We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Marrakesh.. Best Authentic Staying Experience - Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #284 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
“Hidden Gem in Marrakesh.. Best Authentic Staying Experience - Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

First.. let me start with saying that this is one of the best place that we have stayed anywhere in the world. Purely authentic..Excellent rooms .. and above all Amazing Service.. It's a rare treat to stay at Dar Silsila..

We arrived from Casablanca without a hotel reservation. We teamed up with a friend who lives in Casablanca and were told that getting a hotel in a off season is not a problem so we did not book the hotel ahead of time. Upon arrival.. we started looking for a riad or a hotel.. We looked at few hotels and none were available. Then we found Dar Silsila through TripAdvisor and upon looking at the web site and some of the reviews.. we decided to book our stay at Dar.

Dar is conveniently located 5 minute walk to Djemma El Fena square. It was little bit strange to get to it as it's located in medina and way to Dar silsila takes you through local streets/residential areas.. Upon arrival at the Dar.. we were welcomed by Brahim and we were greeted with a some tea and cookies.. Brahim took care of us really well.. We were given 3 rooms instead of 2 for 2 nights. Rooms were amazing..Very nicely decorated .. nice comfortable beds and rooms were prepared with rose petals on the bed .. bathroom.. bathtub etc.. We immediately felt @ home and felt very relaxed.. Even though Dar is located right in the middle of hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. you will never know it. as Dar is quite and every morning we woke up to the sounds of birds..It's amazing. how quite the riad is.. Even though some of our family members were little disappointed that there was no pool but the Dar won them over pretty quickly with the rooms and service. One more thing about the rooms.. The beds are one of most comfortable beds that you will sleep on ..We had one of the best sleep anywhere on these beds..

There aren't enough words to describe how amazing the service is. Brahim in particular left a mark of Moroccan hospitality and treatment in our minds.. No matter what we needed Brahim and some of his fellow staff took care of us.. They gave an excellent breakfast in the morning with traditional Moroccan crapes, home made yogurt, honey., fresh orange juice..Coffee..Milks..breads etc.. so your day starts out excellent.. Jean-Patrick arranged couple of excursions for us and offered a good bit of help in where to go, eat , and what to do. He even helped us get a get a Riad in essaouira.. another good place to stay.. Every night..we would come back from our day long trips and we were treated with Tea & cookies.. We relaxed on the Terrace in beautiful / quite / relaxing setting. Even though the hotel does not have TV or any other electronics in the room.. to tell you the truth.. we did not miss TV or anything else for even a moment..

All in all, this was one of the best place to stay for us. The location/rooms and quietness/comfort and above all the most amazing service we ever got.. Jean-Patrick deserves a lot of kudos for creating one of the best experience you will ever have anywhere in the world.. Brahim and some of his staff will make you feel like royalty with their service.. We will be going back to Morocco next year or year after that and there is no other place to stay for us but @ Dar..

I would say that if you are looking for an amazing experience in the form of your Riad/Hotel stay in Marrakesh.. You must stay @ Dar..

Room Tip: just go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssbhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    75
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
80
379
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Our first visit to Marrakech, Dar Silsila was highly recommended by our son who stayed there in 2008. It lived up to our expectations in every respect. The proprietor Jean-Patrick and his staff are excellent, welcoming, friendly and attentive. After a visit to the medina with it's noisy, exciting and often exhausting environment - ( how many times did we get lost in the Souks !!) the return to Dar Silsila is perfect. Walk through the alleyways into the peaceful courtyard of the riad. Mint tea and biscuits are complementary and served at any time of the day, either in the courtyard, in your room or on the sun terrace. In the evenings we sat on the terrace with a bottle of wine bought at the riad and chatted or read, a lovely end to our busy days. We received excellent advice during our stay and Jean-Patrick arranged a driver to take us out of the city for a day to visit a Berber village, take an excellent lunch followed with a walk (good shoes essential) to the waterfalls (cascades) in the Atlas mountains. Our driver spoke 7 languages and we spent an extremely informative and enjoyable day with him - well worth paying the extra instead joining of a coach tour!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steph1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

After reading all about the intensity and hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we had feared that the start to our holiday would be stressful and intense. In fact, we found the opposite, mostly thanks to our host Jean-Patrick and the staff at Dar Silsila. Jean-Patrick kindly put up with all my emails before we had left (full of little questions!) and generously offered to arrange for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and take us to the Riad, acquired our bus tickets to Essaouira (which could not be bought from outside the country) and provided us with a delicious tangia on our arrival (they don’t have a restaurant as such so they had put this on especially and cooked it in the nearby communal oven for 8 hours). This concierge service is not strictly part of the service but is a great example of how we were made to feel welcome. It was an extremely peaceful start to our holiday. The rooms were beautifully decked out in classic Moroccan style (lovely lightshades) and we were upgraded to the VIP room on the roof terrace (which everyone has access too). Great little breakfast served up there, with good views overlooking the City. Also worth mentioning that all the sites are within walking distance (5 mins walk from Djemaa el Fna and the souks). Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgc_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We left Marrakech yesterday with so many happy memories of our stay at Dar Silsila. This Riad is just lovely - hidden away from the busy Medina down a couple of alleys. As written in a few other reviews we were a little wary of heading down the alleys leading to the Riad to start with but now we smile at this because by the second day we felt that the approach to Dar Silsila just added to the charm of our 'secret and special place'.
We loved the suite that we stayed in, the beautiful terraces and the view from them - at night it was just magical to be able to look over Marrakech.
The staff were just amazing - couldn't be more helpful - Brahim and Jean Patrick in particular, they both offered us great advice and tips about Marrakech and Jean Patrick recommended fab' places to eat. Eating in is a must - we did that once dring our 5 night stay and enjoyed a delicious Chicken and Pumpkin tagine with oranges and cinnamon to finish. We had a lovely stay in Marrakech and are already planning our return to the lovely Dar Silsila.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lousussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We just travelled Morrocco for three weeks, our stays long and short were all in Riads, Dar Silsila in Marrakech was by far the most well kept and comfortable atmosphere. The food was great,rooms very clean and a good location for walking to the medina and markets. Great service and much attention to detail, they even took care of purchasing bus tickets to our next location. Diffinately full marks for this Riad.
Terry & Gwen Fleming

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemings7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

This riad (home around a courtyard) is the way to experience this city. A big hotel could never provide the TLC and experience. We agree with everything the others have said. Jean-Patrick and staff are the greatest! We laughed to read that others were wary of the trip from the main street to this hidden treasure, as we had the same feelings, but once the door opens, it's paradise! Be sure to have dinner here!! Easy access to the main plaza and all other sites. (If you only have one full day in the city we would recommend a guide to see as many things as possible.) We started and ended our Morocco trip here and were so glad we did!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doddsteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Dar Silsila. Jean-Patrick and Brahmin we attentive to our every need and offered us countless recommendations on how to best enjoy our time in Marrakech. Dar Silsila is always kept clean and the service from the staff was great. We most enjoyed sipping on mint tea on the roof top patio in view of the Koutoubia mosque and Atlas mountains in the background.

Dar Silsila is a nice place for peace and quiet from the sensory overload that the souks and streets of Marrakech provide. Our rooms were always refreshed and ready when we made our return to the riad. Breakfast was served daily and the homemade baked goods and orange juice was delicious.

I would recommend staying here to anyone visiting Marrakech and look forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: The Africa themed room has a nice courtyard window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Maipa
Riad Maipa
#272 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#239 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#201 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#112 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#267 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#132 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing