We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm”
Review of Riad Amssaffah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Amssaffah
Ranked #471 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Thessaloniki
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The riad is right in the midst of the medina. We had to walk for 5 minutes as a car cannot get down the narrows alleys. Once inside the riad all the noise and hustle and bustle is forgotten. Our room was on the top floor, it was quite big with a four poster bed, and big bathroom. Most days we had to ask for towels or toilet paper. On our last day we actually had both without asking! The riad is definately not 5*, but it does grow on you. The breakfast was fine, plenty of fresh bread, eggs, jam etc and lovely pancakes and orange juice.
We went on trips to the Essaouira and the mountains, both good. Walked and ate in the square most nights, but tried to get back before souks shut. BEWARE of people offering to show you the way as they get you lost, then ask for money. Fatima will give you a map and advice.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    102
    65
    40
    106
See reviews for
48
178
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. In the heart of the Medina. Fatima and her Very helpful staff made us really welcome. Highly recommended although this not a 5* Riad it is excellent value. Great food/restaurants nearby. There is a "doughnut" maker by the arch entrance that must be tried!
J&D

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank joncull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a traditional room on the top floor overlooking the courtyard. At first sight we were a little disappointed, but the room grew on you and the traditional furnishings, tho' a little tired, were charming. Fatima and her team were very helpful and friendly - and seemed to be permanently cleaning! The public areas were traditional but could have been a bit more comfortable - and would have been nice if the lighting was upgraded and the heaters kept on in the colder weather. We ate there on our first evening and were not disappointed with the Morrocan soup and chicken tagine, washed down with some acceptable beer and all reasonably priced. Location is grand - you are straight into the hustle and bustle of the Medina and only 15 mins or so from the "big square", yet indoors you would never know that as very quiet and tranquil. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diningqueen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We just came back from a stay at Riad Amssaffah and what a great find!
The staff were so genuine and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
Our bedroom was very traditional and made our holiday that bit more special.
The bed is the most comforable bed we have ever slept in.
Fatima and the team put some hospitality professionals in this country to shame!
We will definitely return, but will book direct this time and not through rip-off merchants Thomas Cook.
Can't wait to stay here again. Thankyou for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great staff here, always smiling and willing to help.
My room was a little dirty, no heating (I was freezing in December!)....My toilet was broken.
Rooms need updating and cleaning...
Location is great, although I did feel unsafe at times walking around.
Thank you to the staff, they were brilliant.

Room Tip: Great location, great staff....Be careful walking around, especially at night. I felt unsafe. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

ok the rooms and the place need updating but the staff and the location is first rate and at the end of the day, isn't that what really matters? Ok the rooms too, but they were big enough but a little basic but this reflected in the costs being charged.
Fatima and her staff are always willing to help and advise and you are a 10 minute walk from the main square and yes there are better riads, but a lot more cost too. But in a way for us that added to the charm of the place. Yes it could do with a touch up and a bit of TLC but from what we saw of the other riads, this place had the character.
I would probably forgoe the dinner in the evening at the riad as plenty of places nearby and cheaper but breakfast, whilst not 5 star, was certainly filling and included in the price we paid. Not sure about the 16 dirhams each for tax though?
All in all for the cost (£165) for 5 nights ( inc. flights from England) and a great location, it gave us no room for complaint but if you are looking for 5 star luxury this is not for you. But if you want value for money in a short holiday to Marrakech with great location and indeed an interesting riad...this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the trip to the pharmacy next door if you want to save time and beware anybody offering to hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sboydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a nice Riad, fresh tangerine juice of a morning, helpful staff, but spoilt by the fact that some lights are not working, bedside lamps in room not operational. We also had one morning at around about 6am a very noisy bunch of French tourist who decided to talk at the top of their voices while at breakfast.

The Riad is ideally situated to get to the market and other sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec7228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,146 in Marrakech
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#100 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
11.8 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amssaffah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amssaffah

Property: Riad Amssaffah
Address: Bab Taghzout Diour Saboun Amssafah,, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amssaffah 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Amssaffah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amssaffah Marrakech
Riad Amssaffah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing