We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a most welcome retreat”
Review of Riad Julia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Julia
Ranked #326 of 1,195 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We loved the Riad. Our room was cool and immaculately clean and full of Moroccan character and charm as is the rest of the riad. We really appreciated the peace and quiet and the cool plunge pool after the madness of souk haggling and the stifling heat. It was pretty quiet and in comparison to other reviews we weren't made aware of the possibility of eating there in the evening which I am sure we would have taken advantage of. Breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked. Once we got our bearings the location was fine and not too far to walk to central sights. We didn't meet the manager , only the 2 staff who worked there who didn't speak English. They were however really keen to be as helpful as they could with our requests. Lovely place, lovely people and I would recommend it to any of my friends. I would go back without hesitation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleywalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the riad is very quaint, the people who run it are very friendly and polite. When you book breakfast expect to wait a while and its very basic.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Relatively easy to find (which is a rarity in Marrakech) but a wee bit out the way. Overall I was suprised at how small it was and the social area is not much bigger than a closet, whover took photos for their website did a good job of making it look grander than it was.
They also dont have a license for alcohol which might not bother many people but its quite hard to actually find places that are licensed in the old town so its good to have a cold one when you come back. Ziad the guy who runs the place is really, really nice and helps in any way he can. He even gave us a couple of beers left behind by another guest! You need to pre book meals and breakfast which we forgot to do but they made it for us anyway. The room we were in (Moustachar) had quite possibly the best bed I've ever slept in. If you what something cheaper, with a license and a bit more of a social experience I'd recommend Riad Chennaoui.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanderbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This is the best place I found in Marrakech, It was my second time and for my opinion they just getting better and better. All the staff are great and friendly, great and traditional rooms, amazing terrace and breakfast is delicious...
Perfect for people that want to stay in relax and not in the middle of the caos, anyway the riad is just behind the corner from Jeema el Fna.

Vito and Olga

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VitoPietroburgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

After traveling around Morocco for 2 weeks, Riad Julia was by far our favorite place we stayed. The staff is amazing - very friendly and eager to do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Delicious breakfast included with beautiful rooms at a great price. Bathrobes provided are a wonderful treat after a hot shower. Hammams, massages and excursions are easily arranged by the manager.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuminandsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Cozy place in a good location. We had a very good experience with the manager who helped us a lot with suggestions and arrangements.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The large room and roomy ensuite at Riad Julia was ideal to kick back in after the tiring buzz of the Medina. Ziad and the women who work here were helpful when asked and the terrace and courtyard were very pleasant spaces to relax in. The plunge pool would be very inviting in warmer weather too. The Lonely Planet map had us thinking it was miles out but it is a short walk to the square and close to other must-see destinations. No wifi but Marrakesh Korner just up the road has free wifi and great coffee on their terrace. All in all we could not fault this place.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank avocetexsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#44 of 500 in Marrakech
1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Bel Haj
Riad Bel Haj
#160 of 1,195 in Marrakech
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Moulay
Riad Moulay
#643 of 1,195 in Marrakech
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#9 of 1,195 in Marrakech
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sofia
Riad Sofia
#190 of 1,195 in Marrakech
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Julia

Address: 14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 1,195 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Julia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Julia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing