We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel, fantastic friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
Ranked #318 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Weymouth
2 reviews
“Really good hotel, fantastic friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Clean, tidy, well run hotel. We stayed the first week of Feb 2011, when it was well out of season. The staff were all friendly, happy to help, and jovial at all times. We booked half board, and found the breakfast on the roof under canvas, or in the open air. Variety was great, all you could ask for other than a full cooked english breakfast. Evening meal was 5 courses eack night, more than we could eat every night, and of very good quality. On the downside it was chilly in the dining room at night, but this is a hotel built for the Moroccan sun !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weymouthroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    262
    111
    49
    26
See reviews for
83
230
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

This hotel was lovely decor very moroccan as others have said and perfectly adequate the evening meal was lovely and breakfast fine. Staff were always there to help but they had a problem with over booking and people we has spoken to had to stay in a nearby hotel because there was no room. The amount of noise at night however was crazy. the windows do not keep out any noise so you might as well have them open and moroccan traffic is very noisy. We also think there was a storage cupboard above our room because every night at about 10.30/11 ish there would be about 40 mins of scraping things along the floor.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BanburyTourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Situated in the new town, The hotel is very decorative, breakfast is served on the roof terrace in a tent, quite unique.
Very Good Hotel, Excellent satff!
I recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Spent a 5 night B & B break in Marrakech and booked the Moroccan House Hotel as our base, primarily because the holiday offered excellent value for money. We got what we expected and were not disappointed.

The Hotel:
Our first room was very small, with no comfortable sitting space. We upgraded through reception to one of their better rooms at a cost of 200DH per night, well worth the extra space and luxury. Rooms were clean and everything worked. We were not disturbed at all during the night as our room was at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was Moroccan - cakes, breads etc. Not the place for you if you like loads of choice for breakfast, although it was nice to sit outside for breakfast in January. Had dinner in the hotel one night during our stay, which was fine. Pool looked grim.

The Location;
Located in the "new" part of the city, the hotel is a 20 minute walk from the main square or a short taxi drive. The hotel is close to the starter point for the sightseeing bus tour of the City. Bought a 48 hour ticket and hopped on and off the bus to see the majority of the sights.

The City:
Well worth a visit, although a 3 day stay is enough to see Marrakech. Got fed up with all the bartering and negotiating for almost everything you wanted, from the taxi from the airport (don't pay more than 100DH or 10 euro's. Originally asked for 25 euro's) Taxi always inflated their prices - pay no more than 20DH for local trips in the City. Beware of all the "guides" who always pester you, especially near the tourist attractions and in the Souks. Only look at anything in the Souks if you are genuinely interested in buying and be prepared for serious negotiation.. Expect to get lost in them - everybody does. Miss Kaftan, on the main Mohammed V down to Place de Novembres is much cheaper than prices in the souks.
The main square is fascinating and is a real bustle. Visit it during the day and at night. It transforms itself after dusk. The colours, the bustle and the atmosphere is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

I travelled with my husband and 21 year old son. We had a four night stay at the Moroccan House Hotel. The place is very nice and clean. We did think that the beds were a bit on the hard side but that's just us! I had read reports about excessive noise at night if you had a front room but we didn't have a problem at all. The only down side about the room is that it was on the cool side, in fact, generall the whole building was a bit cool and we always ate our evening meal with a fleece/jacket on. Maybe it's because of it being so early in the year, it's probably fantastic when the temperature is 45-50 outside in the summer!
We didn't think much to breakfast really, my son only managed it for two mornings and said that it wasn't worth the bother of getting up for! However, the evening meal was always very good and we always enjoyed that.
We didn't use the pool or the hammam so can't comment on those.
The staff were extremely helpful, polite and very nice to chat to. Most of them spoke excellent English.
We were able to leave our luggage safely for the day as our departure time wasn't until the evening, it was locked away in a cupboard in reception.
I had previously read a recommendation for a taxi driver, Jalil Benbili, who I contacted by email before our arrival. He is a great bloke, very reliable and punctual. He picked us up from the airport and we booked him for the day to take us to the Atlas mountain/Berber village trip. He was very good company and an excellent driver! The driving out there leaves a lot to be desired and I cannot see an obvious rules but there must be some! Scooters/mopeds definitely rule in Marrakech! His email address is ajalil197@yahoo.com his rates are reasonable and fixed so no haggling there!
It's very interesting in the Jammaa el Fna square, worth a visit or two and it's about a 25 minute walk from the Moroccan House, just follow your nose along Mohammed V to the Koutoubia and turn left, you can't miss it, it's packed with tour buses and horse drawn carts, very touristy.
There's a couple of bars on the corner that do nice food, can't remember the names but on the left as you go towards the square on the main road it bert's bar, the food and service is excellent there. There is a distince lack of alcohol but that is to be expected but if you do come accross it, it is very expensive!
Crossing the road is a whole different experience for me and it is not for the faint hearted, I just literally let my husband drag me over the roads and hoped for the best! But we had a fabulous few days and I'm sure you will too!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank shinysheff43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

We have just had a wonderful stay at this very authentic Moroccan riad style hotel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful and friendly.
Our room was beautiful - really gave you a feel of Marakesh! Breakfast was consistently good, a buffet of all things continental plus Moroccan cakes, etc, - delicious.
Location is great because its around 25 minutes walk into the Medina and main square and you are better off being a little bit out like this because its acity that "never sleeps" and you are aware of faint noise at times throughout the night but it would be very noisy any nearer the main areas.
Local taxis are cheap and can be flagged easily and about a five min walk brings you to the Tourist Office where you can buy a ticket for the Tour Bus that runs around the city sites as a circular route from9-5 daily. You can buy a ticket for 24 or 48 hours and use it to hop on and off wherever you like. It runs every 20-30mins continually so its really easy to get on and off and see everything.
We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldiloxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

I travel extensively and this hotel is THE BEST value for money EVER!!! Rooms, location, staff, ambience - couldn't get better. I'd go again tomorrow and recommend to ev eryone who wants a perfect stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zojaexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#128 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#398 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#433 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#383 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#243 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#431 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Property: Moroccan House Hotel
Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing