We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Riad in the heart of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #54 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Splendid Riad in the heart of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just a short drive from the airport, the dirver takes you to the edge of the Medina, and then he walks you through some narrow streets and knocks on a non-descript door of an old non descript building; untill they open the gate; then all of a sudden you enter a wonderfull Raid, full of mystique and old charm. Though old, its very up2date and simply luxurious. The staff is extremely professional, and welcoming. We booked the upper floor appt, with its own deck overlooking the Medina. Simply wonderfull.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    85
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
149
404
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I booked El fenn for a 3 night getaway our first in 2 1/2 years since children had arrived. its a perfect place to stay and we couldn't recommend it more. Definitely worth paying extra and staying in one of the colonnade rooms if you can. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us especially Anna and Karima. Only comment for improvement would be more vegetarian options on the menu. We want to go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Number 17 was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the moment we were collected from the airport by the Riad driver, we felt relaxed. Arriving in the Riad 15 minutes later, we walked the short distance from where he could park to the Derb or alley on which the entrance door was located. On entry, it was like going into paradise as we entered the inner courtyard with its beautiful candelabra full of real candles lighting and hanging jars from the trees with candlelight. We had to mind our footfall in case we stood on the many turtles wandering in the courtyard. Our suites were magnificent - spacious, comfortable beds, beautiful lamps and wonderful bathrooms with fragrant accoutrements.
It took us several days to find all the little nooks and crannies where one can tuck up with a book or a mojito apart from the hammam (great scrub!), the two pools plus the rooftop terrace dipping pool. And yes, that roof terrace.... wonderful for sitting in the evening to read or have a drink and also to dine (although the food, while good, was not remarkable to my group of foodies) but the breakfast was excellent.
Staff were reserved but at all times courteous and helpful. This was an oasis in a wonderfully exciting city and a great place to come back to after a few hours in the souk. I would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Recently spent 3 nights at the El Fenn to celebrate my wife's birthday.

The Riad is on the edge of the Medina, so very quiet, yet only around 10 minutes walk from the main square.

We enjoyed a 1st floor room overlooking one of the courtyards and had one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. Bathroom had large roll top bath with rain shower over - fantastic.

Great eating and drinking rooftop area, with impeccable service. Although breakfast is not included in the room price, the tea and coffee left outside the bedroom each morning was a nice touch..

The interior of the hotel is beautifully decorated and there are two outdoor swimming pools.

Would I go back, most definitely YES and very soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeyL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

What a beautiful Riad with inspiring architecture, art and perfect ambiance. Great location to the main square. The staff was incredibly friendly and helped advise us a great recommendation to where we found beautiful Moroccan rugs. My only complaint would be the quality of food. For such a nice place and restaurant, I would expect better quality. We had amazing Moroccan tagines and stews all throughout our time in Morocco, except for Riad el Fenn. We asked for something vegan/vegetarian but we were served plain peas and potatoes without couscous, without chutney or any flavourful sauces. So the food was disappointing but otherwise, the Riad and service was remarkable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrewvGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is quite possible one of the best hotels in the world. It was thoughtfully designed to create a sense of peace and tranquility amid the Marrakech hustle and bustle. It is close to all attractions and the staff is top of the line. The roof terraces are amazing and the breakfast is excellent! A must stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannaBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This incredible Riad has a 'wow" factor not to be underestimated. The fantastic renovation combines traditional style and elegance with all the modern comforts you could wish for. We were travelling with our 4 year old and the Riad perfectly catered for all of us. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful. We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#58 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#28 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing