We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
Ranked #323 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Very characterful hotel! Rich in colour and style ..in a twin room we had a double and single fourposter bed with lacy drapes and hand-painted Moroccan furniture, slightly overdressed but very exotic.
We used this as a base for a week in Marrakech. The location is in a relatively quiet street, in the 1930's new town area. The Medina easy to reach, walking, or on the local bus (No 1) or by taxi, though we never needed one, there were plenty available. The Majorelle Gardens (designed for Yves St Laurent) are 10 mins walk away too. Local shops ranging from boutiques to sell everything corner shops, indoor market, restaurants and bars etc all a few minutes away.

We stayed here on a half board basis - thinking we would eat out on several evenings - we ate out only once. The 5 course evening meal was excellent, and the chef went to great lengths to cater for my friend's gluten free,coeliac diet.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and relaxed enough to make the welcome genuine, making it a place you want to go back to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    264
    111
    51
    27
See reviews for
87
231
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for a week over Christmas. The hotel is decorated throughout in the style of 1001 Arabian nights with painted wood and wrought iron everywhere you look. It is slightly tired looking in places however and would benefit from some TLC in certain areas to freshen it up.

We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room had a double and single four poster bed with drapes. The bathroom and plumbing worked fine and the chambermaids did a good job everyday. The lighting in the room wasn't very good and lack of a bedside light made it impossible to read in the single bed. We could also have done with more space to lay stuff out but we managed ok with the storage there was. The TV worked fine and the BBC news channel was very welcome.

Breakfast was served on the roof and was a help yourself unlimited buffet operation with a good selection of the usual stuff plus eggs and omelettes cooked to order from a griddle by the staff.

We had dinner the first night and the cost was 159 dhirams for 5 courses. The food was ok but I wouldn't recommend it for every night as there are plenty of interesting places nearby to eat at similar or cheaper prices.

We liked the location of the hotel. It was easy to get to the main square by taking the No 1 bus which only cost 4 dhirams per trip (pay the driver as you get on). We didn't use the Hamam or the pool so can't comment on those. The Majorelle Gardens is only a short walk away and is a must see for Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a twin room as it was the joining point for our Intrepid trip. The decor in the foyer is amazing. Breakfast was convenient on the rooftop terrace offering quite a selection. We took advantage of visiting the hammam on the lower floor which was a treat (catch the lift down). It is not in the Medina but cafes are within walking distance and there is a taxi rank in the same street. There is a corner store for snacks and water opposite the hotel and there are ATMs on the main street just a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pendooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Good to stay in this hotel but limited amount to do in Marrakech and merciless hassle from street sellers. Hotel in great location for central Marrakech but has few frills. Very freindly helpful staff

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My friend and I stayed here from 3-7th December and I can't fault it. Our room was lovely and the food was fantastic ( I can highly recommend booking half board ) This was my second time to Marrakech and I much prefer this hotel to where I stayed last time. I would definately stay here again. Being in Gueliz, it's away from the hustle and bustle of the medina but only 30 dirhams in a cab to get to the square. It doesn't claim to be a 5 star but for somewhere nice to stay with good food, I would highly recommend it! I will be going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lougardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The rooms are very basic and the beds and pillows are awful. Most of the staff are polite but some were very unhelpful. The breakfast was disgusting if you an call it breakfast. I certainly wouldn't recommend it only to someone I didn't like. I run my own place in Holland and this hotel is no where near three star.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardnienhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel is very basic, but you get what you pay for. It is beautifully decorated throughout, typically Moroccan. The star of the show in this hotel are definitely the staff! They are the best, they go out their way to make you feel welcome. The TV didn't work but why would you want to watch TV when there is so much to do. The breakfast was typically moroccan too, fresh fruit, bread and pastries, and a guy in the corner making as many omelettes as you can eat! You can have a Hammam and a massage, we both had the massage which was brilliant. I (Damon) found myself dribbling saliva from my mouth it was so relaxing. All in all, room wise, you can get better at Richard Bransons but it will cost you an awful lot more, and I doubt he has such brilliant staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamonSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#406 of 501 in Marrakech
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#399 of 501 in Marrakech
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#131 of 501 in Marrakech
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#431 of 501 in Marrakech
105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#374 of 501 in Marrakech
93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#204 of 501 in Marrakech
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Property: Moroccan House Hotel
Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing