We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do group tours from here”
Review of Riad les Oliviers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad les Oliviers
Ranked #293 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The riad is good value for money, with very friendly reception and kitchen staff, located in a quiet area of the medina. HOWEVER Don’t trust the first price quote on any group tours promoted by riad staff, do a cross check it with other dealers in the Medina. We overpaid heavily compared to other people from different riads (up to 3x as much) for the same trip (2 nights,3 days trip to desert in Merzouga). In my eyes this was a complete betrayal of the good faith of customers. The manager of this riad failed to do anything about this when I flagged my concerns.

Room Tip: stay away from ground floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Riad les Oliviers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you want basic this is the guest house for you. If you want luxury go to one of the many 5 star hotels in the new part of the city. I would definitely recommend one night here to get a flavour of real Marrakesh. This riad is interesting and traditional but comfort and food is only average. Great location for getting to the souks but these days I like more sophisticated surroundings. So would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Price is really good, staff is awesome and the ryad is really comfortable and beautiful. Food is delicious and the owner is a very kind person that takes the time to explain you the city and give you some recommendations in your stay. It was a great experience because in such a loud city this is a piece of silence :)

Room Tip: The rroom in the top is nice :)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayuri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Nice and quiet riad, friendly staff and great roof top terrace for breakfast and sun bathing. The rooms have cold and hot water and the wifi is working very well. The staff can prepare lighter meals and drinks, including lovely mint tea. The riad is located near Bahia Palace, which makes a walk of roughly 15 minutes to the centre around Djema El-Fna. Also, the riad is on a smaller street which can be dark to walk down during the evening and night. However the neighbourhood appeared friendly and safe.

Room Tip: As rooms are indivudially decorated, ask the manager to see different rooms before you choose one.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

- The personal at this Riad was pretty helpful and informative, but it was rather annoying that we always had to press the doorbell n order tog get inside, when returning form trips to the city.
Furthermore, the aircondition leaked on the floor and there was cracks everywhere on the walls in the room. We either didn't always like the bread served at breakfast, that often seemed to be one or two days old.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astralbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

As always reading the reviews before we left I started to get really apprehensive and panicked about the riad. But oh my goodness, please ignore everyone. To sum up this place, it is a B&B in Morocco. It is a not a hotel, it is a riad. That's why the facilities are limited but what can you expect for £180 for a week? It is 100% immaculate, the rooms are spotless and the beds are comfortable. Clean towels are provided every day and the air conditioning is a god send when you come in from the 45 degree heat. Breakfast varies each morning but is mainly fresh crepes, fruits and jams. This is included in your stay so why people are complaining I have no idea!! It is in a really safe and convenient location- right next to the Bahia Palace. I would not want to stay in the main square, it is quite noisy and didn't feel particularly safe. However the riad is only a 3 minute walk away and is safely locked away from the craziness. There is a taxi rank near the riad- this is the way to get around! Barter with the drivers to take you to the Atlas Mountains, waterfalls, seaside and even round the medina. The riad does offer trips (as does the welcome guy who is definitely not as cheap as the drivers) but the drivers are the best choice. There are lots of cheap and delicious restaurants near to the riad. Also there is a comfy TV room and lovely terrace to relax in the evening if you wish. Definitely recommend this place to anyone! If you want a hotel, go to a hotel. If you want a cheap room with basics, this is it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blondey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The best part of the riad was the lovely and spacious roof terrace. A kitten and it's mother were living up in the terrace providing us with the only source of entertainment available within the riad. To be honest there was absolutely nothing to do so I would recommend staying out for as long as you possibly can, however this is unbelievably easy as there is so much to see in the nearby Jemal D Fna etc.
I hated coming back to the riad late at night which felt like coming home to your mum as you had to ring the door bell and was a bit too intimate!
The beds weren't very comfortable and I think the bed linen needs to be updated!
The staff were lovely and very friendly, providing us with loads of information, maps etc.
I would recommend Riad Des Olivers to couples, not families. Location is a major factor, very central and yet not loud at all.
In my opinion it felt in a way that you were staying in the slums of Marrakesh, unlike when visiting them in other places, I was staying in them. This is definitely why 2 nights is enough! We spent the third night in a hotel with a swimming pool which was more like having a holiday! The riad made me realize that when on holiday, I like having more luxury than I have at home. This is my view... I recommend trying the riad for yourself to see what you think!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaye94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#129 of 501 in Marrakech
339 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#393 of 501 in Marrakech
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#258 of 501 in Marrakech
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#236 of 501 in Marrakech
97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#243 of 501 in Marrakech
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#223 of 501 in Marrakech
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Oliviers

Address: 47-48, rue de la Bahia | Quartier Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £30 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Oliviers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad of this ancient olive trees remains one of the most prestigious families of Marrakech Riad olive trees. With an area of ​​1500 m2, is located in the famous quatier the Bahia Palace . Riad Les Oliviers is divided into two parts : the Royal Suite , a large and beautiful old house that belonged to a notable of the Medina and has been transformed into a charming hotel ,Riad des Oliviers has been carefully restored , furnished rooms , furnished and decorated while respecting the authenticity and originality of the place , cedar wood ceiling period . For lovers of idleness and sunshine , possibility of sunbathing on the terraces overlooking the snowy peaks of the Atlas and thousands of palms of Marrakech.Riad The Oliviers offers 17 rooms overlooking the patio , 1 royal suite of 60m2 with a large private lounge, bathroom, a Moroccan lounge and another lounge tadallakt . Possibility to have breakfast where the customer wants . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad les Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Oliviers Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing