We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here if you can”
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #51 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Myslef and my girlfriend stayed here t the New Year and were blown away by the experience. It is probably my favourite 'hotel' experience ever. I travel a lot for work and have stayed in plenty of nice hotels, but this is next level stuff. The building is a warren of beautiful, elegant, stylish rooms/spaces. The staff are supremely genial/professional. Just stay here goddamnit! I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlannObrien2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review and so glad you enjoyed New Year. We did so much too! Great to see the restaurant so full of people all having a great time together. We do hope to see you again here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Gorgeous riad, not personal at all though. We stayed in 4 other riads in Morocco and this was by far the worst service we've had. We don't want to be "those people" complaining, but after such magical experiences elsewhere in Morocco we had to write this review. Here we go:
We arrived and were greeted by "What's your name?" at reception.
Gave our passports, they forgot to return them. no apologies after 5 hrs.
Went up to our room, smelled of raw sewage. We aired it out and flushed all drains. Still stinky.
Asked to book hammam for the afternoon to host, they didn't get back to us until 2 hrs later saying "they're most likely booked now" Can we book tomorrow? Maybe? Leaving us in dark. No follow through.
Restaurant: food was amazing.....Shrimp was to die for. They left our drinks at bar for 15 min TWICE and were not attentive at all. Bar manager was fabulous at taking constructive criticism. Imagine how much money there losing due to the lack of service?!
Hammam was ok.
Rooftop was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCM0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We were really sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with certain aspects of the service at El Fenn and we sincerely apologise for any shortcomings. We do appreciate that, however hard we try, things can occasionally go awry. For this reason we have managers in place who can put things right on site immediately. It's obviously unacceptable that you had to wait for your passports to be returned and found it difficult to book a spa appointment. When it comes to the drains, we should point out that while we have done everything we can to modernise the system and continue to conduct regular plumbing maintenance within El Fenn, we are an historic building in the ancient medina of Marrakech and sometimes the plumbing can fight back. We’re only sorry that you felt you had to deal with this alone and have had a meeting to discuss your comments. I wanted to let you know that we have now put in place new measures to ensure the smooth running of passport return and spa appointment systems in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here in November and it was absolutely wonderful. To say it exceeded my expectations would be an understatement. You walk in and you feel as if you have been transported from the rush of the medina to a tranquil bohemian outpost. The staff was more than helpful when we arrived early for check in by two hours, they rushed to get our room ready and served us breakfast in the downstairs courtyard while waiting. The room itself was lovely, so serene with great design. They had a wonderful breakfast each morning, also the yummiest pastries with tea in the afternoon. If you are thinking of staying here, you absolutely should, it made me fall deeply in love with Marrakech. The rooftop views are incredible and the perfect way to end the day with some yummy mojitos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caitlin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Caitlin R… How wonderful that we helped you fall in love with Marrakech! So pleased to know that you enjoyed this wonderful city so full of colour, light and vibrancy and of course your stay here. We do hope to see you again at El Fenn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very easy to find in the Medina, well located for the square. The staff were exceptional, the room was massive, bed and sheets of great quality, breakfast on the roof terrace was a particular highlight. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room One which was one of the cheaper rooms but was huge! Breakfast on the roof terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Great to know that you enjoyed your time here - and our close location to the souks! We're always delighted to get feedback so thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in el fenn. We had a beautiful room and bathroom to die for. The welcome drinks were a welcome on our arrival. My favorite area was the roof top, where there is plenty of space to relax and sit in the shade if you like too. We did a cookery course at el fenn which I would highly recommend. The head chef took us on a tour of the markets to start with and then we made home made tagine which was extra tasty as we made it ourselves! We were vegetarian which they were very happy to accommodate. Afternoon tea was a really nice extra as well. The surroundings really did make it a lovely place to relax but it is definitely more like a hotel whereas other riads feel more personal so it depends what you are looking for. Can't go too wrong here though!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such great feedback. Hafid will be delighted to know how much you enjoyed the cooking class and we really feel it's a great addition for guests who want to see some local colour and learn the secrets of our food. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The experience I received while staying was next to none. Delicious food, polite and helpful staff and a beautiful setting. The roof terraces the swimming pools the cinema the spa treatments the service the views the art the swag and coolness of the whole place just overwhelmed my girlfriend and I. The price is fare and the walk to the medina is a good length of 3 minutes. The pictures of the hotel do not do it justice in anyway. They should be re done . I loved it and anyone else who is thinking about it should definitely go. Thank you to Riad el Fenn, I will never forget you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you so much. We're just delighted that you had such a great time here - and yes… the riad photography is currently being redone to try and capture everything perfectly! It was great meeting you and we really hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a must! Unusual and good. So much attention is given to the design, making it as experiental one can get in Marakesh! Such an intriguing and clever design. Incorporating maroccan elements in a very stylish, soulful and fashionable way. Full marks to music and atmosphere too. Staff are also extremely professional - always ready to help. Highly commendable.

Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mallia_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

What kind words and thanks so much for reviewing us. We really appreciate people taking the time and it's great to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#25 of 501 in Marrakech
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 501 in Marrakech
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 501 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#22 of 501 in Marrakech
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £235 - £660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing