We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Jonan Par Excellence”
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #82 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I went my with work colleagues for a long weekend away. Never have we been somewhere where we were so relaxed. The staff, in particular the Manager, Hassan and his team, were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Even before we arrived I regularly emailed Hassan with questions and he always responded and made arrangements so we did not waste our time when we arrived from taxis to trips and dinner at the Riad on arrival. The Riad was described as budget accommodation but far exceeded our expectations, so much so that we would all go back again as a group and with our families. The roof terrace was a lovely place to relax and you would hardly know you were in a bustling city as it is a tranquil oasis. The dinner on arrival and breakfast were excellent and so was the home made yoghurt served at breakfast..The rooms were clean and well decorated and if you ask they will even provide a hairdryer. If you want to have a relaxing weekend with staff who really care this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keppemarrakech2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed three nights, our first trip to Morocco for all four of us (ourselves and two grown up children) and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Hassan and his staff were all incredibly helpful from start to finish. While savouring our welcoming cups of mint tea we were given a hand drawn map of all the nearby places to visit - mostly within 5 to 15 mins walk. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable, decorated and furnished in Moroccan style. The roof terrace with its loungers and pot plants was visited regularly and we particularly appreciated breakfast up there. A wide range of meals was available and we treated ourselves to a wonderful 3 course tagine based meal one night to save the hustle & bustle of the Djemaa el Fna. We can't recommend Riad Jonan too highly & will certainly stay there on our return, it just felt like home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveH44CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Took a short 3 night stay here, contacted Hassan before flying and booked our arrival meal as we didn't get it till late, our first taste of Moroccan food which was superb.The staff were very helpful and were also able to give great tips for getting around. The Riad was so peaceful and was a welcome break from the hectic Medina area, highly recommend breakfast on the roof terrace at this time of year its perfect. Thanks to Hassan's useful map and brief we were able to visit all the key places of interest which were within walking distance. Also enjoyed a Hammam at 5 Elements Spa just in the next street.

The Djemaa El Fna was an amazing place but you have to really have your wits about you as the locals really do hard sell which can be a bit off putting, definitely a great place for culture though and an ideal place to stay for a city break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights in February 2012. Never been to Marrakech before. A very exciting city but very chaotic & noisy so the Riad was an oasis to escape to. The rooms were lovely, clean and authentic, there were also other cosy areas in the riad to relax. The roof terrace was fantastic as was the food, we had a lovely dinner on our 1st night and a couple of late lunches, being able to buy a decent wine, was an added bonus.

We gather many riads don't have food, or drinks licences, nor a roof terrace to escape too and enjoy the sun in complete peace.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend the road Jonan.

Again Hassan and the staff were all very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A quiet haven in the midst of the hubbub of the medina. Words cannot explain the hospitality and conscientiousness of the staff. We stayed here for a week in Feb 2012 and had a wonderful time. Hassan and his staff are warm, friendly, unintrusive and always willing to help. The riad is decorated beautifully with handcrafted furniture and rugs. Our stay was made even more pleasant by the high standards of cleanliness and the delightful breakfast we received every morning on the roof terrace.

It is minutes away from the Saadian Tombs and a short walk away from the main square. I agree with all the positve reviews of this riad. I am glad I booked this riad, the map and advice received was invaluable. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip to the Atlas mountains and the meal on our first night was absolutely delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stayed in Ifrane and Meknes - no problems at all. Pre-book an airport transfer and set meal, it is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rashid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I can only agree with other reviews on this Riad. It is beautiful and comfortable and in a very good location ,also the staff are very helpful.Would stay again when next in Marrakech.PS it is a great city break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JERRY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a lovely Riad in a great location. The staff are extremely helpful and very welcoming! We were given a map with excellent directions to the Square, souks and local restaurants.

The rooms were lovely and clean and kept this way for the whole of our stay. I did have to pull out the extra duvet at night time even though all the rooms have a heating system. This was more down to the fact that it was unseasonably cold.

The breakfast here is a very pleasant experience with tea, coffee, fresh orange juice, yoghurt and prunes, breads and pastries, mushroom omelette or scrambled eggs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely consider staying here again when we come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trolleymolly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#148 of 502 in Marrakech
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#113 of 502 in Marrakech
321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing