by ourselves. We had a ball, and Mustapha was outstanding. We also experienced the in house hammam spa, where my husband and I also had a massage after. Needless to say we came away from this experince extremely relaxed. We did visit a few nearby hotels just to get a feel of the place but we were so delighted to be staying in this stunning riad, where you really felt at home and immediately comfortable. we will definitely be back. Thankyou to everyone at el fenn who made our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 14 which had a beautiful copper bath and was on the ground floor next to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle22men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Public Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It was so lovely to meet you and hear such positive feedback on your stay. Hafid and Mustapha will be so pleased to hear what a great time you had with them. Thanks so much for taking the time to review. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    90
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
154
413
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have been to many hotels. But this one I liked best. I know there are many excellent hotels in Marrakech. But at the El Fenn almost everything is perfect. The overall architecture with its courtyards, marble pools and decoration is lovely. What really blew me off my feet was the wonderful room: Very spacious, high wood carved ceilings and a gorgeous bath. I never had in a hotel such a wonderful mix of individualistic furniture and art work. The interior decorating is stunning.
What I really appreciated: In the morning there are croissants and coffee (or tea) waiting in front of your room on your private terrace. Perfect idea for anyone who gets up early and has to wait for the rest of the family to get ready for breakfast.
The service is a perfect mix of being warm and friendly, efficient and discreet.
I liked very much the atmosphere on the rooftop. Nice place to have breakfast, a sundowner and/or dinner.
The only thing that was not perfect: Dinner. I don't mind a small menu at all - on the contrary. But it did not change even after a week. And the quality was very mixed. Some is excellent. But two times I had to give dinner back. Service was very friendly and gave us an alternative. But dinner definitely needs improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Public Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks so much for your review and we're so pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of El Fenn. We wanted to let you know that we've also taken on your feedback about the menu and have extended it - as well as introducing daily specials - to offer our guests a more diverse choice. We do hope you'll return to visit us and sample the changes we've made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

First off, Morocco is safe. My friend and I never felt uncomfortable and the people were nothing but welcoming. So don't worry about that. I travel a lot for work. Which puts me in really nice hotels all over the world. The El Fenn experience was one of my favorite ever. Enough to get me to write my firsts review ever on this site. Spectacular hotel. It is just beautiful, super stylized and with an exceptional staff. The staff, especially Lise, deserve mention. They went out of their way to help us in our many requests. You will buy a lot of things. You will need help with logistics. They handled our chaos with ease and we are all forever grateful. This hotel is incredible. Go there. We all loved it and we all have very high expectations. It isn't cheap but it is worth the money.
-Matt

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Public Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We can only say a huge thank you for writing your first Trip Advisor review on us! It was great to meet you all and we were only too happy to help with all the advice and information because we know that Marrakech can be daunting on a first visit. Thanks so much for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have just visited Marrakech for the first time and my stay at the Riad El Fenn was sophisticated, relaxed and luxurious. I will never forget the 'wow' factor when first entering the courtyards hidden inside El Fenn, inspiring and beautiful spaces, full of exotic charm. Over the 4 days I was fortunate enough to be a guest there, I enjoyed a variety of dining experiences in different locations; breakfast on the wonderful roof terrace, dinner in the stylish and atmospheric restaurant, and room service (served in our exquisite courtyard dining area) which was prompt and delicious. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, I benefited from their local knowledge which they were only too happy to share. I felt so well looked after, and urge others to visit this chic, authentic Moroccan gem of a hotel in the heart of the old town of Marrakech. An unforgettable experience awaits!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Public Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It's always wonderful for us to get such great feedback and we're so pleased that you enjoyed so many of the different elements here at El Fenn. Thanks also for taking the time to review. We so appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you wonder visiting Marrakech don't hesitate too book this riad. It was amazing, nothing more to say. The atmosphere, the peoople worked there, and the fantastic location in the medina was amazing. We changed to another hotel after 3 nights here, I regret we didn't stay all nights in Marrakech here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Public Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have just returned from my third trip to Marrakech, the second time I have stayed at Riad Vanessa and thus El Fenn. It is total relaxation, from the moment you enter El Fenn from a very unassuming door you are transported to another world, the courtyards, the pools and the roof terraces all offer places to hide away and relax. Breakfast up on the roof terrace in the sun was just what was needed to escape the UK's weather, views across to the Koutoubia mosque and the Atlas mountains in the distance, afternoon tea treats in the courtyard to the sound of the birds all adds to the relaxation. A group of us stayed at Riad Vanessa, a short walk down the derb, this was my second stay and lovely to be back and see the new decorations. Returning to Riad Vanessa to find all the candles lit, the lights on and the fires roaring was just wonderful, we also made use of the roof terrace relaxing in the sun and one day enjoyed lunch up there. All the staff at El Fenn were very kind and helpful to us throughout our stay, it is kept really clean and we enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail by the roaring fire having enjoyed the sun during the day, an odd combination but lovely!! We also had supper twice in the restaurant, very enjoyable. It is a short walk from the Riad to get to the souks and main square so a fantastic location, in all a great long weekend away in a thoroughly beautiful and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Public Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Great to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in Riad Vanessa - and the new additions to the decor! Hope to see you again for your third trip here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

An excellent experience - the full on excitement of Marrakech and the full off tranquility of El Fenn. Brilliant rooms, total peace, excellent food, first rate hospitality, lovely team, fantastic cookery course with the outstanding head chef, relaxation 100% in the hammam and massage spa, top bar experience - attentive and discrete care throughout the fascinating property - highly recommended. Ian.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChelseatheChampions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our bar man Zouair is always a hit… His mojitos are very popular! It's good to know that you liked so many other things here too. I'll pass your comments on to the team. They'll be delighted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing