We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Lena & SPA
Nearby Hotels
US$1,222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$636
US$623
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$515
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$734
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
266
112
16
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
112
16
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmint teafree filtered watertiring flightdonkey carthot tubroof terracethe hustle and bustlethe main squarekoutoubia mosqueold cityevery morningstayed for nightslocation is greatmoroccan experiencemin walknice riadan oasis of calm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night trip to Marrakech. Everything about our stay at the Riad Lena was perfect. The accommodation is beautiful with traditional Moroccan décor.

The roof top terrace provided a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech life. The Manager, Abdel and staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Abdel provided a personal touch experience, making the effort to catch up with us on how our trips had gone, which he had organised and booked for us.

The Riad is situated an 8 minute walk to the square. We were provided with a map, however we were regularly taken off of our route with an adventure every time!

We would definitely recommend the Riad Lena for anyone looking to stay in traditional accommodation in Marrakech with a friendly, warm welcome. We will certainly stay here again when we return to Marrakech.

Elise & Carole

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliseM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My friend and I were travelling through Morocco and we did extensive research regarding a guy and a girl travelling together so we wouldn't be offending anyone. We ended up needing separate rooms, so we wanted to find a hotel quality place with a reasonable price. I believe we found it in Riad Lena. The streets of Marrakesh are often hot and crowded, and the Riad was a perfect little oasis away from the heat, rush and noise. On arrival, we were shown our rooms then told to go to the terrace for our complimentary welcome Mint Tea and Pastries. My room was beautiful and facing the courtyard and pool. The terrace was just stunning, and the mint tea was exquisite. Abdel, the owner of the hotel, refers to mint tea as Moroccan whiskey, and he was so right. We could not get enough of it.

Here's a quick breakdown of the pros/cons I can remember:

Cons
Very glad I wasnt sharing a room as there was no door to the bathroom area. Shower is essentially a stone dugout at the end of the room with no lighting, so it requires some extra care and would not be appropriate to people with mobility issues.
Also there was a leftover smell in my bathroom that was awful, but when I told the manager he put scented sticks in there and the whole room smelt magical after that.
AC is loud and set to freezing, but considering the outside temperature I was okay with it.
Place is a little difficult to find, but if you read the instructions to get to the drop off and then ask a local boy to lead you on foot as directed, you will get to the Riad just fine.

Pros
Abdel and his staff were very informative. I'm sure they get a lot of stupid questions from ignorant tourists, so Abdel was quite adept at being a tour and culture guide, and gave us a lot of advice and information.
The hotel can hook you up with a Hammam visit- although do your research because it is a VERY different experience to a European Spa. If you prefer spa-like quality, the Riad Lena staff can direct you to a more appropriate choice for you.
Very relaxed and quiet atmosphere during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor- entrance to the pool, less heat, closer to reception and free wifi near pool area.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meftihe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Since the hotel (it's really a riad) is in the
Medina, it is hard to find, especially when you arrive at midnight! this is because te taxi driver cannot enter the medina.
People are friendly and English is spoken, price is fair, breakfast is good.
The rooms to the door have weird locks,
Not prohibitive though. If people talk in the courtyard, then everybody can hear. That's the physics of sound in a courtyard.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I would like to recommend riad lena in marrakech: very friendly people, the marrakech ambiance, beautifull rooms, quite, sunny terrace for breakfast and siesta, very helpfull staff, good location: 10 min walk to the souks, 25' drive to the airport. Tx!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Another pretty riad in the medina -- initially we were very impressed as we were able to book on hotels.com from the station the morning we arrived on the overnight train from Tangier. The room was 'Moroccan-charming' though design-wise there was no door on the bathroom and no ceiling fan. The a/c did cool off the room at night though it was loud and from what we could figure out was either cold or off.

Following a trip to the desert we booked a different riad the following week and concluded that the owner of Riad Lena was a bit indifferent or out of touch with the competitive lodging market in Marrakech. It barely met cleanliness standards, the water in the pool had a yellowish cast and the staff seemed only marginally trained/organized.

The day manager didn't offer help unless asked and then he was courteous/engaged. He recommended the Heritage Spa which was a very pleasant experience. If you needed anything in the evening you had to run up 3 flights of steps to the terrace to find staff, wait until they finished what they were doing to come to the first floor to assist.

The desk was often unoccupied and 2-3 different men seemed to come and go. They were pleasant enough but didn't seem to know how to do their jobs well enough to warrant high marks for customer service. We were assured we could pay with a credit card but ultimately had to settle with cash as the credit card machine was 'broken' for several days.

The next riad we booked, also in the medina, was an entirely different experience as they were very well organized and offered exceptional customer service as well as very competitive prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEFWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews