We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite refuge seconds away from the centre of Marrakech”
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
Ranked #240 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An exquisite refuge seconds away from the centre of Marrakech”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I went to Al Moussika at the end of June hoping to find the best standards of accommodation and service: I was delighted to find that the Riad surpassed even my highest expectations! This private palace has been renovated to the most accurate levels of historical authenticity - the painted ceilings are breathtaking, and the attention to detail cannot be faulted. From the moment you are welcomed at the door by the manager Hassan you step out of Marrakech and into an oasis of calm and beauty which is hard to put into words - you just have to experience it! I write this as someone who has travelled extensively and is not easily impressed.
But that is only half the story: there are few hotels to match the level of service you receive from all the staff. The Manager, Hassan, ensured that my daughter and I were able to experience the best of Marrakech in the short time we were there, guiding us to the museum and arranging a spectacular day trip to the Atlas Mountains [I recommend the mule ride up the mountain! Breathtaking!] Wisely, Hassan also arranged a massage and treatment at the hotel hammam on our return, which, take my word for it, was most appreciated after 1.5 hours on the mules!
We stayed in the Green Room, with its own private terrace and a delightful loggia overlooking the Alhambra-style pool. But a little peek at the other rooms [when the visitors had left, of course] made it hard to decide which one to book on our next trip.
We truly appreciated the exquisite level of cuisine by the Cordon Bleu trained chef, who never failed to delight us with his creations and imaginative use of spices from around the world.
Despite its obvious charm, Al Moussika could not possibly sustain its magic without the exemplary level of welcome and attention by the Manager, Hassan, and the Night Manager Allal, both of whom were outstanding in their level of care and service.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    24
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
286
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Staying at the Riyad al Moussika lets you experience the very best of riad life. The service is kind and attentive without being oppressive. The food is simply the best in Marrakech. The layout of the riad assures you as much privacy as you want and the atmosphere is stunning. You can be in the main square in five minutes but inside the riad there is peace, quiet and simple elegance. I can recommend it as the perfect place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evora, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We just loved our stay. Beautiful riyad, with great comfort, quitness and charm. The lunchs were the best meals we had in Marrakech (and we have been in very good restaurants). The staff was very helpful and couldn´t be more friendly.Thank you all.
We travel a lot and this was one of the best places we´ve ever been, we strongly recomend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Semedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Entering the Riyad Al Moussika is magical. The serenity and warm welcome is only the beginning of what will be a fabulous experience. The Riyad is located in old city and could not of been more centrally located. The management of the hotel is superior and the servicing is beyond compare. Every recommendation was spot on. Every day returning to the Riyad for lunch or afternoon tea was always a treat. The food was incredible!

As an experienced traveler- I can assure you that you will no tbe disappointed with your time at the Riyad. For me- the Riyad was key for many fond memories and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The Riad was conveniently located near the center of the old city and the accomodations were peaceful and pristine. I can't say enough great things about the staff - they were more than accomodating and made you feel immediately at home as soon as you arrived. My friend and I will always remember our stay due to the warmth and graciousness of the staff - it made our experience in Marrakech unforgettable. And I must also rave about the meals - you won't be disappointed. It was some of the best meals we enjoyed throughout our trip which included traveling to Portugal and Spain.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

From start to finish a wonderful experience. We were picked up at the airport and arrived at the riyad to a very warm welcome that included mint tea and pastries. We were treated as if the riyad were our home. It was not a hotel experience--I'd say more like the ultimate B & B. We were in the heart of the medina and within walking distance of most of the major attractions. Our hosts made sure that we were comfortable getting around, made taxi and restaurant reservations for us and treated us like royalty. The riyad is stunning and felt very old world, but with all of the modern conveniences one would need, down to Wifi. I hope to go back. Don't miss out on the hammam while there. The food was plentiful, delicious and beautiful. The Beeson's of California

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbeeson6015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Had a wonderful short break. Very relaxing and fabulous food. Staff were friendly and helpful especially when the Icelandic volcano erupted and they went out of thier way to drive us to the airport and help us book alternative travel plans home.
The Riad is cool, tranquil and beautiful and a complete haven from the medina.
Would love to return in the future.
Staff organised a driver to take us to the Atlas mountains where we spent a wonderful day with some stunning scenery. Well worth the journey! Also organised for someone to come into the riad's haman and had a fabulous gommage and massage - my favourite day of the trip!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealandvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 500 in Marrakech
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#97 of 500 in Marrakech
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almaha Marrakech
Almaha Marrakech
#149 of 500 in Marrakech
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#225 of 500 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 500 in Marrakech
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Property: Riyad Al Moussika
Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#158 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing