We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to explore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #14 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base to explore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Aside from being an idyllic riad with wonderful roof terrace overlooking the souk, what really makes this place work is how relaxed Alan and Malika make you feel. Nothing is too much for them as they clearly love sharing their Marrakech with all their guests. El Zohar is the perfect spot to explore the Medina.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    22
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
218
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a fabulous find - a sympathetically restored Riad in the centre of the Medina (old Marrakech, 2 min walk from the souks) with a charming owner - very generous with his time to ensure we didn't get irretrievably lost! Lovely staff - breakfast was great and we loved the Chicken Tagine with olives and lemons!
Comfortable rooms (without losing the feel of the original building) the Riad also has a roof terrace to relax in the sun (the contrast between the bustle of the souk and the calm of the roof terrace is very special).
Don't even think you can find this alone - accept the offer of transfers or you'd be wandering for days......
Lovely trip - think we'll be back!
Amanda S.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

If stars were awarded just for service, El Zohar would be the Burj Al Arab of Marrakech. Alan and his team are exceptional - the best we have experienced in all our travels.
The Riad is brilliantly situated in the souk and is a peaceful and charming oasis of calm and hospitality.
Do take their airport transfer: it takes all the worries out of the journey and you won't easily find the Riad on your own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you want to stay in Marrakech, don't even consider staying anywhere but in the heart of The Medina, you just won't experience Marrakech as it really is. El Zohar is the place to stay ..... Perfect location ..... Immaculate facilities .... Impeccable hosts, supported by a charming team. Not something I've ever reported before, even via personal recommendation.

Room Tip: With only 5 rooms there may not be much choice, but this is what makes for the intimacy. Might be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

M wife and I have just spent 5 days/nights at Riad El Zohar. We cannot speak too highly of this hotel. Very nice ambience, great location in the centre of the Medina, very helpul owner (English) and excellent service from all the staff.

Strongly recommended. We would not hesitate to stay again on a return visit.

Michael Southworth 30.03.2014

Room Tip: We stayed in the Talilit room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My lovely sister and I just spent four nights at El Zohar which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our transfers to and from the airport were seamless and stress free. We were greeted by the wonderfully friendly and helpful Allan who was so generous with his time and knowledge both on our first evening and over the next few days. With a guided tour to ensure we did not lose ourselves we felt confident to explore the Medina and souks, and had great fun making a few purchases from the friendly, persuasive (but never aggressive) stall holders. Allan's staff deserve a big thank you for being so accommodating, friendly, and never looking anything other than delighted to schlep our breakfast up to the roof terrace so we could enjoy the sunshine. Highly recommended - I'll certainly be making a return visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank somersetness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at El Zohar. Great service with a smile, lots of useful information and the tea and coffee at all times was a great addition to our previous stay in 2009. Breakfasts great as was dinner and Alan couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#13 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Property: Riad El Zohar
Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing