We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel did the job perfectly!”
Review of Hotel le Caspien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel le Caspien
Ranked #130 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
caerphilly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This hotel did the job perfectly!”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I have just come back from a 5 night stay in Le Caspien in Gueliz, Marrakesh and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for good value, traditional Moroccan style accommodation. The rooms are not not very big, but the beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast consisted of croissants, pain au chocolat, cakes, biscotti, pancakes, fried potatoes and omelettes which were cooked to order. Freshly squeezed orange juice was lovely and plentiful. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and found it very good and reasonably priced - a pizza was about 50 dh (about £4). There is a fabulous little Italian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel called La Catanzaro (Rue Tark Ben Ziad). We went there 3 times as it was so good! Again - prices were excellent - we had 4 meals with wine, soft drinks and desserts to share for about £40. Service was excellent too! It is probably best (though not essential) to book a table, because it is very busy in the evening and at lunchtime. Al Fassia, another restaurant a few minutes walk away also serves excellent tajines and couscous but will cost you 120dh for a main course - well worth a visit if your budget will allow!. The hotel is in a nice quiet area so walking to the restaurants is no problem in the evening and your sleeping is not disturbed by street noise or prayer calls. It took us about 30 minutes to walk from the hotel to the Medina but the route is flat and it was no problem finding our way along Mohammed V (the main road into the centre). Mcdonald and KFC (if you need them) can be found at Place du 16 Novembre on the way into the centre. It is about 15 minutes walk to the Majorelle gardens (again flat and easy and you pass a fairly big supermarket en route). Taxis come past the hotel frequently - A taxi for 2 or 3 people costs about £2.50 into the medina, but you need to establish a price before you get in. The hotel will change small amounts of money for you, but if you need more there are several places on Mohammed V, about 5 -10 minutes walk away. Free Wifi was sometimes available in the foyer (useful for my teenage daughter to keep in touch with friends via phone on facebook!) Staff in the hotel were friendly and although they did not all speak English, there was certainly no problem if you can't speak French. The swimming pool is more of a decorative feature than anything else - it's tiny and was in the shade for most of the time. My only real complaint was that the water pressure in the shower was variable and the water was only luke warm in our room (501).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annechis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    341
    88
    27
    23
See reviews for
77
287
72
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

A friend and I booked a holiday through Low Cost Travel staying in this hotel with half board. I can honestly say that it represents fantastic value for money and for the price, we could not fault it. The room was clean and well equipped, with a perfectly adequate clean bathroom and a small balcony overlooking the pool.
Breakfast was very pleasant - croissants, pain au chocolate, biscotte, pancakes and they would cook you eggs if you required. Dinner was a simple three course meal, with generous portions and although there is no choice for starter or dessert, we enjoyed it every night. We visitied street stalls for lunch and to be honest, Moroccan food is not the most exciting in the world, so we did not feel deprived by eating in. One big plus is that the hotel is one of the few that do serve alcohol, so we could have a couple of drinks before dinner.
The staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly and made us very welcome.
Only negatives? I like tea and coffee facilities in the room, and this was not possible. The room safe costs 25DRH a day - we just locked everything in the suitcase. A taxi to the airport would have been twice the street rate, so get your own. Officially you are not permitted to take any food or drink to your room - I had come across this before and just hid a botle of water a night in my bag! ( It is MUCH cheaper on the street, obviously)
At first we were a little disappointed at not being nearer Jenaa e fna, but soon changed our minds. It is a level - if quite long - walk to the medina, and Gueliz is much nicer to stay in.
The Hammam in Morroccan House Hotel is great - just 2 doors up, so if you feel the neeed to have most of your skin scrubbed off - which we did - drop in there! ( we were there over an hour and came out feeling amazing!)
Overall, it is a great place to stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moll_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Hotel Le Caspien is in the Gueliz district which is the 'new town' area of Marrakesh, it is well located in Gueliz (close to Majorelle Gardens which are a 10-15min walk away) and there are plenty of nice cafe's in the area (Elite is particularly good for relaxing and people watching in a non-touristy environment).

The hotel itself is clean and functional. It has a pool, but its not particularly welcoming. The rooms are a decent size and comfortable enough.The staff are very good and helpful from the receptionist (who helped break open the padlock on our bag when my other half had lost the keys!) to the cleaing staff who are very accommodating.

If you can get a good deal at this hotel then I would go for it. It is on the package tours packages with a few companies so you may end up getting it as part of a deal, in which case you won't be disappointed, but neither will you be blown away.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzance
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We took refuge in Ville Nouvelle and the Caspien after a few days of Marrakesh chaos in the Medina. Like the nighbourhood, the hotel is a lot calmer and friendlier than inside the medina and ideal for relaxing.

The rooms are fine. clean, tidy and did the job nicely. Not luxury but more than comfortable. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurant is expensive but nearby there are plenty of places to eat.

Forget the swimming pool - it is tiny and in shade all the time (perhaps this is different in the summer).

30 minutes walking to Djeema el fna.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rap199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This was our fourth trip to Morocco and to Marrakech and we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It has an elevator so we did not have to lug bags up and down steep staircases. It also has a goof front desk staff who are very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are very good and the beds very comfortable. There is a small pool out the back and a dining area around it where breakfast is served. The only down side was a notice that went up saying that you could not bring water bottles into the hotel. Water in the street was 7 dms and in the hotel, 20dms!!! The hotel is a little bit out of the way and takes a decent walk to get anywhere but it is in a good quiet setting.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceramacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed twice during our trip to Morrocco. I prefered to room giving on the back of the hotel because of the size of the balcony we had and the calm. The employees were very nice and devoted. I will always remember Awatif for her kindness. We had dinner there and the food was great. I recommand it for the location (10 min. driving from Place Jamel El Fna) and for the quality versus the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Well located, but no easy parking for hire car. Staff were really helpful. The breakfast was really excellent. Pool area looked nice but didn't get chance to try it, as only stopped one night. Rooms perfectly adequate with very dark curtains, though slightly gloomy by day. Didn't try the restaurant, but looked busy. Easy walking distance to main drag with many restaurants, shops and bakeries. Would definitely stay again. Used Gardenia Tours for a hire car which was just around the corner. Charaf couldn't do enough to help us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipsy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#144 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#171 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#309 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#152 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#96 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#198 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Caspien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Caspien

Property: Hotel le Caspien
Address: 12 Rue Lobnane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#137 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel le Caspien 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel le caspien, une oeuvre artistique, une architecture irreprochable, une vue imprenable. Construit et decore dans la pure tradition architecturale marocaine, le Caspien met a votre disposition 54 Lits repartis entre 36 chambres et 02 suites. Ces 36 chambres doubles et en twins confortables et spacieuses, avec baignoires ou douches, entierement climatises, telephone, TV chaines nationales et internationales, coffre fort payant a 25 dhs par jour, 2 ascenseurs et des detecteurs d'incendie et de fume dans chaque etage. Chaque suite est composee d'une chambre avec grand lit et un salon decore a la marocaine, telephone, climatisation selon la saison, grande TV plasma avec des chaines nationales et internationales, une grande terrasse spacieuses. L'hotel dispose d'une cuisine marocaine qui laisse courir fantaisie et imagination. Ses restaurants vous proposeront une cuisine marocaine et internationale dans un cadre moderne et raffine decoree d'oeuvre d'art de plus bel effet. Cadre de soiree inoubliable. 02 Restaurants bar situes au rez de chaussee dont une vue piscine integree, vous pouvez vous relaxer au bord de la piscine au milieu d'un cadre de verdure tres agreable. La direction de l'hotel et son personnel vous souhaite la bienvenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Caspien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Caspien Hotel
Le Caspien Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing