We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For £33 b&b it was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
Ranked #330 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 17 November 2010

It is clean, nice staff, decor totally OTT, ( brought a smile to our face) rooms ( junior suite) loads of hot water, beds ok, pillows need hammering into shape, then ok. Didn't use fridge or safe, swimming pool or hammam -others said they were fine, no sun at pool in afternoon.
only had breakfast, not as bad as some reviews to our mind, better juice,fresh fruit, less cake would improve it. The frittatas was good and we filled up with bread, honey, cereal toms,meat etc.
At £ 33 a night we were satisfied
Downside noisy at front of hotel fri/sat night - night club up the street, noisy neighbours and cars parked. Sunday night fine
Bit out of town and more expensive area -suited us as we wanted to indulge in good meals out and away from frenetic hassle. Other guests said evening meal at hotel was good.
We recommend Beyrouth and Al Fassia very good value if you don't have alcohol, we did, at Al Fassia one bottle of wine and two brandies cost over £ 47 so our fantastic food was not expensive!
Doubt we would go back to Hotel,
but not because it was horrible, it was fit for purpose at cost. Fine for a 3night stay, would have been upset it paid for a weeks package at top price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2010

Pool area of hotel very drab, and very little sun due to high wall. Only two of the sunloungers had cushions, the plastic of which was torn and filthy. The pool itself had numerous tiles missing and looked as though it needed a proper clean.
Bed rooms very small with the safe and fridge the focus of the rooms main wall.
When the hot water didn`t work it took them over an hour to come to fix it despite saying they would be come in 10 minutes.
Very noisey location due to nearby mosque which called out from 5 am onwards , and also due to the constant traffic noise.
Our room was on the first floor, right above the dining area, and the sound of people dining until 10pm travelled up to our room. From 7am you were awakened by the sound of furniture being dragged around on the ground floor for cleaning purposes.
The bath in the bathroom was chipped and absolutely filthy looking and needing renewed, as were the many broken and dirty tiles. We saw the cleaners hand washing the towels that never looked properly clean and had dirty stains on them when put back in your room supposedly clean.
We had booked our holiday to the Morrocan House Hotel via Citrus Holidays who had informed us transfers and breakfast was included, and where then told by the hotel they were not. This is not a 3 star hotel as claimed by Citrus Holidays and the Hotel, and we would never go to the hotel again and not would we use Citrus Holidays who we feel misled us about the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dot_tritschler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

From the moment you walk in, the staff couldn't be more friendly, and the decor is pure fun.

The lobby is done in a classic mosaic with traditional furniture and fountain (though filled with rose petals this time).

I would echo the comments about the breakfasts and would recommend a quick walk to the junction of rue Sourya and rue Tariz Ben Ziad for great berakfast options in the cafe there.

A friend and I stayed 4 nights and shared a larger room with two beds and plenty of room.

My only complaint is the toilet. The shower was great. Plenty of hot water and very good water pressure, but it looked like it was transplanted from a 1960s US motel.

When we returned from day trips, staff members would ask us how our trip to (Atlas Mountains)(the ocean city of Essaouira) went even though that particular staff member might not have been there when we left in the morning. Definitely 5* service and attitude.

While there is whole row of Meridien and Marriott-type hotels close to the airport, this one is close to the Medina and souk. Yes, a hearty walk, but the walk lets you see the city from street level - and the walk is flat.

Definitely a good first-time-in-Marrakech experience and recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferrelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Chose this hotel after reading reviews. The room was nice although a bit dark even with all the lights on. Really nice decor but we had to put away the non slip mats provided as they were lethal on the tiled flooring. Bathroom lovely but no bath mat in the bath, again making it very hazardous. The bed was okay but the pillow rock hard, so I slept without one. Lots of rucks in the stair carpets which with the dim lighting could be potentially fatal. The plumbing system was quite noisy. When the people above us used their toilet or shower it made a racket in our room. We were on the second floor so could hear a fair bit of noise from the ground floor/reception area - everything seemed to start up (even the cleaning) at around 5.00 am. Breakfast was rubbish but the evening meals were fantastic. It would have been nice to have had some background music to create a nice ambience as at times there were silences between guests who were placed together. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The pool area was a bit drab, nothing to look at except a brick wall. A bit of creativity wouldn't go amiss i.e. nice plants and other greenery. Had a relaxing massage in the basement of the hotel which was well worth the money. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. If we returned to Marrakesh we probably wouldn't stay in this hotel again but for the price we paid it was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsisStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at the beginning and end of an Explore trip around Morocco.

The initial impressions are good. The entrance is nicely decorated and there is occasional free wi-fi.

But the rooms are average at best. The beds were very soft, with far too much lace and chintz around. My room was next to something that buzzed all night and of our two rooms, one of them had very poor air conditioning.

The breakfast was ok, on an open roof terrace, although the food choice was not large.

Location was ok. It was a 20 minute stroll to the medina and central square. There are a few restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aglaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Do not hesitate - this is a gem. We loved it - quirky, fun, exotic, - such nice staff. Only problem was the British - loud, uncivilised, rude, I was ashamed .....
And just look at the price - totally amazing - if we ever went back anywhere we'd not hesitate but there are so many places to see in the world .....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinPerryab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I was rather sceptical about this hotel after some of the poor reviews – but was pleasantly surprised. For the money, it’s great – what on earth do some people expect for a bargain hotel? The Moroccon décor fooled my boyfriend who was utterly charmed by it, however I viewed it more as Arabic kitsch, which I was also charmed by. The staff are helpful and courteous, and our cleaner was fantastic – thorough, with lovely touches. The breakfast was fine! I don’t know why people have moaned about it! Like I said before, what do people expect for a budget choice? If you want 5* luxury, then pay 5* rates! I enjoyed filling up on my brioche, omelette, bread with cheese, cereal and mint tea. I even cheekily pinched biscuits for our days out… it was lovely being up on the roof, listening to the birds chatter away. Lean over the wall and watch them fly in and out of their nests – it’s lovely.

Our room was a decent size, over looking the road outside. It was only a tad noisy, nothing that stopped me sleeping. The only thing that kept waking me up was the phone ringing on the landing, very annoying! So loud and shrill.

The pool was always clean, such a shame it loses the sun at about 1pm – but we may not have done anything if we’d had the sun all day!

A few tips for Marrakech in general are:

Atlas Mountain well worth a trip – take good shoes!
If it’s summer, definitely go to Essouira and eat lovely fish and bum around on the beach. Take the coach from by the train station, day trips rip you off. If you wanna stay over night, then you need your passport to check in to a hotel. You don’t need to book ahead, just wander in somewhere – we got a lovely room for 120d!
Don’t take dollars, we had a nightmare changing them
If you want cheap clothes, then forget the souks – go to Miss Kaftan which is in a little courtyard of shops on the main road Mohammed V, opposite the building site near the hotel. The dude there will sort you out – seriously cheaper than the souks! Plus, Essouira is cheaper, and you get hassled less. If you’re going, then do your souvenir shopping there.
If you want booz then buy it from the shops opposite the building site, we only discovered these places on the last day, boooo.
Get the taxi drivers to switch on their meters, don’t pay more than 20d to get to the main square.
Check your change in the markets!
Brush up on your French, and Arabic, and muslim greetings, they love it.
Have a night or two in the desert!
Don't bother with the tombs, dull as Coldplay. In fact, I wasnt hugely impressed with much in Marrakech, it was the surrounding areas I loved, and will return again for. Maybe next time I'll find a cosy riad somewhere, but for starters this hotel was great.
ENJOY!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RovingRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#308 of 500 in Marrakech
326 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#141 of 500 in Marrakech
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#179 of 500 in Marrakech
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#148 of 500 in Marrakech
1,090 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#264 of 500 in Marrakech
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#156 of 500 in Marrakech
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £26 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing