We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting the Medina - Great family Suite”
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar El Aila
Ranked #331 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose this as it was well reviewed, good for the medina, and had a 2 bedroom family suite. The road can organise a taxi from the airport for you for 15Euro, considering the size of the suite we had it was very good value. Nice courtyards inside, one having a small outdoor pool. Rooftop restaurant and lounging area, all in all a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Super place to stay if you are on a budget. Very lovely and traditional Riad with very clean well presented rooms. We had the cheaper room so it was small with no terrace, but still very quaint.

Riad staff are really welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Weather was wonderful with a fantastic roof terrace, the restaurant was in a Moroccan tent up there too. Was very cold in there when it rained though as gas fire didn't work on our first breakfast there. It's only a continental breakfast so quite basic.

Don't whatever you do let any local offer to take or help you to anywhere! When you follow the instructions, right, right, right the follow road past mosque and school around corner to right the left past pharmacy etc. When you get to the main road here Mach sure you go left into the beginning of the soul entrance! We paused and looked lost and were leapt on straightaway and led away. We were lead very far away from the areas tourists visit to decidedly dodgy areas where we got fed up and said 'let's phone the Riad for help' and he quickly left us alone! We were very far away from anywhere touristy so we saw a small taxi, much less expensive, and asked to be dropped by the main souk entrance. The our holiday began properly, we gained confidence to clearly and firmly say 'non merci'! To all suspect guides and children... We had an amazing time... The vegetable tangine in the cafe next to cafe France is just superb. The weather was glorious too...

Room Tip: Spend more on a bigger room with terrace access, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were sorry to leave so soon. The Raid itself is stunning, the rooms comfortable, the rooftop terrace gives an amazing view of the old city. The staff was so nice, helping us with our every need, most of them spoke english which was convenient. When one of us got sick on the last night of our stay, they let us keep the room on the morning of check-out for another couple of hours to recover, free of charge. It's an oasis of calm in the busy backstreets of the Medina. We will definately return here for our next visit.
The only thing that you could take into consideration is that the riad is beautiful but old, so quite noisy. But apart from that this is an amazing place to stay in Marrakesh!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PeterStrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A beautiful Riad hidden away in the Medina, excellent facilities, clean towels every day and a great breakfast to start the day with. Just a 10 minute walk from the city centre's hustle and bustle, yet very quiet at night. After an exhausting day of site seeing, my husband I were able to enjoy mint tea on the terraced roof, great dinner served with great views! A big thank you to Christophe, Mohammed and Badr, who were exceptional. They made us feel very welcome and were so helpful,as were the other members of staff. We can't fault anything and will definitely be back. Mx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

it is the best option to stay in Marrakech in the heart of Marrakech. if you would like to stay and feel the old city, you will be more than satisfied. the staff is very helpful and kind. I especially, would like to present my compliments to Abidine, Muhammed, Christoph and all whom I forgot to name. Good luck and have a nice day in Marrakech!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShahlaB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We only found this gem of a place on our last night in Marrakesh before heading home, and wish we had found it earlier! Perfect location, away from the hustle and bustle of Djemaa el Fna main square but easy to get there and back. The staff were very at ease and welcoming, there really was an authentic 'riad' atmosphere about it, the rooms and interior decoration were stunning, as were the two inner courtyards with palm trees, rugs, cacti and pool. It was the most relaxing and welcoming place we stayed in over our trip to Morocco. Definitely definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clementineml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great little Riad with everything you could need for a proper cultural visit to Marrakech.Tidy clean rooms,lovely little restaurant,attentive staff....really is a hidden gem.Anything needed is sorted by the staff with the minimum of fuss,,,,,excellent !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Chorfa
Riad Chorfa
#248 of 501 in Marrakech
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Adriana
Riad Adriana
#33 of 1,167 in Marrakech
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad de Vinci
Riad de Vinci
#120 of 1,167 in Marrakech
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Alfarah
Riad Dar Alfarah
#227 of 1,167 in Marrakech
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing