We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning riad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #53 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Christchruch new zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning riad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Set in the centre of the old town (medina) el Fenn is all about style and luxary, it truly is an Oasis in contast to the rough streets of Marrakech. El Fenn is all about attention to detail, every turn you make in the riad there is stylish art work or a funky ornament. The staff are wonderful and truely we have nothing bad to say about el Fenn, just that we didn't want to leave! Definitely splash out for an upgrade here!!!

Room Tip: You will not regret an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
So pleased to get your review and know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to review. Always great to know that people have really enjoyed their experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    84
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
145
396
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

There were many positives to staying at this chic hotel. The decor was designer deluxe, the rooms large and comfy and the location was very handy. The manager, Adil, was exceptionally helpful and very generously supported my wife in making my birthday a special occasion. He made us feel warmly welcomed. One noticeable issue was that the staff who kindly opened the doors as you entered and left the hotel, did not speak English thus it was always a mute, self conscious meeting. A second problem for me was that the morning coffee at breakfast was served by the guest pressing the top of a large, communal, vacuum flask, thus the coffee tasted stewed, rather than freshly brewed. The attractive, largest swimming pool had room for only maybe 8 deck chairs which were always taken when we wanted to use them. The mint tea and cakes served gratis of an afternoon were a delicious treat.

Room Tip: Our room was great and I suspect that all the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWhistler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good to know that you enjoyed so much of your stay with us and the special arrangements we made for your birthday but we were very sorry to read that there were things you found lacking. We leave a cafetiere of fresh coffee outside each room every morning and our management, waiting and front office staff speak fluent English, French, Dutch and Italian. But all our staff are local and some do not get to practice their language skills so often. With this in mind, everyone at the hotel goes to language school as part of our staff training. Hope that explains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

You never know what lurks behind Marrakesh's doors, and when I walked down the pathway to the hotel, I have to admit I was a bit wary. When I entered, I couldn't keep my eyes from roving everywhere. This boutique hotel boasts killer styling - everything feels well thought out and placed: intimate sitting areas, candlelit pathways, beautiful local rugs line the hallways, Moroccan lanterns, and so forth. There are some beautiful one of a kind pieces that looked right at home which in turn made me feel right at home along with the service. Everyone at the hotel was very amicable and the manager was especially helpful. He upgraded us upon check in, helped us with our lost luggage and really came through by helping us book a last minute camel safari in the Sahara. His knowledge and contacts made it possible, and through that, he helped me have a once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
The medina, mountains and desert - you got to see a lot of what makes Morocco such a beautiful and special country. So glad you enjoyed your trip and we were happy to help you arrange the next leg of it. Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This place is really incredible, it's a heaven on earth. An escape from the business of the city, great pools, great atmosphere, great rooms, great breakfast. But, of course there's a but... The food was nothing special, it was at the contrary pretty mediocre and even dull. That is also the reason not to give the place a five star review.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Great to know that you enjoyed your stay but we were so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the food so much. We have a new chef at El Fenn, a new menu and the feedback so far has been good. But we'll take your comments on board, hope that you visit again and give us 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just home from a short break at El Fenn. What a beautiful beautiful riad. Stunning surroundings, great food and the staff are wonderful. They really cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much trouble and they are constantly smiling and attentive. I cannot recommend this oasis enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Such a pleasure to read your review and know that you had wonderful stay here. The staff are always delighted to know that people enjoyed their time at El Fenn. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Most wonderful place we have stayed. It is an incredibly romantic place. Artsy and quirky and beautiful. The food was delicious and healthy. And the staff were so good to our family! We traveled with our kids (ages 7-13) and it was kid friendly enough while being the perfect grown-up hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mj_WashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Morocco is a wonderful culture to introduce children to and we're delighted that you and yours enjoyed staying with us. We try to look after children well - and also their parents! Thank you so much for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My mum and i currently stayed at the El Fenn for a week. From the moment we entered the hotel we felt that this place would blow us away- the warm and lovely welcome of Karima and Hicham who work at the reception and the delicious mint tea that was served in one of the beautiful courtyards of the Riad were a nice compensation for a long day of traveling.The hotel is a real Oasis where you can discover many objets d'art in almost every corner. You can feel that the person who designed the Riad as an eye for detail. But also the room we stayed in was very spacious with a big bed. What we liked most about the Riad was that if almost felt like being home- there are no room keys or cards to enter or lock the door- and we weren't even anxious of leaving the doors and windows open every day and night. In the mornings we could even find freshly brewed coffee and tea in front of our room door :-) what more can guests ask for? Also the smiles of every single member of staff and the friendly hotel manager we got to meet were the reason we want to come back. We can also recommend the roof terrace in the evenings-whether you want to have dinner or a nice cocktail/drink served by the very courteous barman Zouhir. Thank you for an amazing stay! we felt to be in such good hands and will miss that magical place until our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauraw1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It was so nice to have you and your mum with us and great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. El Fenn is known for its decor and so we're constantly maintaining and updating it to create a place that people feel is really special. So pleased that you did. We look forward to seeing you and your mother again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#18 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#59 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#27 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing