We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mint tea on the Rooftop Terrace”
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #18 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mint tea on the Rooftop Terrace”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a fantastic time in Marrakech. Riad El Zohar was a total haven of tranquillity in the busy-ness of the souks. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Mint tea was served at any time in any place in the riad. Best served on the rooftop terrace, with views out over Marrakech. We spent 5 nights at the riad, which left plenty of gaps to relax and chill out. Thank you for looking after us so well, lovely holiday, thanks!

Room Tip: Talilit Room was our favourite, full of cultural flavour with a lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
227
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Unfortunately we ended up spending more time in the Riad then we expected after picking up a stomach bug before we arrived that laid me and my wife low. Although that was the case we were fortunate that we found ourselves in such a wonderful place.

The staff were considerate, helpful and could not have been more accommodating which was hugely appreciated given the state we were in. The building itself is beautiful and full of lovely decorative touches. Of particular note is the roof terrace that gives great views across the city and an excellent place to escape the sun.

Having seen little of Marrakech we plan to come back and would not hesitate to book a place at Riad El Zohar

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It was our first time in Marrakech and so did not have any idea of really what a riad would be. This one is so lovely - wonderfully restored - obviously lovingly restored. The staff are terrific. The layout of the medina can be confusing - but we were accompanied on our first day - so that we would not waste any time getting lost. The food at the riad is delicious -breakfast fresh and full of local breads, preserves and fruit - and of course the best orange juice.
Always someone around to advise - on where to go - where to eat - and to help carry your purchases home
Absolutely nothing could have been better
1st class - throughout

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franceabroadfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This riad was a well needed oasis after 11days walking in the Atlas mountains and the manicness of the toubkal hut! It was clean, very well presented and the staff were very helpful. Lovely breakfast, free tea at any time and serves alcohol! Stayed 2 nights and on the second one of the staff helped book us a restaurant recommended in the helpful hotel book. He then showed us how to get there, again very helpful after having got lost in soul earlier that day! On departure hotel sorted us with hand cart and taxi for the airport, all put on hotel bill so no worry about haggling over prices at 6am! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K17Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firfax
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our flight was delayed and we didm't arrive until midnight. We were warmly greeted at the door, offered some mint tea and given maps (with an explanation) of the area. The next morning after a delicious home made breakfast served in their lovely pool area, one of the owners walked us into the souk and showed us some highlights and the way to get back. We would highly recommend this road!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairfax10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at riad el Zohar. We were taken to the door of the riad which is about 5 minutes away from the big square. The riad is decorated amazingly, everything is clean and organised and the staff are very polite and eager to help. They gave us mint tea and explained the map to help us find our way around. The roof terrace is gorgeous, has sofas and sunbeds and is peaceful and has a covered area to sit in also. One of the days me and my boyfriend had quad biking booked (the staff will book for you and arrange transfers etc) and we were escorted to the pickup place in the square by a lovely man called Elradi who was part of the staff who looked after us at the riad. They look after you very well and I highly recommend this riad for families, couples and singles...for everyone really. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The bathroom on the ground floor, opposite the kitchen was amazing, big and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h11h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived at 9pm and were welcomed to this beautiful Riad. We were given dinner and then we finished the evening under the stars on the rooftop terrace. The following morning we were shown the direction of the Big Square before breakfast and then later we were guided around the area to the Souks! When we returned we were immediately offered complimentary tea and were left to relax on the terrace. We ventured out again and returned to a beautifully cooked tagine of lamb and apricots. The following evening we asked for a recommendation of where to eat, a booking was made and we were personally escorted to an excellent restaurant. The service and the friendliness shown was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays4Ever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#15 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#9 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Property: Riad El Zohar
Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing