We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After minor issues, we still enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Silsila
Ranked #269 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“After minor issues, we still enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This one didn't start well. On the first night upon arrival, in only 30 min we have 'discovered' three cockroaches (!!!) in our room. It was almost midnight and we were tired, but we still asked to be moved to the other room, and riad's duty staff member Fouad was very responsive. We spend the night in more spacious suite (room we booked was 'standard' type). Next day we talked to owner Jean-Patrick about our options. He apologized for bugs in the room, and offered free upgrade to de-luxe room, which we nevertheless have not accepted, due to fact that room we were offered was next door to room we have found bugs in. He also presented the written proof that every 3 months all rooms are checked by Inspection for Health Safety and all problems are fixed as/if needed. We spent the remain of our week in this riad in other 'standard' room (pretty adequate).

Standard rooms are little short on space comparing to other riads we saw (example: Riad Anjar in very neighbourhood), so upgrade to suite is recommended. Lobby and rooms for breakfast and leisure time are nicely decorated, and we really enjoyed mint tea or coffee during quiet and relaxing afternoons.

Riad is very conveniently located in old medina of Marrakech, only 5 min walk from Jamaa El Fna, and it's easy to locate.

To summarize:

Silsila's strongest points are location and very efficient and always-with-smile staff members (Salaam and Fouad excel at all times), as well as easy booking process with Jean-Patrick;

weak points are somewhat small (standard) rooms if you plan to stay more than 2-3 days, poor wi-fi connection on upper floors (and non-existing on most parts of the roof terrace) and same unexciting breakfast every day (only varies in joghurt).

We have still enjoyed our stay at Dar Silsila.

Room Tip: For stays longer than 2-3 days, get suite - they provide more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4LoveWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    76
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
80
380
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed in 2 great rooms bookending excursions. Somewhat hidden location is a bit of an adventure, but great centralized digs for access to the heart of the medina. Wonderful staff and above-and-beyond service. Nice roof-top!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urgentd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Brilliant location if you're wanting to stay in the Medina near Djemaa el Fna. Jean Patrick and the staff were more than helpful, offering suggestions for everything you could want from your trip to Marrakech. They picked up our bus tickets for our trip to Essaouira, and we got an upgrade on our room too! I'd definitely recommend the Hammam - nearly 2 hours of bliss for only 50 euro! Would absolutely recommend this riad. Terrific!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a wonderful time at Dar Silsila, staying over a week. It is conveniently located near the Djemaa el Fna, and is a great base for exploring the medina of Marrakech. Dar Silsila, like a riad, is a traditional two-story Moroccan house built around an inner court yard, and it was an oasis to which we gladly returned each evening after an intense day out and about in the city. All the rooms are beautiful, set around the two courtyards, each with an individual theme and an overall Moroccan/West African feel. What made the stay special was the friendliness of the staff, including Fuad and Rizlane, and especially the kind help we received from the owner/manager Jean-Patrick, who helped us considerably by facilitating with all those tiny details that make all the difference between a good and a great vacation. We decided to have our dinners at Dar Silsila because it was delicious Moroccan food cooked to order, including great red wine. We also utilized the laundry services while we were there, and, as with everthing else, were very satisfied with our stay at Dar Silsila.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Perhaps ask to stay stay in one of the rooms around the first courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pain2sucre
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We hail from New York City and we just came back from a two-week vacation in Morocco. We decided to stay at Dar Silsila at the beginning of January 2012 because the online pictures were stunning. We can confirm that the pictures did not lie: the rooms are truly just stunningly beautiful! Quite spacious also. You will like the Memzhe room, with a nice lilac touch, view of the courtyard and a beautiful intimate feel to it. You will find it hard to leave the room. We also liked the friendliness and the professionalism of Jean-Patrick, the owner. He was helpful to us from beginning to end. He had a solution to all of our problems. He and his wonderful team really made our stay a very pleasant one. If you don't know your way around, Jean Patrick will help you plan your next move smoothly and effortlessly. Where the weary traveller might see obstacles in planning, Jean-Patrick offers helpful tips. This is really top-notch customer service. You feel right at home and that feeling is important after you spend your day bargaining over goodies in the Medina. In terms of access, we agree with the other reviewers: this riad is really well located. The main sites, such as Djemaa el Fna Square, are within very short walking distances. For longer distances around Marrakech, you can take a "petit taxi" (little taxis). Yes, please discuss the fare before you board! All in all, we would not do anything differently. It was smart to stay at Dar Silsila and you will agree with us when you come back from your upcoming trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pain2sucre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Beautiful riad. Service was excellent. Dinner at the riad was by far a favorite. Patrick was very gracious and personable. Wonderful staff and excellent location. Will definitely be recommending.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Dar Sisila is tucked away down an alley which seems off the beaten path but you will be thankful for when you need to escape the madness of the medina. Jean-Patrick is the most gracious host with a top of the line staff. He makes a point of visiting with the guests each morning after breakfast and helping them arrange their day. His staff even picked up a tagine for us because they knew they could get a better deal. They take note of your preferences and have them ready without comment of your noticing. I will be telling all my friends visiting Marrakech to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#244 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#207 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#117 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Maipa
Riad Maipa
#271 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#115 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#159 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#164 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing