We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in the midst of Interesting Organised Chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #71 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the midst of Interesting Organised Chaos”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Like many cities Marrakech is densely populated. There are plenty of sites to see. My wife and I stayed a week in late March, weather was hot and sometimes wet. The street scene is somewhat like an unending barbeque, just outside the Riad and moreso in the 'big square'. The small business people do try to sell their wares to you, but do not persist too much. The lasting memories will be the frantic life of the local people, both in the pursuit of their businesses and in their social needs. The 'herds' of mopeds, bycicles and people, punctuated with taxis. The street maintenance of taxis and other vehicles, and the street sellers of fruit and skewered meats etc., that leave no clear boundary between road and pedestrian traffic. Then the comparitive calm of Riad Jonan. It is a true oasis in the midst of an apparently chaotic world. The staff are very pleasant, only too willing to help. The Riad itself is tranquil, with rooms that are comfortable and air conditioned. Then there is the roof terrace. A place to relax and take some sun, perhaps with a drink that the staff will willingly run up to you. We ate in the Riad three times in the week and were always very satisfied. We also checked out two of the restaurants recommended by Hassan and went back to each a second time (Chegrouni about 150 MAD for 2 people and the Marrackchi about 700 MAD for 2 with wine).

All in all a very memorable and satifying stay.
Many thanks to Hassan and all the staff.
Roy & Sue from Hertfordshire.

Room Tip: Pay as much as you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    101
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
68
379
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
torremolinos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I can agree whole heartedly with jules from levens review only if staying at the riad try to avoid the ground floor as our room smelt a bit damp and also the toilet door doesnt close, good thing I was with a friend ive known for years !! Other than that I would recomend Riad Jonan staff are very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandaTorremolinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A haven of peace and tranquility amongst all the Marrakech madness. This is a lovely riad. The decor and space inside was all tastefully decorated and the terrace was roomy with plenty of beds and shade if needed. The staff were lovely and helpful and spoke good English, We stayed in the Zagora room for 3 nights. It was lovely. The breakfasts were fresh and tasty and the mint tea was very enjoyable. Don't expect to go swimming - it's tiny and really just a plunge pool.

We got a taxi from the airport and arrived at night. As soon as we got out of the taxi we were approached by 4 men offering to take us to the Riad which was literally 25metres away. We were disorientated when we arrived and went with the flow, If anyone take you anywhere they expect payment and everytime I saw the chap he reminded me. It was quite an experience walking along the Rue De Las Kasbah as there weren't many Europeans around. We were constantly harrassed and approached. Once you get used to this you will be fine and can enjoy the experience. We went to the tombs but they were pretty much a waste of time. I would recommend the spa that is right near the riad. It was lovely and very relaxing. It was our first trip to Marrakech - we wanted an adventure and we got one - I'm still unpacking tagines and spices I was persuaded into purchasing. Would love to go again but next time I'll stay nerarer the Medina. Even though it was only a short walk away it was exhausting crossing the busy roads and getting away from some of the street traders.

Room Tip: All quiet but the superior rooms are worth the extra. We went for standard which were fine but I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LevenJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I went my with work colleagues for a long weekend away. Never have we been somewhere where we were so relaxed. The staff, in particular the Manager, Hassan and his team, were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Even before we arrived I regularly emailed Hassan with questions and he always responded and made arrangements so we did not waste our time when we arrived from taxis to trips and dinner at the Riad on arrival. The Riad was described as budget accommodation but far exceeded our expectations, so much so that we would all go back again as a group and with our families. The roof terrace was a lovely place to relax and you would hardly know you were in a bustling city as it is a tranquil oasis. The dinner on arrival and breakfast were excellent and so was the home made yoghurt served at breakfast..The rooms were clean and well decorated and if you ask they will even provide a hairdryer. If you want to have a relaxing weekend with staff who really care this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keppemarrakech2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed three nights, our first trip to Morocco for all four of us (ourselves and two grown up children) and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Hassan and his staff were all incredibly helpful from start to finish. While savouring our welcoming cups of mint tea we were given a hand drawn map of all the nearby places to visit - mostly within 5 to 15 mins walk. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable, decorated and furnished in Moroccan style. The roof terrace with its loungers and pot plants was visited regularly and we particularly appreciated breakfast up there. A wide range of meals was available and we treated ourselves to a wonderful 3 course tagine based meal one night to save the hustle & bustle of the Djemaa el Fna. We can't recommend Riad Jonan too highly & will certainly stay there on our return, it just felt like home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH44CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Took a short 3 night stay here, contacted Hassan before flying and booked our arrival meal as we didn't get it till late, our first taste of Moroccan food which was superb.The staff were very helpful and were also able to give great tips for getting around. The Riad was so peaceful and was a welcome break from the hectic Medina area, highly recommend breakfast on the roof terrace at this time of year its perfect. Thanks to Hassan's useful map and brief we were able to visit all the key places of interest which were within walking distance. Also enjoyed a Hammam at 5 Elements Spa just in the next street.

The Djemaa El Fna was an amazing place but you have to really have your wits about you as the locals really do hard sell which can be a bit off putting, definitely a great place for culture though and an ideal place to stay for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights in February 2012. Never been to Marrakech before. A very exciting city but very chaotic & noisy so the Riad was an oasis to escape to. The rooms were lovely, clean and authentic, there were also other cosy areas in the riad to relax. The roof terrace was fantastic as was the food, we had a lovely dinner on our 1st night and a couple of late lunches, being able to buy a decent wine, was an added bonus.

We gather many riads don't have food, or drinks licences, nor a roof terrace to escape too and enjoy the sun in complete peace.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend the road Jonan.

Again Hassan and the staff were all very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#73 of 494 in Marrakech
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 494 in Marrakech
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#93 of 494 in Marrakech
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#86 of 494 in Marrakech
526 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#64 of 494 in Marrakech
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#48 of 494 in Marrakech
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing