We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful staff and nice ambience”
Review of Riad Amssaffah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Amssaffah
Ranked #473 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, very helpful staff and nice ambience”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a traditional room on the top floor overlooking the courtyard. At first sight we were a little disappointed, but the room grew on you and the traditional furnishings, tho' a little tired, were charming. Fatima and her team were very helpful and friendly - and seemed to be permanently cleaning! The public areas were traditional but could have been a bit more comfortable - and would have been nice if the lighting was upgraded and the heaters kept on in the colder weather. We ate there on our first evening and were not disappointed with the Morrocan soup and chicken tagine, washed down with some acceptable beer and all reasonably priced. Location is grand - you are straight into the hustle and bustle of the Medina and only 15 mins or so from the "big square", yet indoors you would never know that as very quiet and tranquil. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diningqueen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    102
    65
    40
    106
See reviews for
48
178
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We just came back from a stay at Riad Amssaffah and what a great find!
The staff were so genuine and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
Our bedroom was very traditional and made our holiday that bit more special.
The bed is the most comforable bed we have ever slept in.
Fatima and the team put some hospitality professionals in this country to shame!
We will definitely return, but will book direct this time and not through rip-off merchants Thomas Cook.
Can't wait to stay here again. Thankyou for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great staff here, always smiling and willing to help.
My room was a little dirty, no heating (I was freezing in December!)....My toilet was broken.
Rooms need updating and cleaning...
Location is great, although I did feel unsafe at times walking around.
Thank you to the staff, they were brilliant.

Room Tip: Great location, great staff....Be careful walking around, especially at night. I felt unsafe. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

ok the rooms and the place need updating but the staff and the location is first rate and at the end of the day, isn't that what really matters? Ok the rooms too, but they were big enough but a little basic but this reflected in the costs being charged.
Fatima and her staff are always willing to help and advise and you are a 10 minute walk from the main square and yes there are better riads, but a lot more cost too. But in a way for us that added to the charm of the place. Yes it could do with a touch up and a bit of TLC but from what we saw of the other riads, this place had the character.
I would probably forgoe the dinner in the evening at the riad as plenty of places nearby and cheaper but breakfast, whilst not 5 star, was certainly filling and included in the price we paid. Not sure about the 16 dirhams each for tax though?
All in all for the cost (£165) for 5 nights ( inc. flights from England) and a great location, it gave us no room for complaint but if you are looking for 5 star luxury this is not for you. But if you want value for money in a short holiday to Marrakech with great location and indeed an interesting riad...this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the trip to the pharmacy next door if you want to save time and beware anybody offering to hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sboydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a nice Riad, fresh tangerine juice of a morning, helpful staff, but spoilt by the fact that some lights are not working, bedside lamps in room not operational. We also had one morning at around about 6am a very noisy bunch of French tourist who decided to talk at the top of their voices while at breakfast.

The Riad is ideally situated to get to the market and other sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec7228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

wonderful,property,BUT the present management are trying to run it too cheaply,ie only two out of six lights per chandelier working is not good management,nasty orange juice for breakfast when. marrakech has so many fresh oranges available. Staff all charming but quite untrained. Overall it needs better direction and management and an accurate hand drawn map would be of great value.
We enjoyed it very much but could not reccomend it to,others.

Room Tip: Tip-- you need to hand in your key each day to receive service ,no one tells you this
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel then forget this Riad, but if you are looking for a traditional Morrocan guest house ideally situated 10 minutes from the souk and 20 minutes from the main square with fantastic hostess in Fatima and most helpful staff who can't do enough for you then great
The rooms are very basic subdued lighting big bed great shower that's about it
The breakfast is very basic but enjoyable the menu for the rest is limited but delicious
If you are looking for an oasis in the midst of the chaos this is the place to stay
for a true morocco experience
They also serve lager and wine which not all riads do

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.2 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#275 of 500 in Marrakech
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#297 of 500 in Marrakech
106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#374 of 500 in Marrakech
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#434 of 500 in Marrakech
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#132 of 500 in Marrakech
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#39 of 500 in Marrakech
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amssaffah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amssaffah

Property: Riad Amssaffah
Address: Bab Taghzout Diour Saboun Amssafah,, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #473 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amssaffah 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Amssaffah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amssaffah Marrakech
Riad Amssaffah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing