We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #53 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our recent stay at the El Fenn was wonderful. The welcome and service we received and the beautiful surroundings of the Riad were outstanding and made our trip to Marrakech very memorable indeed. Our 'colonnade room' was decorated beautifully and had lots of character, which was in-keeping with the rest of the Riad, which had lots of nooks and crannies to explore and interesting pieces of art hanging on the walls. After a long day navigating the souks and enjoying the sights and sounds of the Jemma El Fna, which were all an easy 5mins walk away, the Riad was a welcome haven and a place to unwind in tranquil surroundings with sweet treats and delicious mint tea in the afternoon. In the evening, we enjoyed a cool drink on the Riad's rooftop which had the most brilliant view of the Koutoubia mosque's minaret, followed by a delicious meal in the restaurant. The food (the poussin, lamb tagine and chocolate dessert were favourites), was superb and of the highest standard and made my boyfriend's 40th birthday one to remember. Thank you to everyone at the El Fenn for such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    85
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
148
403
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from spending 3 nights at El Fenn and could not recommend this place more. It is a little oasis of calm, luxury and relaxation right in the middle of the crazy yet splendid medina. The location could not be better as you are in a stones throw of all that is happening. you can walk easily to the souks (although then you will get totally lost amongst the alleyways of shopping!) and the main square with all its entertainment and night markets is a 5 minute stroll. All the staff at El Fenn and so friendly and helpful, recommending places to go and restaurants to eat in (including no. 14 stall on the night market which you must try!). We were only there for 3 full days and managed to get two spa treatments in purely because the first (hammam followed by a massage) was so good we needed to ensure we got another massage in before we left! Having the beautiful pool and plunge pool on the roof terrace cannot be underestimated given the heat and the ability to just take some time out relax and cool down. The decor of the place is spectacular with all its nuances at every corner it completely draws you in. The relaxing courtyard where they serve up complimentary tea and cakes each afternoon is awash with birds (and tortoises!) and it is a place which is just so easy to just lose yourself. A rude awakening returning to a rainy England yesterday. Would not stay anywhere else in Marrakech that is for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms look beautiful I had a peak in a few whilst there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently stayed at El Fenn for 4 days in August. It was hands down one of the best hotels we have ever stayed!

The location is right near the medina but far enough away to not be too loud. The interiors were stylish and elegant and our room was huge and relaxing. The perfect stay if you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful hotel with style.

The service was wonderful and we found Abdal to be particularly excellent!

Room Tip: Room 14 was a huge secluded room right near one of the pools. Definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaliAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This really is one of the best hotels in the world - and I'm fortunate to have stayed in some great places over the years. El Fenn is stylish and relaxed. The rooms are gorgeous and idiosyncratic, with exquisite artwork, high ceilings and huge bathrooms. There are countless places to lounge and chill or snuggle up with a book. Mint tea and cakes are served each afternoon in the central, plant filled courtyard – also home to two tortoises. Beautiful views of Marrakech and the Koutobia Mosque from the roof terrace. But it’s the friendly service which makes this place so special. Adil, the house manager and the team, were ever eager to provide advice on places to eat, shop and visit. We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnkampfner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had the most wonderful hospitality at El Fenn. The staff were so kind and helpful. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the environment of the riad was just fantastic. Located in the heart of the Medina, if you want to experience Marrakech and retreat into an oasis I could think of nowhere better. What a fantastic experience and we will be back for sure... with our friends too! THANK YOU and very very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPfeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I visited Riad El Fenn as part of our honeymoon in Morocco. We loved it - the staff is friendly, kind, attentive, and accommodating. The entire hotel is gorgeous. We were lucky to spend nights in a few of the guest rooms, all of which were uniquely beautiful, tastefully decorated, spacious, and quiet. The food at the hotel was nice too. El Fenn has many small areas such as courtyards, pools, and reading areas that make the Riad feel very peaceful, quiet, and private. The location is very central - close to lots of good restaurants and shops. We also booked an excursion to the desert through El Fenn, and were very pleased with the three day trip that they helped us to organize. We went to the spa at El Fenn to get a traditional Hammam treatment and we recommend it... this is a great spot!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaleh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Its a bit like going into the Tardis! An unassuming modest exterior that opens up into a series of beautifully designed intimate spaces, comfortable and stylish. However, it is the staff that really makes the time you spend at El Fenn really special, they really are fabulous. Had a wonderful time, ate good food and enjoyed seeing the collection of contemporary art in this setting. There are tortoises too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naj Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 494 in Marrakech
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#61 of 494 in Marrakech
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#28 of 494 in Marrakech
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 494 in Marrakech
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing