We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
Ranked #321 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Situated in the new town, ideally located. The hotel is very decorative, breakfast is served on the roof terrace in a tent, quite unique. Hotel doesn't sell alcohol, but you can get alcohol served in the Beyroute restaurant 2 doors away from hotel, also in Al Fassia restaurant not far away from hotel. We had some great food in Catanzaro Restaurant on Rue Tarik Ibn Ziyad, bottle of wine approx £7.

If you did want to have a drink, visit the Chesterfield Pub which can be found in Nassim Hotel, also a bar in the Diwane Hotel near the Tourist Info Office.

Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    264
    111
    51
    27
See reviews for
87
231
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

After reading the reviews, my daughter and I went along with an open mind, as always do. Paid 150 dh for taxi to get there because we had a mercedes taxi (which are more expensive than the khaki coloured smaller taxis). It took about 15 mins which was great. We were met (no greeting) by a man on reception , totally straight faced and not even a 'Hello' (good start). First thing I noticed about hotel was how dark it is inside, due to windows being stained glass, also learned that all light switches are on timers which don't last long! Very quirky decor which was great in true Morroccan style. We paid 50dh for use of fridge, I took a travel kettle, as no tea making facilities in room.Spotlessly clean room, but again dark. Light bulb not working, so had to go to reception to sort it, plus shower tap was split down sides and water leaked sideways all over floor. After reporting this, a man was sent to room who suggested tying a plastic bag around it, which we did and it remained this way for the duration of stay. Also we stayed in room 38,every time a tap was turned on upstairs, an almighty creaking noise happened. This was even better when upstairs party were departing at 4am, so showers were used, the noise was awful.
Breakfast was continental & looked unappetising, so cold except pre- cooked pancakes presented in a warming cabinet. Longlife carton style orange juice, also tea + coffee with lots of cakes, chocolates, bread, jam, cornflakes + cocoa pops. All served on roof terrace in an Arab style tent housed with sofas and low hexagonal tables- or tables & chairs outside, but a bit cold in January! One morning it was torrential rain, no provisions were made for extra seating inside tent. Water was dripping through tent onto the food, & some people had to either eat standing up, ot take it back to their rooms. Outside swimming pool could not be used this time of year -too cold.
Location good on a side street, so close to cafes. The driest holiday i have ever had, as most cafes + restaurants do not sell alcohol, but you can find it in larger hotel restautants if you check first. After a long search we did find 1 shop where we could buy local beer 'Special Flag' at 12dh a small can (25dh in restaurant). Marrakesh is fast & hectic,they drive like lunatics, but taxis 20dh to local souks or Jeema el Fna interesting walk of 40mins. For a Hammam try Secrets just around the corner 600dh for 2 hrs (steam, scrub with black soap ,just bikini botooms on! -mask, 1 hr v good massage).

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrenceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Check in good, Room basic with few health and safety issues with wiring, decoration gaudy, bathroom basic - problems with door, have to pay 30 dirhams per nite for safe, had room 11, overlooking road, noisy as clubs nearby. Water/shower - hot - about the only decent thing. As we went in Jan, morn and eve cold, heater in room not adequate, requests for extra blanket ignored. Male staff - Laraby, Idris and Rachid very helpful and pleasant but lady behind reception desk was rude, unhelpful and abrupt!!! Avoid her if you have requests or are in need of help. Breakfast was basic.
Area good. Take 5 mins by taxi to get to Medina ( 15 - 20 dirhams) - haggle haggle haggle. Beyrout restaurant 2 doors away good range of Lebanese food - being a veggie this was a v good find. Majorelle gardens - excellent, food in cafe great. We ended up at a club "African Chic" 5 mins away from this hotel - fabulous band - from African music to Latin to a James Brown tribute act - drinks pricey - very!!! No entrance fee. Would recommend this club. Tourbus 145 dirhams for 24hr tkt - good for first day to get bearing.
Le Bains de Marrakech - for Hammam and massage - fantastic - 500 dirhams for both. Felt very scrubbed and polished - glowed :) Enjoy Marrakech - people great, plan to go again but include Atlas mountains next time. Getting back to the hotel - we paid £169.00 for 4 nites incl flights so can't really complain but next time if my budget is better I would not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Value for money and good location BUT if your room is at the front don't expect to be able to sleep! The ear plugs left should have been an give away!
Breakfast was plentiful but nothing there I liked. No fresh juice or fruit. Salad or sweets. Some cereals and bread. Enough to get by but not exactly enjoyable.
Very friendly.
No alcohol or tea making facilities in room.
The exhaust pollution made me Ill all week no good if you have asthma!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heppers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed at the hotel between 5th and 9th January. This is a delightful hotel situated in the new town area of Marrakesh. Then hotel was part of a city break weekend deal and we stayed half board in a 3* room which was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for our needs. Someone has commented on the need to pay extra for the safe, but I have travelled the world over and stayed in some top hotels and always had to pay for that faciltity, so it didn't bother me.

The breakfast was terrific.....a buffet you could return to with fresh iuice, jams and syrups, cereals, dates, olives, tomatoes and cucumber, fresh bread, crepes, muffins and morrocan bread and a wide range of moroccan pattiseries. A choice of teas and coffee.

The evening meal was extremely good, salad starters, soup, tagine and desert, with the fixed menu changing each night We ate there three nights out of the four and were never disappointed.

There are bountiful cafes and restaurants nearby and the old town is only a twenty minute stroll away, unless you divert through the cyber park or wander off to explore the excellent shops which prevail in the new town. Do walk into the old town at least once or you will miss these delights.

I will post a Marrakesh review elsewhere, but as this is focussed on the hotel I have to say that it represents excellent value for money. It's not the Hilton but who wants to stay in those plastic palaces......I have, many times, and I know what I prefer. something with character, like the Moroccan House.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnGreen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed here in January and from the moment you enter the hotel the staff are friendly, helpful and great fun. The room was so weird it was like being in a Dolls house ,plenty of hot water and we had a room with a balcony overlooking the streets that never stop. We had Half board and I would highly recommend the food for dinner with 5 courses each night with superb food. Its a dry Hotel so water or cola for drinks. Breakfast was on the rooftop (Fleece required) and was great for cofffee but the rest was OK. It was a fun hotel in a city that is so different that it will leave you thinking that you are imagining it.Situated in Gueliz its a fair old hike to town , down the main road , but walk in and taxi back--bet you never get the same price! The main square is a delight , and the souks are a Husbands nightmare. We tried a Hamman --you must do it--at Didis just off the square.
This is not a chain Hotel ,so if you prefer these dont go, but if you like good value, weird decor, good food and fun staff---go for it, you will love it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuindorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNFERMLINE
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

we have just returned from Morocan House Hotel stayed from 28th Dec- 4th Jan and had great time - yes agree after 3/4 days breakfast was not thriling to get up for. but we also has an evening meal in hotel and it was very good [ the staff/service. etc we couldn't complain about ] we stayed in room 21 to the front of the hotel.
there is a small resturant next door [ called berriut ] great food/and good local beer/wine.
there are a few places you can get wine if you wanted also supermarkets all within walking distance.The local tea is great.
The weather was very good nice and hot through day but got very chilly at night if you are going i am sure you will enjoy.
margaret
galsgowdog@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M16RRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#398 of 500 in Marrakech
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#401 of 500 in Marrakech
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#134 of 500 in Marrakech
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#432 of 500 in Marrakech
105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#374 of 500 in Marrakech
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#449 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Property: Moroccan House Hotel
Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing