We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our worst expirience in Morocco. Lies and pure incompetence” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Caspien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel le Caspien
Ranked #118 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our worst expirience in Morocco. Lies and pure incompetence”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

There is nothing really wrong with this hotel. It's just a suburbia, low budget, self wishing to be something better, but having nothing to justify that. Somehow far from the center, pretty inside (ugly from the outside) not much clean. Cubicle restaurant and a tank not much greater than a jacuzzi. Call that a pool is just part of the trick they're running there. It's amazing how they manage to have a guy playing organ and a staff dressed to squeeze you some more dirhams, all in a few square feet...

The really bad part of the story is the staff at the the reception. And since you rely on these persons to get a price and other informations, if those people are totally incompetent, you're gonna get problems.

In our trip to Morocco we get this hotel name from Lonely Planet guide (a copy of this review is being sent to them also). We drove 2000 Km around the country booking in advance. Not a single problem and we always got what we asked for. Until this hotel.

To cut a long story short and give an idea what you should expect if you choose to stay here.

- We have been offered a price and later that day in the reception, when checking in, the price was much higher and didn't included breakfast. We had already checked in. 2 families in the hall. With 3 kids. All bags transported from the cars.... We're just there being obligated to fill up the check in forms (instead of being offered to leave the passports and the forms signed to be fulfilled by the lazy, nothing to do, concierege...
- But that's not all. The situation was already ridiculous, we drove 300 Km, everybody was exhausted. We just want to drop the bags and go eat something. But they asked us to pay! Not to give the credit cards and "reserve" the amount. To pay. I told right on spot this is a new thing I never saw. Pay in advance!?!?!? "Rules Messieur" Imagine.
We should have go away then. But since I was with my family and another family (7 persons) we payed to finish that ridiculous situation.

Later that day, after eating in the neighborhood, we returned to the hotel for a bath and to relax before leaving for dinner. The kids were all excited for a dive in the pool. Upon entering the hotel I went to the receptionist and asked if we could use the pool. "Of course Messieur" We went up put the swimming suits and came down. Entered the restaurant... yes you must cross the restaurant to go to the tank... and a guy dressed with a traditional suit in panic run to us " Sir, sir, the pool is closed - It's dinner time"
After a quick talk I returned to the reception with the kids almost crying to thank another incompetence.

Next day I could talk to the person that made the price on the telephone on the previous day, A lot of explanations, a lot of rules, and a totally inept person. Even telling them my total dissatisfaction with our stay in the hotel, they could do anything to solve the problems. Sorry, sorry, sorry. Rules Messieur.

In our 10 days in Morocco, I'm glad this nasty experience doesn't reflect the Moroccan spirit and hospitality. This is just pure incompetence. In an amazing city like Marrakesh with hundreds of hotels in all the budget ranges, my point is, why stay in this place and reward incompetent people that don't show a bit of respect for their guests? Look elsewhere or be very very cautious if you choose to stay here. You've been warned! I wish somebody have warned me before choosing.

Worst Moroccan experience. To forget. I regret I gave my money to those guys. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PauloPire5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    338
    87
    27
    21
See reviews for
76
282
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

I stayed at Le Caspien for a week from 30th. Jan 2009. The hotel is about 2 miles from the centre of Marrakech, just off the main road in Guilez which is served by a very good bus route to the City. The hotel is classed as a 3 star, which I'm sure is correct. However, I've travelled extensively and have stayed at many 5 star luxury hotels where the level of service hasn't compared to this hotel. My room was comfortable but of a 3 star standard and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The room was serviced each day to a high standard and towels changed daily. The food at the hotel was of an exceptional quality and the spotlessly clean restaurant very inviting and would please anybody. There was even a pianist who played in the restaurant each evening and added to the whole ambience of the place. However, what really makes the hotel so outstanding is the friendly service offerred by it's very professional and caring young staff who make you feel so relaxed and are eager to make your stay comfortable. I can't praise the staff of this hotel enough for their excellent service. Maintenance staff, reception staff, housekeeping and all the waiters and waitresses deserve all the praise I can give. Thank you all for making my stay in Marrakech so memorable, comfortable and relaxing.

  • Liked — Friendliness and oustanding service of all staff
  • Disliked — Nothing. Small pool which is really just ornamental
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MANCHESTERSCOUSER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

Spent a week at Le Caspien as a tour group member. Rooms are fairly average but clean and comfortable. Food is very good. However, the best part of Le Caspien is its staff. Every one of them, from wait staff to housekeeping and desk staff, were outstanding. It's a fair walk to the medina, but close to a pharmacy and other shopping. I would love to go back.

  • Liked — Staff!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bellalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

Small ( 38 rooms ), located in Gueliz district on a quiet side street just off Mohammed V and a 20 minute walk to medina.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool is small and shaded.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The owner is a chef, and has two outstanding restaurants in Chicago. The hotel has 2 restaurants serving a mix of Moroccan, French and Thai food. We stayed 6 nights and ate many meals there All were excellent. One night we tried a local nearby restaurant that was highly recommended, but were disappointed and wished we had eaten back at the Le Caspien. Even if you do not stay here try the restaurants if you are in the Gueliz !

  • Liked — The Food and Staff
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hadabnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

We deliberately chose a hotel in Gueliz to end our trip having stayed in Riads and other towns earlier in the trip. I am not always a fan of 3* hotels but I really liked this one. Bathroom slightly tired otherwise loved it. We had a room at the front and found it quiet despite a couple of clubs nearby. A short walk brings you to restaurants etc and the main road it is also an easy walk to the Marjorell gardens. Taxis easy to come by and the tourist sightseeing bus stop is near.
Breakfast adequate but not the best offered during my 2 week trip. Staff kindly accommodated our strange diet requests when we were sick (not picked up at this hotel!).
I'd recommend it here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

great little hotel - excellent food - but wathc out for - flashers on the building site opposite doing things they shouldnt while trying to look in the windows ..... you get my drift. Waiters who once you discover the great sparkingling wine for 200 local (about £15) a bottle tell you they have none left and try and bring out other bottles as an alternatvie - they all cost at least £70. So if you want 2 or 3 or 4 bottles of the cheap one (as a biggish groiup we did ) order them all together and sit them unoopened in wine cooler buckets - then they are yours........

Sun terrace that others say is great is ycuk.... amongst the aircond units on the roof - wioth only 4 sunbeds and it was rather smelly up there .... so if you are a group who will also want to sit by pool possibly not the place for you but great otherwise.

Few warnings - dont take travellers cheques - they are really really hard to use - cash in king - they would not chagne tcs in the hotel ... whcih therew me .... lcuky i had a cashpoint card iwht me

spend your local ccy at aiprot BEFORE you go airside - they only take euros airside

  • Liked — staff firendly
  • Disliked — pool (lack of ) and bar closed at midnight
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

We booked on line, we read the reviews..now we had to see for ourselves!! Well we think its a great hotel..the staff were very kind and friendly..good traditional decor..towels changed every day. the down sides are, a bit of a walk to town,though a cab will only cost 20-25MAD..and the breakfast will be cold..if you come down late.. though if asked the staff will get HOT tea or coffee.Overall, a good budget hotel. John & Netta Sharp. Plymouth , England

  • Liked — Friendlly staff,and quiet location
  • Disliked — Tea and coffee cold at breakfast..
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrimgreenPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#160 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#159 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#293 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#119 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#168 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#191 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Caspien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Caspien

Property: Hotel le Caspien
Address: 12 Rue Lobnane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#139 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel le Caspien 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel le caspien, une oeuvre artistique, une architecture irreprochable, une vue imprenable. Construit et decore dans la pure tradition architecturale marocaine, le Caspien met a votre disposition 54 Lits repartis entre 36 chambres et 02 suites. Ces 36 chambres doubles et en twins confortables et spacieuses, avec baignoires ou douches, entierement climatises, telephone, TV chaines nationales et internationales, coffre fort payant a 25 dhs par jour, 2 ascenseurs et des detecteurs d'incendie et de fume dans chaque etage. Chaque suite est composee d'une chambre avec grand lit et un salon decore a la marocaine, telephone, climatisation selon la saison, grande TV plasma avec des chaines nationales et internationales, une grande terrasse spacieuses. L'hotel dispose d'une cuisine marocaine qui laisse courir fantaisie et imagination. Ses restaurants vous proposeront une cuisine marocaine et internationale dans un cadre moderne et raffine decoree d'oeuvre d'art de plus bel effet. Cadre de soiree inoubliable. 02 Restaurants bar situes au rez de chaussee dont une vue piscine integree, vous pouvez vous relaxer au bord de la piscine au milieu d'un cadre de verdure tres agreable. La direction de l'hotel et son personnel vous souhaite la bienvenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel le Caspien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Caspien Hotel
Le Caspien Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing