We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for events”
Review of Palais Mehdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Mehdi
Ranked #393 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great location for events”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Location.
prior reviews have already mentioned it is in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech away from the center. If you are looking for a secluded location away from the hustle this maybe it. It is very popular with the local elite. Close to the golf courses.

Building and grounds:
the hotel consists of a large mansion with some rooms and many outer buildings with more rooms across the pool. The gardens and the pool are beautiful. The main mansion is exquisite with large airy sunny sitting areas. Would be ideal to use with a large family or with a large group of friends as there are only 23 rooms/suites in the entire place.

Rooms:
The furniture is really old and dirty stained. In areas the wood is peeling away. The carpets are aged and fraying. Bed mattress simply a hard board not a comfortable bed. Climate control was ok I had to use the air conditioners in the month of May. Tried to sleep with balcony doors open but the noise was too much. There is a disco attached to the outer building and the noise will keep you awake.

There is free hassle free wifi. However the signal is good in the main mansion but in the outside rooms it is not there. Wifi barely worked in the balcony but not inside the bedroom.

Service: One bottle of water given on check in and never replaced. The housekeeping were adequate.

Breakfast has no menu. You have to ask what is available beyond the basic egg and breads. The serve the breakfast in the main pool area, or in your room just call the kitchen.
There is a very modern looking bar / restaurant in the outer building but didn't use it.
There is a small gym with good aerobic equipment. But there are no towels or water available there.


This is an excellent location for big groups weddings events. Corporate meetings.


A little effort will make it into a real luxury property : improve wifi
Upgrade the decrepit furniture
Breakfast buffet in the main building so that miles of empty space can be used. Improve the food choices for breakfast. It is 100% bread based so if someone can't take bread there is not much choice.
Provide an attendant on hand at each building to get ice and other errands. It was a task trying to find someone.
It is hot very hot and ac is not adequate. Please add ceiling fans for this climate. It will also add to the ambience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    40
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
22
88
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We are spending our last day here after six great days, booked through Voyages Privees. The hotel is stunning with magnificently designed and furnished public rooms and courtyards. Our suite (Namhema, No 4) was large with a good sitting area (2 sofas) and even had its own private courtyard. It was well serviced with twice daily visits from the housekeeping staff and was equipped with television, DVD/CD player, minibar and safe. The bathroom had a large closet area, twin basins and a hand held shower over the bath with wall attachment so that ir could be used as a conventional shower. The gardens and pool area are wonderful and well maintained. Breakfast was enough to keep you going throughout the day.
The hotel is located some 25 minutes or so from the Medina in the really peaceful Palmeraie area, but transport is always available with a little notice. It costs 100 dirhams to any point in the city. Well worth it for the tranquillity. There is a supermarket and a couple of other restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance. The hotel's own restaurants (there are currently two) serve both local and international cuisine. Expect to pay from 170 dirhams for main courses and 300 dirhams for a bottle of wine. There is a pool bar open during the day and drinks are available at other times on request.
All the staff we encountered during our stay were always polite, efficient and accommodating.
I have seen some of the negative comments about this hotel and find them hard to believe. Who would book a hotel without checking its location first? As for a cockroach (we didn't see any) - this is north Africa, they live here and can be found in any house at any time!
I rarely give a 5 rating on Tripadvisor, but feel this hotel deserves it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmw37a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel and we were impressed by the kindness and efficiency of the staff, the superb facilities and the delicious food. Thanks again to the Palais Mehdi team for a
wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Extremely rude staff, no service, and bad location.

Rooms and facilities are nice and clean, garden is beautiful, but this is about it. Poor location, no service, wooden mattresses, and rude personnel. We stayed here for few nights and it was worst experience during our trip. We did not check reviews before coming here, which was a big mistake. All negative reviews have a real ground. Marakesh has much better places to stay.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marrakesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

beautiful ,class, good food , class place, good location , good service,
We be back soon!
Soon they will do a nice brunch and events for people in Palmeraie and Marroco, confort , peaceful , good vibe!


Cheers!

Room Tip: In front of the pool there is a nice suite and close to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priscila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you are looking for a venue to hold a big party just outside marrakesh this could be the place for you.

The main building is interesting and nicely organised with vista through from the beautiful entrance courtyard though the traditional styled reception rooms to the pool and well landscaped garden. The management can organise professional gig sound and lighting systems and a variety of different marquee / stagings to suit party /grand events. 

However, if there is less than 100 people in your group and you are looking for a
good quality hotel with good service with staff who want to make you feel welcomed and help you enjoy your stay this is probably not the place for you.

There are plenty of other better quality and more interesting places to stay in marrakesh, don't make the same mistake as us.

 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Simonlamprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

There is no bar. The waiters are invisible. There is no menu for breakfast. The hotel does have fantastic gardens and pool, but that's about it. You need a twenty minute taxi drive to the main square which will set you back about 10 Euros one-way. We stayed for two nights (we were booked in for five via privee voyage), but instead opted for the Es Saadi, which did have a bar, waiters etc and was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#50 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#170 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#73 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#46 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#315 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#187 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Mehdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Mehdi

Property: Palais Mehdi
Address: Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Mehdi 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Mehdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Mehdi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing