We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #54 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at El Fenn and our only disappointment was that we wished it was longer. One of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. Everything about it was truly perfect and we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    84
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
145
396
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

In the hustle bustle of the Medina and down a tiny street, you will find a very unassuming door, behind which hides a beautiful and very atmospheric Riad. It is a lovely, peaceful place to stay. The contemporary art work and candle lighting throughout enhances it's tranquillity. The two rooms that we booked as a family were spacious, but still very welcoming. Our room consisted of a large sitting area, with a narrow staircase which led to our bedroom and bathroom and then carried on up to a private courtyard. Be prepared throughout the hotel for lots of steps! Throughout the Riad there are many cosy areas where you can relax on comfy sofas and chairs and be completely on your own. The staff are very warm and welcoming and will do their upmost to help you. This is definitely a hotel for couples or families with older children. We would happily go back to El Fenn again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PZM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, perfectly located, great service, clean and well kept, spacious rooms, maybe a little bit much decorated (sometimes a little bit less is much more), but overall a wonderful and perfect place to stay in marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I loved the hotel - the rooms, the gardens, the staff, everything was perfect. Our own private paradise! Excellent design, and ideal for relaxation.
Additionally, the staff made great recommendations about daytrips and restaurants, and we willing to help with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful days in this inspiring hotel. The atmosphere is warm, stylish and sexy.The roof terrace is fantastic! Are you looking for romance and inspiration Go there! Thanks to all the staff for a great stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darien ct.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The Riad El Fenn really was a feast for the eyes from the minute you arrive, and you never tire of the admiration for the design and architecture and color.
We were in room number 1 right in the courtyard and it had a big round tub, a comfortable sitting area right in front of the huge beautiful doors facing the courtyard and a comfortable bed. The ceilings were super high and the luxurious curtains surrounding the doors were dramatic, the place felt comfortably luxurious. We enjoyed languishing around our Moroccan table lying on the rug or a pouf and enjoying a glass of wine, even with our doors open facing the courtyard we felt somehow connected yet private.
The pool was fabulous and just the right temperature for a really refreshing dip between medina jaunts and an afternoon catnap.
We only used the downstairs pool which seemed a bit more shaded than the rooftop pool.
The rooftop was great, best part was the great view in the evening of the lit up mosque and all the great nooks and crannies to find your own private space to just laze and stargaze while listening to the call to prayer or a pre dinner cocktail .
Dinner was served only rooftop during our stay though there is also a beautiful dining room and bar downstairs .
Breakfast was good and served open air upstairs as well ,buffet style with eggs a la carte( we enjoyed the eggs tajine)and fresh oj.
The staff in general were very nice and at meals service was very good as well as for drinks.
The welcome drink in the courtyard upon arrival was a nice touch before being shown your room as well as the daily afternoon tea available in the courtyard.Though breakfast was not included in the price( though very reasonable and I considered a good value price/ quality..) they set up complimentary tea and coffee outside your room each morning.
The toiletries are very nice (amazing!) so don't bother with bringing your own...though they are not the take home size and I wish I had bought some in the gift shop because the shampoo and conditioner were some of the best I have ever tried.
Also, they give you a list ( either paper or web access)of restaurants, shops, advice on what to see and do etc. and definitely take their advice on letting things go a bit while in marrakesch and don't get too uptight with haggling for prices, being asked for guide money from local boys , etc, you need to let things roll off your back a bit while out in the medina... Hard to learn at first, next time I hope to be better at it.
If El Fenn could improve a bit I would say it would be:
1) menu selection / food at dinner. After dining there one night, it gets a bit tired the 2nd or 3rd as there is no element of surprise/ novelty as far as a different menu or specials. Ie: one of us ordered the lamb tagine both nights and it was inconsistent , good the 1st time and verging on extremely disappointing the 2nd with the chicken tagine dry as a bone and the pasta very overcooked.
One can overlook this the first night due to the lovely ambiance of dining under the stars but the 2nd night it just seems a bit tired as far as the food.
2)front office:we asked several times about a Berber village tour in the front office and we just couldn't get any one to take any real interest in our questions and curiosity about taking this tour, we just got very cut and dry answers. Maybe the staff has no incentive to encourage guests or " sell" the tour but it was on offer through them and they just seemed too bothered or didn't understand that we were trying to make a decision as to wether we would want to spend one of our precious days there doing that and we just got very unenthusiastic bland responses( maybe the tour isn't that great and they don't want to sell it... Who knows )it would be nice if they had a book with some pictures and specifics of the tours on offer.
Also do find out what medina gate you are closest to for map purposes and getting back on your own or even telling a taxi,
this information wasn't given to us when we first arrived and not until the 2nd or last day( just unfortunate chance as we had a difficult time getting back our first trip out of the hotel).i know navigating the city is our responsibility but it goes back to the feeling that we didn't get enough information from the front office which I find unfortunate as I feel they seemed to be persons that would have a lot to offer regarding the city.
Overall the staff seemed very efficient and sophisticated. Our pick up from the train station and drop at the airport were very pleasant and the group tipping policy at the end makes the stay hassle free and our driver was so kind and he wouldn't take a tip from us upon departure.

Overall I would definitely pick El Fenn for my next stay and recommend it to friends.. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playa102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 3 Nights and really enjoyed our stay. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The riad is quite and very nice. If you are looking for privacy in the busy city of marrakesh its a lovely place to stay. Thanks a lot for everything.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRosenhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#14 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#26 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#53 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#28 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing