We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Gem in the Gueliz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Caspien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel le Caspien
Ranked #119 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
new england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small Gem in the Gueliz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

Small ( 38 rooms ), located in Gueliz district on a quiet side street just off Mohammed V and a 20 minute walk to medina.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool is small and shaded.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The owner is a chef, and has two outstanding restaurants in Chicago. The hotel has 2 restaurants serving a mix of Moroccan, French and Thai food. We stayed 6 nights and ate many meals there All were excellent. One night we tried a local nearby restaurant that was highly recommended, but were disappointed and wished we had eaten back at the Le Caspien. Even if you do not stay here try the restaurants if you are in the Gueliz !

  • Liked — The Food and Staff
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hadabnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    338
    87
    27
    21
See reviews for
76
282
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

We deliberately chose a hotel in Gueliz to end our trip having stayed in Riads and other towns earlier in the trip. I am not always a fan of 3* hotels but I really liked this one. Bathroom slightly tired otherwise loved it. We had a room at the front and found it quiet despite a couple of clubs nearby. A short walk brings you to restaurants etc and the main road it is also an easy walk to the Marjorell gardens. Taxis easy to come by and the tourist sightseeing bus stop is near.
Breakfast adequate but not the best offered during my 2 week trip. Staff kindly accommodated our strange diet requests when we were sick (not picked up at this hotel!).
I'd recommend it here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

great little hotel - excellent food - but wathc out for - flashers on the building site opposite doing things they shouldnt while trying to look in the windows ..... you get my drift. Waiters who once you discover the great sparkingling wine for 200 local (about £15) a bottle tell you they have none left and try and bring out other bottles as an alternatvie - they all cost at least £70. So if you want 2 or 3 or 4 bottles of the cheap one (as a biggish groiup we did ) order them all together and sit them unoopened in wine cooler buckets - then they are yours........

Sun terrace that others say is great is ycuk.... amongst the aircond units on the roof - wioth only 4 sunbeds and it was rather smelly up there .... so if you are a group who will also want to sit by pool possibly not the place for you but great otherwise.

Few warnings - dont take travellers cheques - they are really really hard to use - cash in king - they would not chagne tcs in the hotel ... whcih therew me .... lcuky i had a cashpoint card iwht me

spend your local ccy at aiprot BEFORE you go airside - they only take euros airside

  • Liked — staff firendly
  • Disliked — pool (lack of ) and bar closed at midnight
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

We booked on line, we read the reviews..now we had to see for ourselves!! Well we think its a great hotel..the staff were very kind and friendly..good traditional decor..towels changed every day. the down sides are, a bit of a walk to town,though a cab will only cost 20-25MAD..and the breakfast will be cold..if you come down late.. though if asked the staff will get HOT tea or coffee.Overall, a good budget hotel. John & Netta Sharp. Plymouth , England

  • Liked — Friendlly staff,and quiet location
  • Disliked — Tea and coffee cold at breakfast..
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrimgreenPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

Just back from a six night stay in Le Caspien. I have to repeat what others have said that the staff make this a great place to stay. They are all so friendly and welcoming which makes such a difference to most hotels. Our room was nice, but the bathroom was extremely small and you had to navigate your way in and out very carefully. The airconditioning in our room wasn't great, it worked well for two out of the six days we were there and the rest of the time the air was luke warm. We had a room facing the front of the hotel, I think you could pay more for the rooms at the back which had balconies, but wouldn't recommend this as there is another building being constructed at the back of the hotel and work started at 7am 7 days a week. Breakfast was basic with different types of bread, yogurt and melon, they also do omlettes to order which my husband enjoyed and their coffee and tea were also very nice. We ate in the hotel on two nights and their Thai food was superb, we were in Thailand last year and the food in Le Caspien was every bit as nice with great ambience at the pool side and great service. On our last day we just felt like a snack and the menu was al la carte, so we spoke to one of the waiters who got the chef to make us up a couple of salad baguettes which were lovely. One of the reasons I booked this hotel was because it had a pool, I was then very disappointed to find that you have to walk through the dining room/bar to get to the pool and this put me off using it, I finally plucked up the courage when the heat got to me on day 5 and went to use the pool which was lovely and cold, I also had a couple of hours sunbathing on the roof terrace. To sum up, I think Le Caspien is a perfect base for a city break as it is far enough away from the madness to escape for a while and is only 30mins walk to the square or 20 Dirhams(make sure you agree a price before getting in!), it is also close to the Jardin Majorelle and the shopping in Guilez. If going for a longer break than a few days I would consider one of the bigger hotels where you can relax around the pool for a few hours in a bit more privacy, but all in all we enjoyed our experience at Le Caspien-thanks to Leila on the front desk and the rest of the staff for their patience with our faltering French.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alih68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 10 day trip to Marrakesh, where we spent one week at Le Caspien, and 3 nights at Dar Zarraba. After reading reviews we were unsure about what to expect, but we were pleasantly suprised.

Le Caspien is located in Guerliz (the new town) and is about a 30 minute walk to Jemaa el fna this is only a 20dirham approx £1.80 taxi fair, but we walked it. (but only 5minutes to Mcdonalds and KFC which is handy if you like to know the rubbish you are about to eat).

I will start with the negative things we found about the hotel, but the positives easily outweighed these. We had the smallest room in the hotel, it was still adequately sized, but not as big as some of the others. The swimming pool is very small, and the sun was only in the back area from Morning until about 3pm, however the temperature remained at 35degrees so not too bad. The restaurant does look out onto the pool, but this is nice at breakfast and dinner. The dinner was a limited choice set menu, but more about this below.

The positives include things such as effective air conditioning, daily towel changes, money at reception that was on a similar par to a bank, hot water in plentiful supply etc.

However, what made this hotel so special was the level of service that we received, many staff at the hotel struggled with English but with some stilted french we got by, and reception were good. The waitors in the hotel were amazing, we ended up nick-naming them as we did not manage to learn their names, but they were great (Charmy, Jazzy Jeff, Gangsta, Lurch, Lil Gangsta) and so helpful.

If you can get half-board then do it, because we loved the food, it was beautifully presented and tasted amazing! Such good value for money, the breakfast was regularly refreshed, fresh omlettes made in front of you, and other general european offerings. Dinner was lovely, a 3-course meal full of taste, we looked forward to the evenings and the meal!

The maids did a great job with our room, and were v patient with making up our room, as they often had to come back as we slept late! The hotel porters were lovely too, as they grabbed us a taxi from the main street!

Our hotel was a safe haven away from the busyness of Marrakesh, we felt very safe and happy there. We only paid £20 a night each, and that included breakfast and dinner.

The hotels in Marrakech are often ambiguously rated, but this was what would be a UK 3 star so good value! Old town was quite manic, so this was a nice distance away from it, and had a similar riad feel. Overall we had a great time here, and have some lovely memories and would reccommend it highly to anyone.

  • Liked — The Food and the staff
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Serena21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malverne, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

We stayed here with our Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) tour group for three nights in November. The tour leader explained that the company had chosen this hotel rather than the one they previously used because travelers had requested a hotel with a central location. The area the hotel is located in has many stores, restaurants, cafes etc. There is a lot of construction going on in the area but this didn't pose a problem as far as noise. It is possible to walk to the medinah and the souk in central Marrakech - about a 30 minute walk - or you can take a caleche (horse drawn carriage), taxi or bus.

The air conditioned rooms were a decent size as were the bathrooms. There is a very small pool in a very small rear courtyard behind the breakfast room. There is a large rooftop area with chairs accessible by elevator. Breakfast was included and one could order fresh made eggs and omelets in addition to the usual continental fare served buffet style. There is a restaurant which serves Asian fare which we didn't visit but were told the food was excellent. We ate in a dining room on the second floor and enjoyed a very nice Moroccan dinner. Not sure of the price as the dinner was part of our tour package.

The staff in reception was extremely pleasant as were the waitstaffers at breakfast and dinner. The room and bathroom were cleaned and tolietries, towels etc. were replaced daily.

All in all, a good three-star hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Pool was too small to be enjoyable
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#160 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#159 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#294 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#110 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#163 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#190 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Caspien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Caspien

Property: Hotel le Caspien
Address: 12 Rue Lobnane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#139 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel le Caspien 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel le caspien, une oeuvre artistique, une architecture irreprochable, une vue imprenable. Construit et decore dans la pure tradition architecturale marocaine, le Caspien met a votre disposition 54 Lits repartis entre 36 chambres et 02 suites. Ces 36 chambres doubles et en twins confortables et spacieuses, avec baignoires ou douches, entierement climatises, telephone, TV chaines nationales et internationales, coffre fort payant a 25 dhs par jour, 2 ascenseurs et des detecteurs d'incendie et de fume dans chaque etage. Chaque suite est composee d'une chambre avec grand lit et un salon decore a la marocaine, telephone, climatisation selon la saison, grande TV plasma avec des chaines nationales et internationales, une grande terrasse spacieuses. L'hotel dispose d'une cuisine marocaine qui laisse courir fantaisie et imagination. Ses restaurants vous proposeront une cuisine marocaine et internationale dans un cadre moderne et raffine decoree d'oeuvre d'art de plus bel effet. Cadre de soiree inoubliable. 02 Restaurants bar situes au rez de chaussee dont une vue piscine integree, vous pouvez vous relaxer au bord de la piscine au milieu d'un cadre de verdure tres agreable. La direction de l'hotel et son personnel vous souhaite la bienvenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel le Caspien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Caspien Hotel
Le Caspien Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing