We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #73 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Marrakech”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Riad Jonan was lovely, the staff and owners were friendly and after a busy day in the souks the great rooftop with sun beds was most welcome. We found the position perfect as it was about 15-20 minutes walk to the main square, close but away from the main area. I stayed in the lovely Jadida room, which is ground floor next to a nice courtyard with a small plunge pool. The breakfasts were great, nice pastries and omelettes!! Perfect riad, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWombatTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    104
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
381
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We arrived in the evening after being collected from airport by a nice chatty driver.
First impressions are a bit daunting , the Kasbah area is a bit manic in the evening but the next day when we ventured out it was fine . The staff gave us mint tea, biscuits, and showed us to our room after a brief introduction and map.
Breakfast was superb, a choice of eggs, yoghurt with marinated prunes, cereals etc and a selection of pastries. The owners and manager were on hand to give advice, information etc after breakfast. We did the Atlas mountain day trip organised through the Riad which was well recommended . We had lunch at Richard Bransons mountain retreat , a perfect day .
This is not a luxury hotel but the big plus is the friendly, informal atmosphere which is generated by the owners and the exceptional staff.
The free wi fi in public patio was also very welcome. Thank you for a wonderful 5 days .

Room Tip: Book the airport collection and day trip to Atlas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Can only agree with the nice things written about this riad,run by 2 english owners who live in marrakech and there excellent staff,ready to give advice if needed.super food,nice bedrooms and comfortable beds .all done with that personal touch.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsdad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Hi, picked this Riad as were girls travelling alone and thought a Riad with Englisth owners would give us that more peace of mind. Have to say on the whole, the Riad was very nice, clean .... central .....quiet .....but be prepared for A LOT of rules!!
Don't stay in the shower too long, don't get in bed if with henna tattoos, if you want breakfast on the roof terrace then make sure you request it in writing (we did and still still got wrong - how difficult is it to carry a tray upstairs) and God forbid you ring the door bell to be let in on a night!! we were severely chastised for waking the guests - IT WAS 9.45pm!!! Even by the house rules lights out was 11pm.
Also, be prepared to have to pay everything (and be asked/reminded frequently) - in cash immediately (deposit/balance etc), which in a country where you can't take money in I found really incovenient and if anything a little rude.
Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't not recommend this Riad, certain aspects of it were very nice, and maybe as a travel writer I'm a little more expectant than others but the fact everything was so uptight spoilt it for me, which was a shame
Left feeling a cross between an inconvenience and a naughty schoolgirl and it was my 40th birthday!! lol

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadjonan, Owner at Riad Jonan, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write a review however, I am somewhat confused by some of the comments which are completely untrue.

We do have a sign about Henna Tattoos, reason is to advise the guest that these Tattoos stain all clothing and bedding. We have previously had to throw away bedding as a result of these Tattoos and guests have stained their own clothes, Henna is near impossible to remove. So we think this is a responsible thing to do.

As A travel writer, This reviewer should know that the majority of hotels and those in particular in countries where water is a precious commodity, display signs about not using water in a wasteful manner. Again we think this is responsible tourism.

During the cooler months breakfast is available on the roof terrace by request. We do not request this in writing and neither did this reveiwer ask for this in writing as stated. We simple ask guests wishing to have breakfast on the terrace just to notify the staff. During the summer months we automatically prepare tables on the terrace.

I Am baffled about this lights out at 11pm comment? We often have guests on the roof terrace at this time and many guests do not return from restaurants until well after this hour?
As a courtesy to guests we do ask guests arriving after 11pm to use the night bell.( Less noisy) There is NO curfew as suggested by this reviewer.

We send a lot of information to guests before they arrive re money exchange and balance payment etc. You are able to bring upto 10,000 GBP into the country and so yet again am confused when this reviewer says she cannot bring money into the country. We state quite clearly that balance of payment is due on check in. so should not be a surprise or considered rude when you have been informed well in advance.

Overall i thank this reviewer for her comments re our staff who always receive high praise for there friendly and efficeient service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here and would not go anywhere else. Riad Jonan is in an excellent area of the Medina with the fixed price shop just up the road to get prices from ready to barter in the souks. All staff at Riad Jonan are fantastic, English speaking and are very polite and accommodating. It must be noted that with apparent problems in the Middle East, Morocco has not been effected. The Moroccans value tourism very highly and so I would not hesitate to go back, and shall be doing. There was no sign of any unrest even through my 5 day drive to the desert and back. Marrakesh is a very cosmopolitan city and has a mix of European and Moroccan restaurants and bars. Riad Jonan has been decorated to a very high standard and as it is two Riads, feels very spacious, with different lounges. I love also sitting on the roof terrace having a drink. Martyn Howard and Aziz are excellent at welcoming and helping you to have a fantastic time in the Medina.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahUKDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

2 ladies on their own and not sure what to expect but, from the moment we arrived to be greeted by the charming Abdul who gave us mint tea and pastries, we were made to feel completely relaxed and welcome. Martyn, Howard, Aziz and the rest of the amazing staff ( and that includes the delightful young lady who cleaned our room so beautifully each day, making sure there were lovely clean towels every day) run the most amazing, peaceful riad where absolutely nothing was too much trouble to ensure their guests had a brilliant time. Airport taxis, lovely day trips (ie the trip to the Atlas mountains) were booked for us efficiently and trouble free. The walk from the riad to the "square" each night was an adventure in itself but one we felt perfectly safe taking! But the coming back to the riad and enjoying a nice bottle of wine sitting on the fabulous roof terrace was a perfect end to yet another hectic exciting day. The nights we chose to eat in were first class and certainly the best meals in Marrakech. Thank you all and we'll definitely be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Having stayed in impersonal 5 star hotels all over the world we decided to try something different. The Riad Jonan is a haven of tranquility in the middle of the madness of Marrakesh. From the moment we stepped inside we were made to feel so welcome by the manager, Aziz, and his staff - they were superb. Martyn and Howard, the owners (and not forgetting little Keiko), were great and should be proud of their staff who were always smiling, courteous and helpful - even the chambermaid who didn't appear to speak much English was always smiling. They all made our holiday so special we can't wait to go back. The food in the hotel was excellent. The city bus tour is a must and a trip to the Atlas mountains arranged by the hotel takes you back hundreds of years. This was my 4th trip to Morroco and the best yet. Pauline

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tottenham63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
937 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#130 of 500 in Marrakech
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 500 in Marrakech
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#86 of 500 in Marrakech
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing