We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!”
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Ranked #10 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at this riad for four nights. We had no issues making the reservations and communicating with Laurent and Muriel, the hosts. They accommodated us for no extra charge when we decided our daughter would accompany us on the trip. They rearranged a room to allow for a third person. Our stay was perfect, great breakfast to order, clean, great beds, etc. We were picked up at the airport on the way in (no extra charge) and Laurent walked us to a taxi on the way back and settled the price. He was very helpful with tips, do's and don'ts. The extra touches were many, but I think of the umbrellas offered when it was rainy in the morning, welcome tea and pastry on arrival, food and drinks anytime during our stay, Internet, Satellite TV, etc. The riad itself is even nicer that the exquisite pictures on the web page. It is in one of the alley networks in the old town, and we soon learned our way to it and back from every direction. We walked to all Old Town and New Town action spots. This place is as good as it gets!

Room Tip: They all seemed pretty good - can't think of any tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollymanvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
167
560
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

It is hard to say much more than has already been said. The Riad Dar Dialkoum is simply lovely, Laurent and Muriel along with their staff cannot do enough for you. They make you feel very special. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every minute of it.
The Riad itself is tastefully and sympathetically decorated and transports you to a far gone time. The most striking thing is the tranquility about the place. I would recomend it to anyone and we will definitely be returning. When you first turn up don't be put off by the location you will quickly come to love it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StubbsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolo40000, Owner at Riad Dar Dialkoum, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Dar Dialkoum. We just try to take care of our visitors as we would like for us in the same situation, in a real authentic Riad.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards.

Laurent, Muriel & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Muriel and Laurent and over the ever available glass of sweet mint tea, a detailed briefing on the attractions, restaurants and pitfalls for tourists in Marrakesh. During our 5 day stay in two different rooms where every attention was given to tasteful detail, there was an unlimited supply of mint tea avaiable from the friendly staff and we had two first class 4 course pre-arranged Morroccan evening meals; significantly superior to what we encountered in the city restaurants. The location of the riad is excellent and within easy walking distance of the main 'must visit' square (even allowing for the mandatory getting lost in the myriad of alleys) and an inexpensive taxi ride from other attractions. The riad is tatefully decorated and, in addition to the rooftop terrace, has several 'private' nooks where one can relax in the sun or shade. Internet access is good from most areas. We experienced rather cold weather but the riad is cleverly designed so that there is a covered warm section. For its very central location the riad is an oasis of tranquility and there were no disturbing street noises at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-deMarrakech, Owner at Riad Dar Dialkoum, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Enid and Winston,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We tried to improve the riad with a lot of things since 3 years and I really think that all your comments are relevant.

We changed for new modern and comfortable mattresses in the 3 suits and in the room Aïcha since 15 days. We will change all the other mattresses in the other rooms in 1 week.

Our ambition is to become one of the best "quality/price" of Marrakech, and to be as close as possible to the standards of comfort in Occident.

Best Wishes from Marrakech.

Laurent, Muriel & all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a three day break and I can only describe the Dar Dialkoum as an oasis of calm in what is probably one of the most vibrant cities I have ever experienced. Forget the guide books Laurent sits down with you on arrival and gives you a map which he puts down addresses and key advice from his knowledge as a local with tips for getting the best out of your stay, from where you can get a beer to the right places to eat. The riad itself is absolutely fantastic, a 160 years old and very atmospheric, its a wonderful peaceful place to come back to after a walk through the souks, the roof top terrace is a piece of heaven with views across the city rooftops. Breakfast was always fresh and plentiful, good coffee, fresh bread - anything you want, just ask. The staff were so friendly, one of the girls sisters gave my wifes hands the henna treatment which was so much better than available from the square.
Our room was the Soraya suite which was lovely, decked out in deep red tones, a really comfy bed and a spacious bathroom with all the extras including fresh fruit and mineral water. Tea, coffee and water were always available on request.
I would absolutely not hesitate to recommend the Riad Dar Dialkoum for its location, staff, cleanliness and the fact that Laurent genuinely cares for his customers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2463tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Going to Marrakech? Book this place, you won't be dissapointed.

A beautiful Riad run by two great people. They offer a calm, relaxing environment where nothing is too much trouble. Muriel and Laurent offer great local knowledge, a continual flow of mint tea and an easy-going attitude guaranteed to put you at ease.

The 'Hannah' room, amongst the cheapest, was lovely. Perfectly decorated in a way that was sympathetic to it's surroundings without ever being kitch. It's the little touches that make the biggest difference and the room was full of them! Quality orange blossom and honey toiletries, super soft towels and dressing gowns, made this room feel special.

The Riad is ideally situated between the old and new town, with easy access to all the key tourist spots and also the 'real' part of town, where mint sellers sit on alley way corners shouting to locals who pass by! Great for people watching and getting a feel for the Marrakechi way of life.

We booked this Riad because of the reviews on here and we would suggest that you do the same, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Hannah room on the first floor is lovely! Quiet and comfortable with little luxuries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Muriel & Laurent offer a lovely retreat in the middle of the bustle that is the medina. Amazing that just walking through the arched doorway transports you to somewhere so soothing so quickly. The decor feels very authentic, no kitsch, great rooftop patio for breakfast or sunbathing (sadly no pool). Laurent gave excellent assistance in navigating the city (great recos on which hammam & restaurant were really worth the $$ and experience) and Muriel provided very helpful tips on dealing with local customs. Also had the bets tajine of the entire trip at the riad.
Only less than stellar part are the beds-- don't expect 4 star mattress & bedding quality and you won't be disappointed-:) I would stay again and highly recommend dar dialkoun to friends & strangers alike!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolo40000, Owner at Riad Dar Dialkoum, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your touching review.

There is now new "4 stars" mattresses in all our rooms !

Take good care of you and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Kind wishes from Marrakech.

Laurent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were warmly met and looked after very well for all of our week stay, we had the cheapest noisy room! But when taken into consideration that Marrakech outside the Riad is just short of a full on riot, we found any noise inside the Riad to be charming and quite normal. The helpfulness of Laurent, Muriel and all the staff was superb, we only had to mention anything and it was taken care of with a smile. The breakfast and dinners were as you would expect and we have not had such great tasting food for a long time. Regarding previous comments that it is in a sewer they are wrong, this is Marrakech North Africa NOT Disneyworld Florida, my wife have no problem with returning to a great Riad in a vibrant lively colourful city. Thanks to Laurent and Muriel for a great weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Read the previous reviews, study the Riad website, then email directly for info before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinturboMalmesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
#448 of 499 in Marrakech
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#33 of 499 in Marrakech
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#460 of 499 in Marrakech
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#344 of 499 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#292 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Property: Riad Dar Dialkoum
Address: 317 Derb Jdid, Derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Dialkoum 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges, as you prefer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing