We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Marrekech's Medina”
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #15 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Riad El Zohar and Allan, the owner, are both incredible. The Riad looks like a palace; the tiled ceilings are breathtaking, the furnishings and decor made us feel like royalty, and the sunny rooftop terrace with its view over the Medina was very popular with the guests.

The pool was refreshingly cool after a hot day sightseeing or wandering through the souks. The location is perfect for wandering through the souks or going to the main square, and amazingly quiet considering the central location. Rooms open onto a central courtyard only, so there is no noise from outside the riad.

In 30 years of traveling, the best customer service we have ever experienced was provided by Allan, the owner, a UK transplant with an acerbic wit. We arrived mid-afternoon and were absolutely famished. Allan walked us to a nearby restaurant that was open mid-afternoon, most importantly pointing out landmarks to help us navigate back to the riad afterwards. As the alleys through the souks have no visible names, it is easy to get lost. Later, Allan offered to take us on a short walking tour to help us find our way around the souks. Not only was Allan fantastic in pointing out landmarks to help us navigate by (note the window box straight ahead of you, go past the smelly drain, turn left at the Bougainvillea Café, take the alley to the left of the wrapped building, etc.), but he also pointed out several reputable shops, food stalls and restaurants (as well a few that he suggested be avoided), and introduced us to some of the reputable shopkeepers. The "walking tour" lasted about 45 min. and was invaluable to helping us navigate the maze of alleys.

Allen was also extremely knowledgeable about the prices of products, and gave us several good tips to help us bargain. And the customer service didn't stop once we left the riad. Two weeks after we left Riad El Zohar, the area where we live was hit by a bad hurricane. Allan sent us an e-mail wishing us well. Customer service just doesn't get any better than this.

Riad El Zohar is a reasonably priced accommodation in a great location with stellar customer service. Thank you Allan for making our Marrakesh portion of our vacation absolutely fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have more privacy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvToTravel040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Riad El Zohar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Riad EL Zohar is the perfect place to stay in Marrakesh. The property is beautiful and is situated within the heart of the Medina. On arrival, the owner Alan gave us a detailed and interesting “briefing” before taking us on a guided tour of the Souks. The wealth of information allowed us to experience far more than we would have done, without it. The food at the Riad was excellent and plentiful. We had breakfast every morning sat by the plunge pool. We also had a number of evening meals with the other guests. The evenings went on for a very long and enjoyable time. The owners Alan and Malika and the staff were wonderful hosts and this made for a truly memorable stay. Overall, we cannot recommend Raid El Zohar highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dirham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I was recommend this place to take my partner, her sister and mum as a birthday treat, having visited marrakesh 4 times I have a good view of what to expect and this is by far the best riad I have stayed at. The weather we experienced over our stay was awful however the riad was a great bolt hole to avoid the storms. Situated in the centre of the souls you are taken from the airport within 20 minutes and transferred to an enchanting place in the heart of the action. The staff here are v friendly and able to tell you exactly where to go. Allan is excellent in organising everything for you if you wish ranging from airport transfer, wheely bag men, day trips and restaurant recommendations. The food is excellent however they seriously over cater so perhaps think about ordering for one less than in your party as you won't go hungry, the breakfasts are a delight and weather permitting are best taken in the excellent terrace. The bedrooms and communal areas are decorated with the most glorious fabrics, materials and furniture from the souks. I would happily recommend this riad above any others I have stayed at to anyone. This place will not disappoint.....oh and you can get alcohol here so a relaxing beer or glass of local wine is a perfect way to end the day.

On a slightly negative note watch out for the 4% additional charge for using a cc to pay at the end of your stay, I was slightly annoyed by this, it is advertised on the web site however by the time it came to pay I hadn't seen consulted their website since booking some 6 months earlier - I would have appreciated being reminded of this and perhaps having my bill prepared the night before so I could have gone to the ATM the night before or being reminded via email before my trip as they willingly accept sterling and euros which I would have organised as it would have saved me something in the region of £35. Ultimately I had to pay the extra as I settled up 1 hr before we were due to go to the airport. The only other down side was that you are unable to grab a light lunch / snack at short notice. We ended up spending 3 hours in the riad one afternoon due to the storms, we tried to get a sandwich but were told it needed to be per ordered which was frustrating as it meant going out, ( getting soaked in the process) to get a bite for lunch - perhaps if they could offer some bread and cheese or a light snack on these occasions it would have been appreciated.

Having said that these 2 were very very slight negatives and wouldn't detract from me recommending or going again, I look forward to going again in the future but I will give how I'm going to pay a little more thought in future.

Excellent, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Riad el Zohar is in the very heart of the souks. It is just a few minutes easy navigation to Jemaa El Fna and on the doorstep of the very best of the souks. It is also conveniently located for some great restaurants and cafes. Like many Riads it is a gem hidden in the narrow alleys in the medina. The welcome is warm and the staff could not do any more to help and ensure you have a peaceful retreat from the bustling streets of Marrakech. The Riad is tastefully decorated and lots of thought has been put into the rooms and salons to provide every comfort. There is a plunge pool in the open courtyard which sadly the heavy rain prevented us from using and a well equipped roof terrace from where the call to prayer can be heard in surround sound. Strongly recommended for a visit to Marrakech. Would be back in a shot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Arrive at serious wooden door up unimpressive alley. Step inside and three stories of gracious living opens up round you. Calm, ornate, traditional feel, great balcony, ideal to listen to competing prayer callers. with mint tea on tap and, for after dusk, welcome beer. Some ceiling decor only matched by one of the palaces we saw while on tour.
Pool looked tempting. Should have brought my trunks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Travelling from a cold & foggy Heathrow we arrived in a hot & sunny Marrakech not really knowing what to expect. We were met straight away by the pre-booked transfer to the city and twenty minutes later handed over our luggage to a porter with a small hand cart. We were then led through a maze of narrow alleys, souks and dark tunnels to arrive the door to El Zohar. We wondered what we had let ourselves in for. But what a contrast from outside!!. It was quite honestly mind-blowing, the ambience the decorations, furniture and what lovely warm & welcoming staff, words can't do it justice. We were given a cup of "Morrocan whisky" (mint tea) and then shown to our room which was beautifully decorated and furnished in sumptuous Morrocan style - complete with a 4 poster bed.

In the afternoon we were kindly escorted through alleys and souks to the "big square" to soak up the atmosphere. Returning later to the riad we had a fabulous dinner prepared for us by the resident chef which was served in the "tent" on the rooftop terrace.

All in all we think the El Zohar is a most wonderful place and all the staff very warm, welcoming and helpful. We were even escorted to the square at 5:00 one morning to meet our pilot for a hot-air balloon trip.

The location of the riad makes it and ideal place from which to explore Marrakech. Be prepared to haggle!! You will also be frequently asked if you are lost or wishing to go to a particular location by some of the local men & boys. If your accept their offer be aware that they will expect payment, however this service can be useful as you will probably find yourself lost in the souks at some point. There is so much to see and take in Marrakech and the people are friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was our first trip to Marrakech and we had no idea what to expect, I looked at lots of riads and felt quite overwhelmed by making the decision where to stay, eventually I choose El Zohar as the reviews were so good and It looked stunning I can honestly say we were not disappointed in fact it was a great decision. We were greeted by Allan the owner who was just great, a real character and easy to chat to, he gave us so much good advice my excellent bartering and purchases were all down to his advice on shopping ...... I have never felt the need to write a review on a holiday but feel it is necessary as we had such an amazing experience at this riad, it is perfectly situated for the Souks and places to eat ( all recommend by Allan) we will definitely be going back and will be bringing some friends with us, I have recommended this place to so many of my friends ......a big thank you to Allan and all the staff .....it was brill and see you next year ! .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#23 of 501 in Marrakech
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,160 in Marrakech
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#6 of 1,160 in Marrakech
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#13 of 1,160 in Marrakech
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £77 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing