We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location and increadible staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Mille et une Nuits
Ranked #617 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2012

we had reserved a simple double room with two beds, and they had availability of two wonderful suites, so they gave us the two suites, one for each, for the price of one double room!!! We had a wonderful time and the location is perfect, right next to the souks and a market where you will find no tourists, just natives. The staff fulfilled all our special wishes, with no extra costs and always with a smile and great sense of hospitality! We will surely repeat!!!

Room Tip: The suites are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Riad is just off a main road toward the top of the souks in the medina. Once you get over the initial confusion of where you are it's very easy to get to the square through the souks, about 5 min walk. Very pretty with the most amazing beds. We stayed in the twin which was nice but if you are in a couple the bedroom with a double bed on the ground floor is stunning with a giant bed that looks a bit like a boat. Jamilla who looks after the place is really lovely, it would probably help to speak French here but both myself and my mum are rubbish at french and still got by fine. Breakfast is lovely on a gorgeous little terrace. We didn't see the manager, Laurence during the 5 days we were there but her husband Karim did pop by. He recommended a lovely locals restaurant in the new town which we ate in. Plastic chairs in the street and proper local food, the food and taxi all in cost around £10 for 2 people. They offered us a tour of the tanneries at around £60 for a half day, we thought it was pricey so we got a taxi in the street and paid £10 for the whole experience which included the taxi waiting for us and taking us back to the square and a guide we picked up outside the tannery with generous tips. Maybe their tour had more to offer but it's a big difference in price. They offered to cook us dinner in the riad which was a very reasonable cost but we wanted to venture out so didn't do it. The mint tea they make is amazing and the place is spotless.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiScott32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was quite taken aback by the friendliness, courtesy and knowledge of staff, also their willingness to impart that information. The Riad was spotlessly clean and comfortable and fantastically decorated.Once shown to my room I was ushered to the 4th floor and treated with a pot of Mint Tea. Fantastic! And the hospitality didn't stop there. You are within striking distance, on foot, of the main square. Snake charmers by day and fantastic, yet inexpensive food at night. I recommend food stall 117! I shall return to Morocco and will certainly stay at this Riad again. Many thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at the riad on family holiday in Nov 2009. We had a great time in Marrakech and Laurence and her husband as well as Fatima and Fatima made every effort to look after us. In fact on the holiday it was also my birthday. We came back from a walk on our final day to find they had arranged a cake and tea to mark the occasion.

The riad was beautiful with each room individually styled. It wasn't the cheapest riad available and at times we were short of hot water, but on the whole it was a great riad with excellent service!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenie_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

After a longish flight and an entertaining (terrifying) taxi ride we arrived to be greeted by staff offering us very tasty mint tea. Our room was not ready when we arrived but the owner got it sorted quickly. The room was really lovely in design, the bed extremely comfortable, the room spacious and with aircon that just about worked. The bathroom was very nice, the shower good, there is always hot water unless you have a very long shower, but the bath is made of concrete with a marble floor, and is suffering with damp and mould. When the curtains are closed the room goes very dark, which with the aircon and comfy bed resulted in much good sleep which is very welcome.

We did pay a little extra for a suite, but in reality we got a normal hotel room with no extra space and with no real extra's at all - in essence a basic hotel room. We should have just booked a normal room as the suite doesn't exactly have chocolate's on your pillow. The Riad in appearance is very well maintained, but after a day or two you do sort of scratch you head and wonder what exactly you are paying for and the price is about as high as it could be before becoming annoying. You're basically paying for a nice bed and a bit of floor space. Still, it does look nice.

One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was that we imagined it may be too hot to do much in the middle of the afternoon's, and this traditional riad could meet our needs with it's sun terrace which included sun loungers. Well, basically, this is a complete mistruth. There is a small terrace but it's still being built (interesting to watch during breakfast actually...) and there are no sun loungers and no space for sun loungers so I don't see that changing soon. It's nice, it's just not a place to sit and relax with a good book when avoiding the madness outside when the temperature is soaring. We spent a bit of time having a siesta in our room but the building work on the terrace interrupted this.

When we left the Riad we came to pay and the cost was higher than we expected, owing to an exchange rate in the favour of the hotel. We booked through a website so read the small print and check that the price in MAD matches the exchange rate for sterling - or book through a well-known agent that you trust. Niaive of us perhaps, but still irritating.

The staff were very nice and attentive, very friendly, tried to use English or communicate with us - our French is poor. They certainly cannot be faulted in their efforts to make us welcome. Breakfast was great, just what we needed, European style with delicious coffee. They offered us excursions and taxi's but they were not open to negotiation on price and so we haggled in the city with great success. The Riad prices were not extortionate but it's worth shopping around.

If you want to find the madness of the main square and souk then this riad is a tem-minute walk from there - easy to reach but just far enough away to feel like you are out of the main hustle and bustle. That is probably its best feature along with the good night's sleep you will get.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightonfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

After a good deal of research we settled on this Riad for our weeks stay in Marrakech. We chose it because of its location, the description of the accommodation and the ambiance it appeared to portray. Big mistake! We were met at the airport and had a smooth trip into the Medina. The Riad was only a few minutes from the road so it was not far to walk with luggage. On arrival we were greeted by mother and daughter. So up until this point all seemed well. However, once inside,we found the Riad to be very badly lit and dim. We were in the 'Sherazade Suite' which in fact was a small; double. The room was so badly lit that we could not see to work the remote control for the tv. and any chance of refreshing ones make-up was impossible! The bathroom was a good size but there was black mould on the concrete walls. As it was mid evening we decided to go straight out only to find that the square was a good 25 minutes walk. On our return we had to pass several groups of men gathered in doorways which was a bit unnerving The next morning we could not open the curtains on the bedroom window as the window directly overlooked the public area. Breakfast was served on the terrace which was a small tired looking area consisting of a few tables and two sunbeds and the only view was of the neighbouring buildings - really not pleasant. At this point we decided to relocate to a hotel outside the Medina (incidently this was 5 star and cost the same!) When we announced our intention to move, the daughter called in Laurence who spoke perfect english. We had paid for our week in advance through Booking.com and although we did not expect a refund we did feel that an agreement could be reached. Laurence informed us Booking.Com
would not allow cancellations. We did infact ring Bookng.com ourselves who advised that this was not the case. On relaying this information to Laurence she rang the 'owner' who flatly refused to refund us any monies. She did however refund us the commission that Booking.com would have taken. Laurence led us to believe that she was the manager but on reading other reviews on this site, she is described as the owners wife! I will say that she appeared to try really hard to help us but was very conscious that we were going to write a negative review. To sum up - we paid 537 euros for l nights stay in what we would describe as poor accommodation.
On the good side we spent an excellent 6 nights in a hotel just outside the Medina (which was still only 20 minutes walk into the square). There are some lovely restaurants in the new town offering very good Moroccan wines!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sylvia023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We booked the riad trough a booking site, after a few weeks I got an e-mail from Laurence the riad owner with the offer to pick me up at the airport.

When we arrived in Marrakech the cab driver was welcoming us at the airport. He brought us to the riad where Laurence and his wife welcomed us very friendly!

If you decide to go here I do advice you to take the taxi offer they charge you 200 dirham which is about 18 euro. If you do a lot of bargaining on the airport of course you can get it a bit cheaper but you never know where they take you... It is also pretty hard to find if you come to the Riad for the first time.

Laurence and his wife do talk very good French and English. On our first evening we had a dinner on the roof terace. The dinner was ok... not very spectacular but the quality was good, price a bit high for (24 euro's for tomato salad / chicken tagine / fruit salad)
The breakfast was good with every day freshly squeezed orange juice and pancakes.
The rooms clean and clean towels every day!
Staff very helpfull and freindly

For everybody who decide's to go here...a good stay can be expected

Thanks team of the Mille et une Nuits !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joostdevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Ftouma
Riad Dar Ftouma
#237 of 501 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#87 of 501 in Marrakech
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Cannelle
Riad Cannelle
#340 of 1,165 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Habib
Riad Habib
#57 of 297 in Marrakech
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#319 of 1,165 in Marrakech
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mille et une Nuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mille et une Nuits

Address: 53 derb toudgha | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £45 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mille et une Nuits 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PresentationRiad Thousand and One Nights, a traditional riad in the heart of the medina, the historic center of Marrakech.You will discover a discreet and elegant place, where everything has been designed for you and your well-being. Hospitality and modern comfort await you in this former private home to make your stay surrounded by restfulness and refinement The whole team wishes you the Welcome at our Riad.Staying at Riad Thousand and One Nights, is the beginning of an enchanting journey to the east. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Mille et une Nuits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mille Et Une Nuits Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing