We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A feeling of being at home in the Marrakesh medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Ranked #13 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A feeling of being at home in the Marrakesh medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Riad Dar Dialkoum exceeded our expectations, from the friendly and helpful contact prior to arrival, to the warm reception and gracious service throughout our stay. The owners both spent time with us, providing insight into the area and life in Marrakesh as well as giving us good tips for getting the most out of our visit. We were upgraded into a beautiful suite which was perfectly decorated and comfortable. The Riad has a homely feeling with multiple places to relax, books to browse, a tv to watch if you must and a lovely courtyard dining area for dinner and breakfast and a swim if you wish.

We took up the offer of dinner on our arrival and it was very nicely presented and tasty. Breakfast was an expanded 'continental' style which was perfect to set us up for exploring this fascinating city.

We will definitely return to Marrakesh and hope there will be room for us at this Riad on our return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank penderepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
159
542
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aci Castello, Sicilia, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at three different Riads while we were in Marrakech. By far, our
favorite was Dar Dialkoum. Muriel and Laurent are incredibly helpful, lovely and accomodating people. Their Riad is beautiful, affordable and simply a delight. The breakfast was such a perfect way to start the day - so fresh and delicious - we loved eating it while in the courtyard or terrace. Their staff is lovely and I really cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. They assist you with any questions you might have, are extemely helpful with directions and explaining facts about where to go in the city and can book you on day trips or appointments with a spa. I went to the spa at Riad D'Airain, which they advertise in their info. booklet - they made my appointment for me and I got
an incredible, relaxing treatment. The dinner at Dar Dialkoum was prepared by an
amazing traditional Moroccan cook in house - everything was fresh and
delicious, and the wine was fantastic, too. Stay here - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SBXTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I will start by saying Muriel and Laurent are superb hosts, they made us feel as if we were family. The staff at this riad was second to none, the service was consistent and excellent at all hours of the day. There were many nights where we would come in late, the lights were off and yet they prepared mint tea and provided a bottle of wine at our request. The food was excellent, we had dinner there the first night. The breakfast that was included was also excellent, so much so that we looked forward to it every day. The property itself was quite unique and beautiful. The courtyard with pool was quite nice. The rooms were exquisite we stayed in the Soraya suite but all of the rooms on the property were quite unique and beautifully appointed. We were lucky enough to have Riad to ourselves on the second and third day, we were able to view each room in the Riad.
Marrakech was such a unique and wonderful place to visit, we both loved it and look forward to visiting again and spending more time our next trip. The locals were lovely people, kind and very helpful each and every time we got lost walking the tricky streets of the Medina. We would definitely recommend visiting Marrakech and if you do visit, you must stay at this Riad.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYC_D12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

From the moment that we arrived at Riad Dar Dialkoum and were greeted by Laurent, we both knew that we had made the right decision to stay here. The thought and care that has gone into the renovation of the Riad is clear to see, and the service from the owners and staff is fantastic. The room itself was very spacious, clean and thoughtfully decorated and practical. The addition of flower petals on the bed on arrival was one of many lovely finishes. We were greeted with fresh mint tea and pastries on our arrival, after which Laurent spent considerable time going through a map of the city, highlighting everything from their favourite restaurants to the best sights and markets to visit. There is a constant supply of complimentary fresh fruit, water and mint tea in the Riad and your room. The fact that breakfast is available at anytime of the day is very useful (and rare when compared to other hotels). Breakfast usually consists of freshly brewed coffee/mint tea, freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries (e.g. croissants), bread, fruit and fruit - all of which can be had in the terrace/roof terrace/courtyard or your room. Laurent and Muriel really go out of their way to make you feel at home, making this the most welcoming 'hotel' that we ever experienced. Over and beyond all of this the location is brilliant - whilst you are in the Medina, it is situated right on the outskirts meaning near a wall entrance ('Bab') making it very easy to enter/exit the Medina without getting lost. It also allows for much easier access to the New City due to its location (15/20 min walk), plus a 2minute walk from a large taxi rank.

We would without a doubt, recommend Riad Dar Dialkoum to friends and family, and will hopefully visit again very soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RDhesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. You really come to appreciate the comfort and peace of the riad after a day out in the madness of Marrakech. Muriel and Laurent were very helpful and they ensured that our time there was good. Our room (Malika) was lovely. I unfortunately got the dreaded Marrakech bug on our 4th day and really appreciated that constant stream of tea and cumin (apparantly good for upset stomachs). The only very small gripe I had (and this wasnt any fault of the actual riad) was that the sound from the public areas travels up to the rooms and particularly in the evenings after 10pm some of the guests were not aware of how much their noise was travelling. Perhaps they can mention to people that after 10pm people should be aware of conversations and noise .................

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

have just arrived home after a stay at dar dialkoum, and can honestly say this is an absolutely wonderful place to stay laurent and muriel are brilliant, their attention to detail and kindness is first class. from the time you arrive till the time you leave the whole experience is brilliant, they and their wonderful staff, go out ot there way to make sure that your stay is perfect. the riad and bedrooms are so peaceful and calm, the food is exceptional, and the little extras like mint tea and pastries are very welcome. in fact we cannot fault the riad, we have stayed in lots of different hotels and can honestly say this is now on the top of our list. muriel, upon our arrival, spent time giving us information about the area etc....brilliant and arranging a couple of excursions for us, no hassle, allowing us to chill. the area around the riad is lovely, the people really friendly, and the whole experience of wandering around the alleyways great. yes we did get lost but had no problems with asking for directions. a big thank you to laurent and muriel and their wonderful staff for such a wonderful stay and making my birthday weekend so special......you should be very proud of your very, very special treasure in lovely marrakesh....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Riad Dar Dialkoum in November/December 2011 for 3 nights and we agreed it was the best hotel experience we have ever had, anywhere in the world. We are both management consultants and spend a lot of time in hotels as well.

The riad goes beyond great service to more of a personal concierge. Laurent (the owner) changed money for us (at spot rate, no less), recommended great restaurants both cheap and expensive, virtually organised/recommended our itinerary while in Marrakech, arranged a pick-up from the airport (at no charge), arranged a pick-up and negotiated the price with a taxi driver on departure.

Breakfast was ready whenever you requested it in your choice of terrace, lobby or room, mint tea and fruit was available on request for no charge. We arrived back late one night from a 3 day excursion to the desert and our meal which we had ordered before we left was ready and waiting for whenever we were ready. And it was exquisite!

The location of the riad was in our opinion superb; half-way between the new town and the chaos of the main square in the Medina (about 15-20 minutes walk, as long as you don't get lost!). Don't pay much heed to the negative reviews about the location on here - the riad is down some back alleys which are indeed dirty. In the Medina, ALL the alleys are like this!

The riad itself was beautifully decorated (see for yourself in the pictures) and the rooms were functional, intimate and traditional. However, be prepared to get close and personal with smells and noises since the bathrooms do not have doors, only curtains. Also the riad and room is effectively open-air so you will hear the birds and clerics in the mosques early in the morning. I cannot imagine this is avoidable staying in the Medina and is part of the authentic Marrakech experience, but if this is a problem for you then you need to stay in a Hilton equivalent in the new town.

All in all, it's a hidden gem with fantastic value and unbeatable service. It made our holiday.

Room Tip: Was upgraded to Leila room, which was wonderful, but personally we preferred Malika room as it was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#10 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Property: Riad Dar Dialkoum
Address: 317 Derb Jdid, Derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges, as you prefer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing