We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Riad with stylish decor, not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad La Maison Rouge
Ranked #291 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boutique Riad with stylish decor, not the best location”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Riad. Staff were friendly. Most can speak English. Decor was very stylish, not the traditional type of Riad, but with a modern red theme and tasteful arts. The room was ok, a bit stuffy at times and you can hear every sound in the courtyard. Can have a few more friendly details, but still pretty good and comfortable. Location is a bit hidden and is about 20 to 25 minute walk to the main square, which is a bit far. Love the breakfast at the roof terrace. Wifi did not always work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cltravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonrougemarrakech, Directeur général at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
We hope to welcomee you again for a new stay.
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    78
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
41
138
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were very impressed from start to finish with my stay. From the tasteful decorations to the friendly staff and tasty food, it was an experience well beyond my expectation. The hamam and massage were such a relaxing joy, I suggest everyone sample it at least once. The bottom line is I will return.

Room Tip: Book the Ruby room, if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comment and we hope to welcome you one more time, for a future stay.
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from a 4 night stay at this lovely riad. The staff were friendly and we didn't have any problems with the language barrier. We found the breakfasts simple but good and the orange juice was delicious! The terrace was really relaxing and a great suntrap but it's a shame there were so many bees-think there is a nest in one corner of the roof of the courtyard.
The riad is in a perfect position, 15 mins walk away from the main square and close to a smaller square with a couple of nice bars. We didn't have any problems with the distance/locals that other reviewers have mentioned and found the locals friendly.
The only complaint we have is that our room smelt musty/damp and that the locks on the doors were very noisy early in the mornings! However, if you're looking for a friendly riad, 15 mins walk away from the main square we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice comment.
Actually no nest of bees, it is just that it is the season of orange three blossom, so bees are coming to eat nectar from flowers, as we have 4 oranges threes in the courtyard that is normal!!!!
Lockers are noisy when guest don t care about it, but it is at each other to care about noise!!
Thank you one more time for your nice comment, we hope to welcome you again,
Thierry and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

After our drop off via back streets were concerned we'd never get back but go left. Right left right & you r on a road by el manssoor college. Have it as your landmark especially as taxis don't know it. Very clean & quiet with helpful staff but they speak mainly French. The manager Henri speaks English and resolved our mix up no ones fault excellently. Breakfast morroccon continental by the pool. Roof terrace lovely with a pool 2 cold late Nov sadly. Loungers could do with recovering but are very comfy & nice 2 just relax & hear call 2 prayer. Room clean & lovely. Suggested kettle in room. Lovely trees in courtyard.had hammam & massage very reasonable. Downside dinner would b nice save going out & 10 mins walk away is not pleasant but best place 4 taxis. Safe area & will go back

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinkpolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comment, may be we will welcome you again in the future.
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is quite simple, but served in nice surroundings on the top floor terrace . The rooms are nice, but the bathroom had a musty smell. Two mornings there was no warm water in the shower. We let the water run for 10 minutes.,but still only cold water. The safe was out of order; no security there... 3 rooms had no air conditioning. We had no keys to the rooms and could not lock the doors when we went out.
The Riad is located in the Medina, 20 minutes' walk from the Jamaa El-Fna square , so it has a fairly central location.
This Riad is quite peaceful with very little street noise. A pleasant atmosphere there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your comments and hope that you will come to visit us again,
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

When we first arrived our taxi from the airport (200dh) dropped us a few minutes walk from the door a local man walked us around and asked for payment (which we expected), at first our reservation could not be found but was soon rectified and our room (Revolution) on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard was a good size with a huge bed and great decor, there is a bit of musty smell and the toilet opens directly into the room rather than the bathroom but it just adds to charm in our opinion.
The breakfast was similar each day breads, jams and freshly sqeezed orange juice, perhaps this could be alternated with something different each day but what was offered was nice enough.
The staff are friendly and helpful and will call you a cab and negotiate the fare on your behalf whenever required, the rooms were cleaned and beds made each day, and the staff always seemed to be cleaning something!
There was some work being done above the rooftop terrace the day after we arrived so there were ladders and hoses around but the workmen were polite and quite in their work so did not disturb too much, the pool and terrace area is great and well kept and a perfect suntrap if you feel like sitting by the pool rather than going out in the midday sun!
There is a small bar area with soft drinks and beer which operates an 'honesty' policy where you simply write down what you have taken which is chargable when you check-out.
The only critisism I would have is that we ordered some food for lunch on two occasions and both times we waited for an hour or more for it to be served, the first time we requested that the staff recommend something and we were served moroccan salad, some spiced chicken and koftas with bread. The food was really nice but we would have liked to eat sooner, the second time we asked for some french fries and bread and again that took some time to arrive, I think this should be worked on, as some guests may want to head out after eating and could be delayed if staff do not indicate service timescales if they are busy on other tasks?
The riad was well situated although directions can be confusing, so we took cabs everywhere, 30-80dh per trip depending on the driver and time of day, we did take a walk on our first morning but went in completely the wrong direction and ended up in the backstreets were people did not seem used to tourists walking around!?
On the whole our stay was great, a beautiful Riad in a great setting and lovely and quiet unlike the rest of the city (which is crazy, in a good way) with a friendly atmosphere from both staff and other guests we loved Marrakech especially the souks and Jemaa El Fna square. If you are undecided whether to go to Marrakech go for it, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The riad has a nice courtyard and top floor with pool and lounge chairs. Staff is friendly and the breakfast is a good way to start the day. Rooms are nice and in traditional moroccan style. The shower and mattress could do with an upgrade though. The riad is quite far from the main square which means a walk of approx 30 minutes each way. The riad is also quite noisy as there are no thick walls or doors as in a normal hotel, not sure whether this is the case in all riads though, as I can't compare it to any other riads. Because of the noise and long walk I would try another riad next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruimel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I m gonna point a few things.
About the walking distance, you can check before booking, on our website where we are located, you have google map, and it is easy to find the walking distance from points of interest.
Normal walking distance is 15mn walk from the main square, but for sure you have so many things to see that it could be longer......and of course it depends of your walking rythm, but average time, is 15mn (guest says....)
About noise, it depends of the guest that we have, of course as you will be with other people, you have to respect well beeing rules, but not all the people know them......
Fortunately for us, most of the time the house is quiet, so quiet that we ask us where are our guests!
So one more time, thank you for your general apreciation,
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#54 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad de Vinci
Riad de Vinci
#135 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le jardin d'Abdou
Le jardin d'Abdou
#123 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar El Aila
Riad Dar El Aila
#267 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Yamina
Riad Yamina
#315 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#14 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Maison Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Maison Rouge

Property: Riad La Maison Rouge
Address: No 54 Bis Derb Zemrane | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Maison Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small square of Berrima, a quiet neighborhood in Marrakech, the Riad la Maison Rouge is a charming property from which you can easily reach tourist attractions in city, such as the El Bahia and El Badi palaces, the Saadian Tombs and the Djemaa el Fna Square. This last attraction is a 15 minute walk and there are plenty of buses from here which go to all corners of the city.Riad la Maison Rouge has a total of 13 rooms including 4 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad La Maison Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Maison Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing