We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2* not a 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
Ranked #326 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 6 October 2010

hotel needs to regrade - basic, upgarded to senior suite and that was a joke.bathroom was awful, cupboard doors were falling off.
stair carpets were lethal,and the breakfast area - i have no words for.
went out to for breakfast after the first day.
evening meal was o.k.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

If you are looking for value, you really must consider this. The bedrooms are exotically furnished and the public rooms have a really ethnic feel. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful. Most speak very good English. Breakfast is substantial but the rather limited choice is more than compensated by the rooftop location. Facilities are limited to a swimming pool, with a few sun loungers and umbrellas. The hotel is a fair distance from the Medina, but only a 5 minute stroll to the starting point for the tourist buses and a wide choice of restaurants and cafes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

excellent value for money. if you are on a budget this is the place to stay. staff very friendly and food is excellent. only 20 minute walk to the souks and main street full of shops just around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncan4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Choose this hotel after reading great reviewes about it. and i just wanted to add another one to it.
If you are on a limited budget want a nice decent place in a good location of the city, with great staff and service and decent facilities - Just go for it.
Thank you of all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Returned thismorning from a 4 night break in Marrakesh and it was fantastic! Temp was 120 degrees (45 in english!) when we left, which was a little too warm to be comfortable. On arrival at the Moroccan House Hotel we were warmly greeted - all the staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is 'dry' (no alcohol) so we walked to the local supermarket. Despite so many reassurances that it was only 10 minutes walk away, after about 45 we eventually found it (only to discover that you can't get a bottle of wine after about 6pm!). We eventually got some the following day thankfully!!
Prior to going we had booked the hot air balloon flight and camel ride with Marrakech by Air (thanks to this site) which was absolutely fantastic. It was an amazing experience and one which I shall never forget. We also did a guided trip to the gardens, which were lovely (well, the 'Gardens Majorelle' were - the others weren't anything special).
But the most amazing thing was the Souks in central square! There were hundreds of stalls and it was an amazing sight! It is nowhere as dangerous as you imagine or hear - I felt totally safe in there. You do not get hassled by people (like you do in Turkey), but if you stop and show an interest in what they are selling, then the stallholder will come and talk to you and try to sell it to you. That is where the fun begins, with the haggling!! Whatever they want for the item, halve it and offer that, and then its just a process as to what you will both agree on. If you walk away, they may possible follow you, but that is because they are usually accepting the offer you made them. Be wary of taking photos of the snake charmers and the local people because they will try to charge you for doing so, but if you go to one of the bars and sit upstairs, you can take as many photos as you like. There are some women and children who will just come up to you and ask for money, but if you say 'no' and don't make eye contact, they will move on to someone else.
Back to the hotel - the pool is very small, but sufficient, and you tend to lose the sun after a couple of hours, but it is still really warm. When you go for dinner, you will be sat at a table for 4, and another couple will join you. This is a fantastic way of meeting the other people in the hotel. We met some fabulous friends this way and it is such a sociable idea. If the others have been there longer than you, then they are invaluable with advice, and vice versa.
I'm sure there is loads that I've missed out here, but I shall try to add to it as I remember!! All in all a fantastic experience that I wouldn't have missed for the world!

1  Thank helsbelsplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed for three nights at the Morrocan House in Marrakech which in my opinion is just about right. A day longer and the "sights" have been exhausted and the harrassing tedious. As far as the hotel is concerned, we were very happy with it. Circa £50 per night. The rooms was clean and fresh towels/sheets changed everyday.

The negative's - only a couple. The breakfast was disappointing. - a lot of cakes, etc. Call me old fashioned but there's a time and a place for cakes! The pancakes also ran out generally before we rose at 9.30 and were never replenished. Enough coffee and tea though which was nice.

If youre looking for alcohol and late night entertainment, the hotel is in a great location (bear in mind there are very limited places to buy alcohol in the Medina, if not any at all!) so it's perfect for a nightcap on the way back/way out to/from Jemma el Fna or after a night's entertainment. Best places for beer/wine/cocktails are The Chesterfield Pub (on the first floor of the Nassim Hotel just around the corner on Moh. V Ave), The Rooftop Bar of the Renaissance Hotel - amazing but expensive drinks (£6 for a glass of red wine), the Cafe Atlas for late afternoon beers with the locals is also okay, The Lounge restaurant/club - again, all close together around the same junction - 2 mins walk from the hotel.



I agree with another review - the swimming pool always looked a bit murky so we didnt risk it but don't let that put you off. Staff generally friendly but I think we upset the night watchman who three nights running had to let us in (the last to bed as always!) at 1.30 - 2.00am. No problem though. Check-out is 12 noon which is great.

Taxi to from airport is pretty much set at 100 DHM per car (£7.50) - you may get it a bit lower. Taxi to Jemma el Fna (5 mins away) is 20 DHM maximum (£1.50) and well worth it rather than the 1.5 mile walk in 40+ degree heat.

Try a hamman at the Sultana hotel near to the tombs - awesome £30 each)

All in all, a perfect stay for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Highly recommended hotel giving you a taste off old Morrocco. Definitely go downstairs for a hammam and massage but ladies you have been warned, they go everywhere but worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonv07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#126 of 500 in Marrakech
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#297 of 500 in Marrakech
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#167 of 500 in Marrakech
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#286 of 500 in Marrakech
159 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#258 of 500 in Marrakech
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#150 of 500 in Marrakech
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £27 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing