We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Authentic”
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #71 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Authentic”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Riad Jonan for 3 nights - Feb 2012. The hotel is lovely.- very quaint which is what we were looking for. The food was excellent. We pre-ordered 3 course dinner for our first night. The manager, Hassan arranged this via email along with our Atlas mountain day trip (transfer and guide for mountains + lunch in berber village) and airport transfers. The taxi took as right to the street then walked us to the door. We also booked a Hammam spa once we arrived - Wonderful experience! The service was second to none, and nothing was too much trouble for Hassan and the other staff at Riad Jonan.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    103
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
73
380
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The staff were so friendly & helpful with tips & advice for getting around Marrakech. The welcoming mint tea & cakes were just what the doctor ordered :-) Clean rooms, really nice touches of decoration everywhere & the breakfast was great. Its ideally sighted for walking to Jamaa el Fna & the Saadian tombs & wonderful Bahia Palace are only 5 - 10 minutes away. Would happily come back here for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

If you are going to marrakesh staying at a riad is the only way to get the full experience. The staff at road jonan could not of been more friendly or accomodating. Although this road is in the middle of a busy road once inside it a quiet haven. Walking distance to the souks and main square you could ask for more. Eould highly recommend.....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have had a lovely stay. The staff are excellent-very helpful and the meals were very good. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veronica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Jonan is a cute little Riad tucked away in the South part of the Medina (which, by the way, I would recommend staying in if you are females travelling alone. Many of our friends had stayed in the North side and had felt a little hassled by some local men which we did not feel at all.) The location is great for the main square and all other tourist attractions.

The look and vibe of the riad is all very authentic - you genuinely feel like you have stepped back in time - whilst at the same time having all of the mod cons to hand (I don't think that any of the rooms have TVs however, although we were very happy to get away from these to be honest and these is a large TV in the lounge area showing international channels if this is your thing).

What really makes this hotel, however, is the the staff. The riad has a real home-from-home feel to it which is created partly from the intimate nature of the riad itself but more so by the manner of the staff. Hassan and Hassan (the Manager and Assistant Manager), Abdul (Night Manager) and Kamissa (who, from what I can tell, is a modern day wonder woman providing you with smiles, hugs and plasters (!) as well as her actual day job of cooking and cleaning!) genuinely can't do enough for you. Not only did they give us great advice on tours and the local areas but we felt like we could chat to them as companions about anything from Linguistics to Football!!

Another great plus was the hearty breakfast! No complaints at all here. We also had a wonderful tagine dinner on the night that we arrived which was faultless.

Only a couple of minor points that didn't make this review an 'Excellent'.

1. We didn't like the fact that we didn't have any outward facing windows and we were based in a pretty dark area of the Riad. Appreciate that there isn't much that the staff can do about this however for this reason I would recommend against staying in the Jadida room (that and the fact that the area directly outside was the overspill for the breakfast area and so it genuinely felt that other guests were literally eating their breakfast in our room! Not ideal if you fancy a lie in!!)

2. There were a couple of little things in the room which could have been better (e.g. the lining on the curtain which covered the glass door was ripped so light splilled in in the morning, the ipod docking system was a great touch but every time we played music for longer than 10 minutes we'd get interference and had to turn it off). To be honest if we'd informed the staff, they probably would have rectified, it's just that these are the kind of things you'd expect to be fixed before you arrive.

On the whole though a fantastic stay and I would definitely recommend!! Fantasic value for money, in a good location with great staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Can highly recommend staying at this great Riad.Get hotel to arrange airport pickup a must they will take you to the frount door .The food and the service could not have been bettered,it takes about 15 min to walk to main square.We all had a great time staying at Riad Jonan.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Marrakech is a kaleidoscope of colour just as i expected. This boutique hotel was just perfect for us to stay in for our 4nights stay.The bedroom had all we needed in it,and we found the bed very comfortable.The service was outstanding by all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#59 of 500 in Marrakech
931 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#90 of 500 in Marrakech
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#50 of 500 in Marrakech
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing