We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some of the best sleeps of my life”
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #51 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“some of the best sleeps of my life”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I can't write more highly about Riad El Fenn. Located on a quiet street at the start of the colorful and bustling markets, El Fenn is a quiet oasis but not too far from the action. Within the walls are lush courtyards, a serene pool area, spacious rooms (made so dark and quiet at night that I haven't slept better since), and an overall soothing yet sumptuous atmosphere. The roofdeck restaurant offers a nice alternative to going out without feeling like you are missing out. The textures and colors of the furnishings and decor and scale of the place will inspire me forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    91
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
159
417
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stated for 2 nights in July. Very contemporary and stylish. We stayed in a ground floor room which had an open plan bedroom, sitting room and bathroom (no walls, just dividers) which was fine except it's cold in the shower without a door and the bathroom sinks are noisey. Also on the ground floor in the morning and late at night the reception/courtyard plays music and guests talk and the birds in the trees sing quite loudly! Also we were not told breakfast was not included until we received the bill the first morning. The restaurant is good if you're sick of tagines and want Western cuisine (we had steak and risotto). The tour guide recommended by the riad spent most of time on his mobile and only took us for 2.25hrs despite paying for 3hrs and took us to 'riad approved shops' which were beautiful but expensive. Also the swimming pools are freezing but refreshing after 40-45C heat! If you want to stay in a boutique hotel resort, stay here. If you want an authentic Moroccan experience, go to Chefchaouen (beautiful blue city) or Fes (better shopping).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jadestar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

El fenn is located well for access into the medina. And on a small lane and is just a doorway but once you enter you enter a quirky and well designed hotel with a really interesting layout that makes the hotels seem larger in some ways than it is. While not the most impressive enterance the Hotel unfolds slowly and you simply won't be disappointed.
Our room (204) was an average room by this hotels standards ( there are a lot of fab fab fab looking rooms) but was simply fantastic - great size ,huge really huge bath in the too and a lovely touch with complimentary wines and soft drinks in room.
The lack of locks was initially a little unnerving but in reality was an excellent touch in making it feel like 'home' for a few days.
The winter restaurant was a beautiful room and I rather hoped we could have eaten in it but in summer they use the rooftop which is great but not as impressive as the winter room.
The pool is not particularly large and was a little too often in the shade but this is focusing on the small downsides.
And the little touch of cakes at 3pm is lovely.
Love this place , loved marrakesh (except the taxis) and love this place :-)

Oohh and the final night restaurant recommendation where the restaurant sends someone to pick you up - cant remember the name but do it , really do it - fantastic Moroccan experience .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

El Fenn is effortlessly cool and stylish. Original art to be found around each corner. Sunken pools to wash away the heat of the souks. Exceptional food to be had on the rooftop under the stars… the granola at breakfast is the most delicious we've ever had. Hidden areas to curl up in and read a book if you're done with the bustle of the city. Genuinely charming, mellow and helpful staff. Location is perfect… you can walk to the main square or the souks within a ten minute walk. If you want the mix of relaxation and culture, then this is the place to be. Dreamy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in April and thoroughly enjoyed the style of this hotel. Our room was the Imperial Suite and it was very large. Beautiful room with roll top bath along with large bathroom and walk-in shower/steam room. Our only issue was the bed, extremely hard which felt like you were sleeping on the floor. We are used to hard mattresses but this was solid. We had dinner in the restaurant and I must say the quality of the service and food was pretty poor. I had lamb tagine and the meat was tough with very little taste. The manager seemed to spend all his time entertaining his friends than to see if we were happy. I assume they were regulars as they were ordering the staff around like they owned the place.

We would go back but would probably ask for a different room/bed. I probably wouldn't want to eat here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Imperial Suite unless you like sleeping on a solid bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My girlfriend and I just spent 3 amazing days at the El Fenn. After being recommended some of the bigger name resorts like La Mamounia, we opted for something more authentic and special and were not disappointed. El Fenn is a splendid oasis hidden within the Medina's walls. We had an amazing room with a refreshing pool just steps from our door - perfect for an afternoon dip to escape the heat. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and helped us book reservations at some amazing restaurants like Maison Arabe. I highly recommend anyone looking for a real riad experience to stay at El Fenn and not one of the bigger resorts or hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexlb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It was wonderful to welcome you here and we're so pleased that you enjoyed the authenticity of El Fenn. We're housed across three large riads so offer guests a truly Moroccan experience. So glad you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniliquin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I went with my daughters for a special time together, a driver collected us from the airport and we entered the medina and after entering through an innocuous doorway were met by stunning interiors. After being shown around and given a welcoming drink we had dinner on their terrace restaurant to stunning views.

We had a Collanade room which had plenty of room for three people and we had our own outdoor area very close to the relaxing pool. Afternoon tea is provided every day which was very pleasant after a day in the souks. The hotel organised a guide for us for the souks and also a driver to take up into the Atlas mountains for a day. We went to Kasbah Tamandot for lunch and then a guide took us up into the hills and some Berber villages.

We spent 4 nights but would have loved more, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: For a mother with her two daughters catching up, a Collonade room was perfect, all the rooms looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We're happy to know that you and your daughters enjoyed your time with us. Some guests want to simply relax in the hotel while other wants to see all that Marrakech and the surrounding area has to offer. So pleased that you got to see the mountains, had a guided tour of the souk and took away some great memories of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,666 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 499 in Marrakech
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing