We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great Riad”
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Ranked #10 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dakar, Senegal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Really great Riad”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights with our children. Laurent and Muriel were very helpful when we arrived. They seemed genuine and wanted to help us out. I was a bit taken aback on our way to the riad. But once you enter the riad, it is like a little oasis. It is quiet and peaceful and we felt at home. I also got used to the location. It is actually very convenient as it is in old part of the city but also close to the new part and very close to the taxi stand so you can take a taxi at anytime. I also felt very safe. The staff are helpful and friendly - although one of them could have been a bit more friendlier. Maybe we found her unfriendly due to the language problem. Khadija is a good cook and she made some nice soups. You get free tea, water and coffee.

the suites are really nicely decorated and I really liked suite Yasmina. our kids really enjoyed the stay.

just some small issues we had: hot water was not working properly in the room downstairs. so we had to go back and forth between our room and our mother's room. it was reapired on the first day and then again it stopped working. maybe because it was connected to the heater in the kitchen. they could try to put a separate heater for the room. the pillows were really hard. hey could do with getting some new pillows. although I found out that they do have some nice pillows- we just did not get them.

Laurent and Muriel helped out with places to visit, restaurants and spa. they also gave us their stroller. our kids sometimes did make some noise but they were really understanding about that and did not say anything.

The breakfast was good and we enjoyed it. but sometimes the pastries were not fresh.

They gave us a free upgrade for the last two nights and it was really nice.

Overall, it is a great place to stay in Marrakech with or without kids. we will stay here if we ever visit Marakech again. I have also recommended this place to our friends who are visiting Marakech soon.

Room Tip: Select the suites on the first floor. I liked suite Yasmina
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nomad007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
167
561
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed in the Riad for 6 nights with my family including my two year old twin daughters in January 2013. Booked the Riad mainly based on TA reviews after seeing it has been highly recommended for families – Fortunately we were not disappointed. As many of the previous reviewers have stated Laurent and Mauriel truly are delightful hosts and go the extra mile to help the guests. One example is that they let us use the baby stroller for free and even let us take it to Essaouira with us on our trip.

All the rooms in the riad are beautiful and very well kept, but I would suggest that if you can, pay a bit extra and take one of the suites on the first floor – they are bit more spacious and really worth it. The location is also perfect to explore the old and new areas of Marrakesh and Laurent and Mauriel are always there to help you out with organizing your trips/taxi, etc.. They also have very good staff members and the whole place does have a home feeling to it. Like many others have suggested the food prepared by Khadija was some of the best you will taste anywhere in Marrakesh and I highly recommend it to anyone.

I really can’t find any faults with the place but just couple of minor points. On the first day the hot water was not working in one of the rooms which was subsequently fixed after we reported it to Mauriel. And they can also improve the quality of their pillows. Some of them were very hard, which were quickly replaced after we asked for softer ones.

These are couple of very minor issues we encountered and overall this is a great option in Marrakech whether you are traveling with your family or as a couple!!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the riad are beautiful and very well kept, but I would suggest that if you can, pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sriramhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Despite our trip not going to plan (late flights, heat stroke, bad colds) Riad Dar Dialkoum made this trip one of our best holidays we've been on.

The owners Muriel & Laurent were fantastic in helping our trip be amazing. They sent us suggestions for things for us to do, giving us advice on what companies did what we were looking for, they made sure we felt welcome and at home during our stay. At one point my girlfriend felt ill from heat stroke and Muriel showed me the way to the pharmacy and helped translate for me so I could get some medicine for my girlfriend. Thank you ever so much Muriel! Would have been lost with out you.

The actual Riad is a small slice of paradise hidden down a small road in a very busy town. As soon as you walk through the door, you wouldn't know Marrakech was that busy. The Riad is absolutely gorgeous and homely with a traditional Moroccan feel to it.

I would recommend this Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in January and would go back tomorrow if we could. Here are five reasons (in no particular order) to stay at Dar Dialkoum:

1. It's a beautiful, relaxing retreat from the glorious chaos of Marrakesh. Way more luxurious than the price would suggest. Their policies of breakfast at any time, dinner at any time and free tea, coffee and water at all times also mean you don't have to jump out of bed at 8:30 on vacation if you don't want to.
2. The food is very good. If you are exhausted from a day walking and haggling in the Medina, you can come back to your room and while you clean up Rashida will prepare your delicious 3-course meal. The 20 euro prix fixe offers a lot of choice. Also, you can have a decent bottle of wine with your meal. Ask Laurent to suggest something.
3. The location. It's quick and easy to get to the heart of the Medina, but also close to the wall where you can get a (cheap) taxi to the new city.
4. Muriel and Laurent are charming, interesting people who will offer advice, stop for chat or leave you alone if you prefer. They can help guide you throughout your visit with helpful suggestions, but are never pushy (and they never ask if you did what they suggested which I always find a little awkward.) They are also very flexible and accommodating if you have a change of plans.
5. Their all-female staff work hard to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. As much as I could tell, they seem fairly treated and compensated.

Tips: (1) Go ahead and ask for an extra pillow, they don't mind.
(2) order the tomato with honey starter.

Room Tip: If you travel off-season you may get an upgrade with a multi-day stay. But even the smaller rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rschwartz375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Riad Dar Dialkoum in December and loved every minute. Muriel, Laurent, and the rest of the staff were exemplary hosts, and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The location is fantastic- midway between the old and new parts of the city, away from the busiest parts, but such that you can easily walk anywhere. The atmosphere in the Riad was so peaceful that it was all too tempting to stay in the Riad and relax rather than go out and see the city! We ate dinner at the Riad 2 nights out of our 7 in Marrakech, and the food was the best we had all week. We would recommend staying here to anyone and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank euanspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and it is really a beautiful place. Its run by a lovely couple, Muriel and Laurent. They really made us feel special while we where there, and they also speak english. One of them is always there, in addition to the staff - all very nice girls. And Khadija (i think?) makes the best food, both the dinner and the breakfast is fantastic. They also serve the food on the terrace if you want to - great service. We arrived at the riad straight from a hiking trip in the mountains, and was therefor really exhausted. My boyfriend had forgot his toothbrush, but one of the girls actually went out to buy one for him! Also, one of the cheaper room that we wanted was not availible when we made the booking, but we got a suite for the same price instead. As you can see, the service is superb! You also get free water, cofee and tee - as much as you want.

The location is a bit away from the tourist-areas, which we liked a lot. It is more quiet, and it really gives you a feeling of the real Marrakesh - great! The last day we bought chicken from one of the bbq´s out in the street (the one in the middle) - it is the best food we had in Marrakesh!

We are definitly coming back to both Marrakesh and Dar Dialkoum :)

Room Tip: Suite Leila is a very nice room, it is located on the first floor, away from the ground floor which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 212Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Beautiful Riad tucked away in a more quiet part of the Medina. We stayed here for two nights and thought the accommodations and value were tremendous. The owners were so helpful with getting us situated and comfortable. When we arrived they upgraded our room for one night which was amazing. Their motto is "anything is possible" and I love that. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HertzNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#459 of 499 in Marrakech
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#341 of 499 in Marrakech
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#282 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#19 of 499 in Marrakech
1,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#340 of 499 in Marrakech
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Property: Riad Dar Dialkoum
Address: 317 Derb Jdid, Derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Dialkoum 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges, as you prefer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing