We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
229
100
34
14
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
100
34
14
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracespice shopriad dartaginenarrow streetscity breakuseful informationair conditioningan excursionplunge poolyogurtmint teafour nightshammam and massageourika valleythe ground floorsouks
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Similar prices to other riads in area. Fantastic staff A+. A good range of days out and spa treatments. Massage was fantastic the lady who does them is lovely and extremely professional. Bar and restaurant open until 11 which is rare in Morocco. Internet in main areas, a lovely balcony if the and if weather rains, or equally is top sunny there is enough cover. Quiet you won't get woken up by the 5 am prayers, lovely building, authentic Moroccan decor. The staff will also come and meet you at the main taxi drop off so you don't have to pay the locals to help you get around (if you don't want to). Maps with directions, good food, cocktail range would absolutely stay again.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank brynmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

We (two sisters in their twenties) had a lovely stay at Dar El Aila- our first of many destinations in Morocco. As such, we had a wealth of other riads to compare this one to. Here are the great plus points but also suggestions for improvement:

Positives:

- centrally located in a safe area of the medina, close to taxi ranks and within 20 minutes walking distance of the central square and the bustling souks
-beautiful riad with the best roof terrace we saw during our entire stay in Morocco- great view of the Atlas mountains on a clear day!
-big rooms with good bathrooms, all very clean and well equipped
-some very friendly staff: Saïd in particular was really helpful, polite and respectful.
-Lots of excursions, tours, massages, etc. can be booked via the riad
-help from the staff to find our way and the next riad- above and beyond!
-very good breakfast!
-good excursions through the riad (but see below for commentary on this)
-good pre-trip care and communication with the central reservation staff (they cover more than one riad in the owner's group)

Points for improvements:

-one or two male staff members were a little too friendly sometimes. At first we assumed that this was the local culture-and it may well have been (or just extreme friendliness), but we didn't receive the same treatment/advances at any other riad in Morocco. At times, we felt a little uncomfortable as two young, single women- especially when we'd just escaped the hassle of the souks
-mark ups and push to book through the riad. We booked a Sahara excursion through the riad which was great- but it turned out no other traveller paid as much as we did- despite also booking through their riads. This riad clearly had the biggest mark up (still good value and not expensive but worth keeping in mind if you're in a budget). We booked another activity separately and when the member of staff found out, he was a little pushy as to why we didn't book through them and said we should go through the riad next time. This was easily handled but again worth keeping in mind.
-Dinner. We had one good dinner at this riad but had better for less than half the price in subsequent riads. If you're starving you can have a good meal here but we would recommend going out for dinner if you're a foodie
-our room was quite damp- and judging by the established mould on the walls, it wasn't due to our showering habits. We just aired the room more and it wasn't a problem for the few nights we stayed there. Other rooms may have been different.

Overall, this was one of the prettiest riads, well-located and with some really great staff and a beautiful roof terrace with a view of the Atlas mountains. If you're male or accompanied by a man and happy to arrange excursions on your own (not using the riad), then this is good value for money- otherwise there's a bit of a mark up (higher than other riads) to be aware of and one or two male staff to be firm with.

We would recommend staying here and had a lovely time and good introduction to Marrakech! Thank you to the team :)

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
6  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Excellent Riad beautifully decorated with a lovely terrace overlooking the Medina! Old Riad with traditional features and many photo opportunities! Staff was friendly and very helpful and they served us breakfast at 7am instead of 8am as we had to leave early for the airport. Our room was absolutely lovely with a window to the courtyard and it had a really nice bathroom. Amazing place with a true Moroccan feel!
The only downside is that we couldn't sleep properly, because of all the noise from people up on the terrace laughing and having fun until the early hours of the morning, although the Riad advised people to be considerate towards the other guests and not disturb their sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Georgiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

The photos of this riad just don't do it justice! A short walk from the souls and main square. Beautiful rooms. Breakfast was delicious! The view from the roof terrace was pretty breathtaking - watching he sun go down with a drink on the sofas. The staff were brilliant, couldn't have possibly been more helpful, going or of their way and above and beyond to make sure we had everything we need and offered trustworthy and reliable advice (hard to come by in Morocco). Marrakech is a maze, everywhere you go but the staff greeted us at the taxi (having organised out airport transfers) and showed us to the doors then drew us maps for next time. The pool was freezing, but a welcome break from the heat, and such a lovely setting. A true oasis among a totally mental berzerk city. Very boutique and quality, could hardly believe it considering the price, it's great value and perfect fit couples or a weekend away with friends. Thanks so much we would recommend this place to everyone!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

I travelled with 5 friends and stayed a week at the riad. The staff were friendly, professional and were willing to escort us to restaurants etc so we didn't get lost. We booked several trips with the riad and had the same driver for all of them who was excellent. The trips were well worth the money and were reasonably priced. The hotel arranged early breakfasts and last evening meals on our return. The riad itself was a hidden oasis in the myriad of passages of the medina. It was spotlessly clean, had comfortable beds and a fantastic view over the roof tops of Marrakech towards the atlas mountains. Would highly recommend it to others

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mcleanspivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews