We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, fab place to stay in great location”
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
Ranked #254 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Really great place to stay, with easy walk to the square and the siouk. Lovely food with a good balance between Moroccan (great lamb and apricot tagine), Italian and French. Brilliant breakfasts. Fabulous service in beautiful Marrakech surroundings. Our room had a private roof terrace which was wonderful. Our only concern was that in the height of the summer the splash pool might not be quite suffcient for colling off. But highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2009

If you want to experience the perfect contrast between the lively, noisy, crowded Medina nearby and a peaceful, relaxing superb surrounding you have to choose the Riyad al Moussika. It has an exclusive privateness and an elegant, familiar atmosphere. Every architectural and interior detail is well elaborated.
The meals are perfect, the service is excellent, kind and discreet, even if you have special wishes (which we did have – even a lot of them!). Helpfulness goes far beyond what you would expect. We stayed 5 days and were really thrilled.
Heidi and Arthur from Switzerland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tury_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in the most central position of Marrakech very close to the main square Jemâa El Fna , but very quiet. Rooms are elegant, in authentic Moroccan style and comfortable with every requirement. Hotel staff friendly and helpful and the food, ( breakfast and lunch are included on the fares), really of superb quality!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryNY_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed at Riyad Al Moussika in one of the larger suites earlier this month and have to say to this date is probably the nicest hotel we have ever been. The bed was huge and the bathroom was equally stunning.

Everything about the hotel was of the highest quality and the building is an hidden pearl!. The staff were great and provided a superior service and the restaurant food was to die for. We make two excursions, one to Essaouira and the other to the Atlas mountains with a taxi that the riyad organised for us : Both trips have been very interesting thanks as well to the chauffeur who has been very helpfull. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return for a longer holidays in the very near future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

I've been in this Riyad for three days, at the end of Apriò 2009, with my girlfriend. Being an ex Pasha residence and being charged 270 € per nigh obviously my expectations were very high and unfortunately weren't met, that's why I have to rate this Riyad 2!
I'm a very experienced traveller in more than 40 countries in the world, and I ask Mr Giovanni , the invisible owner of this Ryad, to get iun touch with me and reimburse me for thebad experience I had.
Please see the details below


Let me go through my experience briefly:
A) Arrival at the airport
The Airport transfer is included in the 270€ daily tariff (and so the launch). Our flight was a bit late but when we arrive we couldn't see anybody waiting for us. After a a phone call finally we met the man. He didn't greet us nor help with the luggage, he started walking furiously toward the parking area and we had to run to follow him. What a welcome! Unforgettable!
B) Arrival at the Riyad and launch
Launch is excellent, and this is the only experience which is excellent at this ryad. When we finished the launch we wanted to go to the terrace: the terrace was closed , they opened and arranged the chairs for us, but all in all this gave me the impression of approximation, and I disliked it. The terrace should be always open and live!!!!

C) Rooms
Rooms are very nice and clean, nothing to say about it. They are not that big but all in all are ok.
The Ryad building is wonderful , absolutely stunning, but this is not a merit of the staff!
D)Hammam
The first night we asked for hammam it was not warmed up enough at the time booked, the second time....it was totally not warmed, they tell us that the gas ...was over, and asked us to be patient ??!! I remarked that being charged 270€per night there was no room for patience and approximation.

E) A DAILY TRIP OUTSIDE MARRAKECH
Finally we asked to organize a daily trip toward Atlas Mountains. They called an external agency and whiuch charged us 1000DH (100€). Let me tell you about this trip: a) very old dirty mercedes b) the driver was always answering to his phone call c) no program at all d) the first stop was in a shop (????!!) e) the second stop in a small village where the dirver suggested us to book a guide if we wanted to see something (?????!!!) e) the 4th stop was in a shop, I told to the driver to get back immediately f) Finally he drove us to a suk, and that was the only nice experienmce of this trip

F) Trip to Essaouira
We were complaining a lot with the riad staff and we asked them to book a car to essaoura (in the south) and to change the car and the driver. What happened the day after was that the car was exactly the same!

All in all I think that this Ryad is overrated, they don't know the basics of an High Level hospitality and the only thing that deserves a memory is the food at launch and the building
Mr Giovanni (the invisible owner of this Ryad) please get in touch with me and reimburse me at least half of the rate!
Giuseppe Arciero giuseppe_arciero@yahoo.it

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giuseppe_arciero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I have been there with a friend in April and we had the best holidays ever!!!The place, the location , the food the service over the top.
An unique place where we will be back soon.

CambridgeH

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

What a find! Have a look at their website and the pictures tell the story. This is the real thing - an authentic traditional riyad beautifully presented with coutyards orange trees fountains and tiling and best of all tranquil even though it is in the heart of the old city. The staff were the most attentive and friendly we have ever encountered and nothing was too much trouble and their advice on trips was excellent. The breakfast and lunch were unmissable and yes they really were included in the price as was a the afternoon tea properly made in a china pot. Try the mint tea! The beds were very comfortable.

Anything to dislike? Perhaps the old city is not for the faint-hearted as the hotel is behind an unmarked door. They appeared not to serve evening meals mentioned in the brochure which was not a problem for us nor was the entrance to the en-suite bathroom from our private balcony a problem as they provided super bathrobes. This is definitely a memorable place to stay. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stortford_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#262 of 501 in Marrakech
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 501 in Marrakech
993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#85 of 501 in Marrakech
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#198 of 501 in Marrakech
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
1,458 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £117 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia and Ebookers so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing