We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really set up for groups of students”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Devon UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not really set up for groups of students”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here with 22 further education students for 2 nights before and after a visit to the high Atlas Mountains .
Difficult to find and very difficult to book in with only one person on the reception desk who did not seem very happy to see us.
The rooms were fine and the buildings interesting .
Most disappointing was the food, it was very tasty but such tiny portions and nothing to accompany the single piece of lamb in a prune sauce apart from a piece of bread.
Breakfast was equally disappointing .
I think this would suit small groups of friends or single visitors .
Our bedroom was very dark and the bed mattress was really uncomfortable .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    242
    70
    31
    33
See reviews for
34
72
263
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014 & firstly the location was excellent! It requires a careful read of the directions to get there however we managed it with ease, so please ensure you take a copy!

The location is minutes away from Jem el-Fnaa Square & we (3 ladies - Mid 20's) felt safe walking back to the hostel even after 10pm.

The hostel appears to be more of a hotel & it has a vast number of common rooms, so you can always find a quiet spot to yourself should you need one! We were travelling in a group of 3 and the hostel provided us with a private 4 bed dorm which suited us fine (we had 1 bed spare)

The staff at reception were eager to help us check in & assist us in finding our feet / giving us ideas of what to do / where to visit. We enjoyed a cooking class there, which was really informative & we enjoyed our food out on the terrace.

It really has a beautiful balcony where you can catch a good sun tan!

I'd definitely recommend this place to travellers who are looking for a little bit of luxury! Please note however, because of the number of common rooms - It can be a little hard meeting other travellers, so you've really got to bite the bullet & make an effort to talk to others at Breakfast etc

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sima_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The rooms are spacious enough considering We stayed as a group of 6 and the hostel its self is beautiful and has one of the best roofs in all of Marrakech for chilling in the afternoon and watching the sun set over the Khautobia and the Atlas Mountains. Great price, great service 5 mins walk from the Jamal Fna and right in the middle of the City.

Room Tip: Bottom Floor is the best but top floor is closer to the bar and breakfast area (which is included)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was trying to find this in heavy rain, not Ideal, especially with so many "false guides" around.
Eventually someone showed me where it was, down a labyrinth of lanes and alleys.

I was pretty good, excellent roof terrace, swimming pool (well, more like a paddling pool! ;-) ), and restaurant (well, not quite), I didn't try the food as a few Brazilian people had warned me off it), the breakfast, which was included was basic, but fine.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

I would recommend this place, and would stay there again, if I ever went back to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A huge thankyou to Zac, who went out of his way to help us when we stayed at this hostel. He was so genorous, helpful, and caring when we needed it.

It was really beautiful hostel too. The pool area and rooftop terrace are amazing. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed at the Equity Point for 2 nights and in my opinion the Riad was great value for money. I had a nice room (staying at 4 bed female dorm), a hot shower and nice breakfast. A little bit of suggestion, it would be better if the Riad provide more signage so the guests are more easier to find the place

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and found the riad very comfortable and clean. The location is very good ( shopping, nice places to eat) and once you have figured out how to get to the main square it's easy to find your way around. We didn't find the riad very social, most people stayed in their rooms however the staff were pleasant and the riad it's self is very pretty. Nice terrace very high up with a great view over the city. Breakfast is average.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lovetoreviewthingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#227 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#333 of 499 in Marrakech
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#45 of 499 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 499 in Marrakech
935 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#21 of 284 in Marrakech
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point Marrakech Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Marrakech Hostel

Property: Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Address: 80 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 284 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Equity Point Marrakech Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Equity Point Marrakech Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing