We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a lovely stay in Marrakesch”
Review of Riad Amira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Amira
Ranked #345 of 1,144 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“had a lovely stay in Marrakesch”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was a with a friend just a couple of days ago in the riad Amira. We stayed for 4 days and i could not imagine a better place to stay.

Martin, a really lovely french lady is the owner of the riad. She welcomed us with some maroccan backery and fresh mint tea.
After filling out some papers, she gave us a card from the medina of marrakesch and gave us some useful tips(bars/restaurants)
We just managed to try some of them, but we really liked them- especially the cosy bar.

We stayed in the room "simbad"- the room was really cute decorated with a lot of attention on little details. Here you realize its owned by a french=)
Furthermore our huge double bed was really comfy and the room has it own bathroom.
In the bathroom you can find some showergel, body lotion and shampoo. Aswell a safe is provided to but in your personal stuff and some cold water. And the room was clean.

During the hot afternoons we took a refreshment in the pool. The pool is really cold, but considering the temperatures thats what you really need.
Afterwards we took a sunbath at the rooftop. There are some sunbeds & sunloungers.

Every morning a lovely breakfast is provided. It contains different sorts of bread, jam, honey, butter, fruitsalad, egg, yoghurt, tee&coffee& milk.
You can enjoy your breakfast at the rooftop or in the courtyard. The breakfast was absolutely fresh. Maybe it could change a bit if you stay there longer. But for 4 days it was perfect.

The riad is in the area Kashbah, really close to the saadian tombs & kasbahe mosquee. Maybe 5 min by walk. Aswell too the the place jemaa el fna its just 15 min by walk. The way was quiete secure during the day and night.
Furthermore if you needed a taxi or anything else Martin was always willing to help you.

The only little minus was that the wifi was not everywhere perfect. In the room it was perfect. But in the courtyard or the roof it did not connected. But since we have been on holidays its not too bad=)

i can really recomment this riad to anyone. And if i will be again in Marrakesch, i already know where to stay.
Thanks Martin for the loevly stay

kind regards Franzi=)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    39
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Marrakech is a beautiful city embedded with great history charm and real culture, my views d the riad do not depict the Marrakech as its definitely a must see place.
On arrival we weren’t shown around the place, and were left to our own devices.. Even though I asked for a upgrade the raid was completely empty for four days of our stay and I was refused this each time.
There is no wifi in the room and very little downstairs, which is so slow you give up trying.. Even though it was amenities that we required was on of the reasons why we booked this with the understanding that the raid had wifi .
The staff mentioned that the hotel manager would be here any day but she was a no shower and other guest also wanted to speak to the manger with there cause for concerns aswell.
The rooms are cold in the evening, the water pressure is low and hot water is limited so forget about having a shower in the evenings....
Your not able to sit in the lobby room as one staff member sleeps there, so forget it if you want to check the news.... the staff are very quick to say no will easily fob you off saying speak to the manager who never turned up though out the entire time of our stay.
On checking out there wanted me to pay the remaining balance via cash as they kept saying it easier and the machine doesn’t work even though I paid deposit through prestige and the remaining money was suppose to be debited out on my arrival .. The worker didn’t understand this and again I spoke to the manger over the phone even though this is a regular procedure for her you’d think? But she asked if i had cash... when i said no she didn’t ask anything else if I enjoyed my stay our anything hospitable she just asked to put through to the worker...

There breakfast is sufficient and the staff were kind enough to send it in my room, however the would forget the milk or the sugar or something which in the end i would let it be and go without ...
There are plenty of other raids which offer a better service from staff have a hotel manger who is able to keep to his word actually be of assistance to his guest and offer better amenities.. i wouldn’t recommend this raid as value form money but close to main locations and quietly situated in Kasbah.
Overall riad is nice but needs attention to its service the staff need to be a bit more active and the manger needs to make sure when she says she coming she should be there ..

Room Tip: from jema el fna taxi is about 10mhd so dont get ripped off..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakesh and first time in a riad, although our friends had been once before. Reminiscent of Star Trek in so much that you walk through a hole in a wall and are immediately transferred into another world, one of calm and tranquillity. We were well received and shown to the central part of the building which is open to the elements where a filling and ample breakfast is served. Its all very pretty and includes a small pool in which to bathe. There is a roof top terrace and its easy to order a beer or bottle of wine ( £9 or so ). The riad is well positioned in the southern part of the Medina, off the main track though the Kasbah which we thought better than the area where the riads proliferate.
Our room was fine, on the outer part of the riad with a window overlooking the street. Best advice is to try for a room overlooking the inner courtyard, more peaceful and the rooms are slightly larger and with a better finish and style. The shower was fine but the water temperature is more warm than hot - irritating !
Would I go back ? Yes. Good location, clean and tidy and excellent value - we paid a bit more than £40 per room per night but get a courtyard room.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful place with lots of charme...
Clean and with a nice swimming pool to chill out...
Excellent service...
Nice area, Kasbah one of the most interesting neighborhood of the city...
I had also a fantastic dinner in the nice patio...
Top for quality and prices

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in Riad Amira back in February 2008, and really enjoyed our stay. It’s a great little riad set in the back streets of Marrakesh. With very friendly feel and quaint little rooms which give you a truly remarkable experience we were not disappointed by the stay.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helped arrange for trips to the atlas mountains which was amazing and really something I would recommend. I have read recent reviews and it sounds as if they haven’t let their standards slip.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel (give them notice) and they can arrange for dinner to be cooked for you one evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abu_ayesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We often had meal at the riad because we were running late or just tired. Every single meal I had here was incredible. I highly recommend at least trying couple meals here if you are staying at this place. The riad is not posh, but well maintained, peaceful and calm and this is really helpful since Marrakesh is a bit all over the place. It is about 10 min or so walk from the central square everyone loves to go to (although I found it mostly distracting and not exciting) so close to anywhere you'd want to go to in the old town.

Room Tip: I stayed at the most economical room, which I think was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Nice traditional rooms and lovely decor through the hallway. Food not amazing and definitely book a transfer or have a very precise knowledge of where it is, as riads are hard to find from the outside!
Best bit is being able to sit on the rooftop terrace soaking up the sun and sounds of the city with a glass of wine - most places won't sell alcohol.
Book a day trip to the Atlas mountains

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaHPickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#200 of 499 in Marrakech
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#112 of 499 in Marrakech
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#238 of 499 in Marrakech
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Andalouse
Riad Andalouse
#365 of 1,144 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#44 of 1,144 in Marrakech
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Amira Victoria
Riad Amira Victoria
#479 of 1,144 in Marrakech
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amira

Property: Riad Amira
Address: 52, 23 Derb Benzina - La Kasbah | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amira 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Amira is composed of 7 beautiful individually decorated rooms blending the best of east and west. Only a short walk away from the Jemma El Fna square and easily accessible by car the Amira is perfectly placed to avoid the stress of the center while being close enough to stroll in when you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Amira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amira Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing