We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Jonan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riad Alma(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad el Noujoum(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Hayane(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Almaha Marrakech(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Maryam(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Riad Dar Karma(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Awinati(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Hikaya(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Zinnia(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Makassar(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
555
108
18
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
108
18
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlas mountainsroof terracerue de lamanager hassanthe main squaresaadian tombsmint teasun hatsjewish quarterdeluxe roomday tripyogurttraditional moroccan stylethe ground floorfantastic staycouscousfour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Beautiful, quiet and central riad with amazingly helpful and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble, all recommendations they offered were superb, and there's a delicious breakfast to start every day. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamboks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Riad Jonan is a beautiful small authentic place to stay if you what to stay within the walls of the Medina close to centre & only 10 to 15 minutes walk from the souks. My husband & I stayed here last week and we found this to be the most helpful hotel we have ever stayed in. The service was excellent as was the deluxe room, the roof terrace and the breakfasts. We would highly recommend it. Hassan the hotel manager booked trips to the Atlas Mountains for us (£80 between up to 4 people) with a car and guide and an authentic hammam both of which were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for him or any of the staff which made our stay in Marrakech all the more enjoyable. We would recommend a visit to the Majorelle gardens which were beautiful and just like a quiet oasis among the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Fay & Phil, Cardiff

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Fay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

was my first time in marrakech and didn't know what to expect from staying in a riad. the staff were brilliant, nothing seemed too much for them. they were really helpful and gave us directions on best places to go and organised all of our excursions. the room was amazing and clean, beds were very comfortable and bathroom was lovely.the breakfast was lovely and you could tell everything was made in house which is a nice touch. would highly recommend this riad and would defo stay again on my next visit to marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pohsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I arrived with my mother and we were allocated a 1st floor room. They noticed that mum had difficulty going up the stairs and kindly offered a ground floor room without me having to request it! Came back and they had moved all our stuff! Service going the extra mile!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank girlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Arrival
Once you arrive at the airport, you are not over whelmed by thousands of people which is a good start!
There is a money exchange by baggage collection that offers a good rate, so you can change enough and a bit more to get you by.
Transfer into the centre is only 15minutes away, depending on where your Riad is situated. Our Riad was in the Kasbah area which was 15 minutes away.
Be prepared to driver down some narrow roads and dodge bikes and horses!

Riad
On arrival to the Riad Jonan we were met with Mint tea and pastries whilst our room was being cleaned, at this time we were given a map and information on finding our way around which was very informative. The rooms we were in were Zagora and Saffron. They were very very clean and comfortable, Saffron is a double room but very small for two people and no fridge, Zagora has ample room for two people with a fridge, stocked with cold drinks which you will be charged for on departure. Both rooms have hair dryers. We slept very very well the whole time we were there, just a small note some guests can be inconsiderate and talking at the top of their voices on their way down from the terrace and decide to stop outside our room having a full blown loud conversation!!
Breakfast is between 8.30 and 10.00am. You have choices of omelette, scrambled eggs, fruit salad, prunes all of which comes with fresh pastry, toast tea or fresh coffee and all of the food is so wonderfully fresh.
We ate in the Riad often, if you opt for an evening meal the cous cous is enough to feed about 4 people and that was just one portion, again so fresh and organic and worth every penny. They also sell wine in half bottles of full bottles and that was very palatable and lovely on the roof terrace!
The roof terrace has about 8 sun beds with umbrellas, sun hat and towel all of which were very very clean. There is also a comfy tent area on the terrace which was nice of a night.
One negative note about the terrace is my fiancée sat on a plastic garden chair which broke in pieces with him in it, he was very lucky his ipad did not smash or he did not have a hot drink, we mentioned it to a member of staff who said that it was broke before, so it would appear it was repaired and put back there so sit with caution as this could have been very dangerous and I would have liked a little more empathy from the staff? Other than that the staff were faultless and nothing was too much trouble at all.
Each time your purchase Food / drink at the Riad you don’t have to pay until your departure, however we choose to pay as you go which was not an issue there either.
We would defiantly come back to this Riad it really is a pleasure to come back to from the mayhem outside and so relaxing and really faultless, almost home from home and so much effort made with us as guests.

Out and about
As you come out of the Riad and turn left about 300 yards on your left is a money exchange, this is next to the small indoor market / shop no commission and good rates. Opposite the tombs is a small coffee bar which is nice anytime of the day, however the staff are not friendly and will make a snide remark when no French is spoken!!
All of the attractions are very very cheap on entrance fees. We spoke to a few people regarding the Atlas Mountain trip and most said it was average, I don’t think you would miss much by not going but personal choice.
The main square you have must see once in the day and once in the night, for us that was enough. The reason being it is very very crowded and did not like to see the way the poor monkeys were handled, we ate at NO1 food stall, just check the food is cooked all the way through, we ordered chicken on skewers and had to send it back as it was roar in the middle!! Very cheap however,
We really could go on and on about Marrakech, overall we enjoyed our stay and preferred it here to Istanbul.
Take a compass to the Souks as you really do get lost and it can feel very claustrophobic and quite frightening, also take lots of patience for the constant pestering!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eamespaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews