We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful + warm friendly hosts!”
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #277 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful + warm friendly hosts!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My brother and I stayed in Dar Silsila in February/March for several nights. JP and all the staff were so friendly and made the Riad feel warm, cosy, and welcoming. The riad is beautiful and meticulously clean and tidy - each minute attention to detail designed to create a really special stay. This includes the beautiful bedroom and ensuite, the main areas, and the gorgeous roof terrace. JP and his staff were so helpful and did everything they could to make our trip easy and comfortable. It was also really important to have such a calm and relaxing oasis out of the hubbub of the Medina and souks - and was very central. We had a fabulous time, would definitely recommend and would go back. xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    76
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
80
380
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guerneville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The tour company we used, Journey Beyond Travel, personally selects each lodging they book. They found a great one for our party of four. Jean Patrick, the owner, checked us in and then checked with us daily to see how things were going and if he could assist us in any way. His staff were always smiling and eager to provide tea/cookies on the roof terrace or the downstairs courtyard. Our large rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable and the riad itself was gorgeous! The location was convenient since the medina is close by and since you are already inside the city walls, you are ready to start exploring. The dinners we had were delicious and they can recommend great nearby restaurants like Ksar. Upon checkout, Jean Patrick gave us croissants for our train ride to Fes. What a delightful stay we had!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenB992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This Riad is located perfectly in the centre of the old city of Marrakech close to the soukhs and the central square DJema El Fna with all the activities, where it is a safe, pleasant and very clean rest. It appears behind the iron door when you walk through the narrow streets and when the doors close you are surprised how quiet it suddenly becomes when the door is closed and you are standing in one of the two inner courtyards with green plants, a very small pool and a view to the sky. We stayed 16 persons including children for 3 nights and the service was first class. There is lots of space, of rooms where you can sit and read and enjoy some moroccan tea or a cold beer, it was very relaxing. We had two dinners in the Riad, one of them a birthday dinner and the staff was handling everything including delicious moroccan food and Wine perfectly. The rooms are decorated in a very nice way with moroccan art. The entrance is in a small and narrow street but our luggage was transported from the parking area nearby on small trolleys by some local people so that was not a problem. The roof terraces offers access to the sun and a magnificent view of Marrakech and the mountains. We stayed four different places during our trip to Morocco and this Riad was definitely the winner.

Room Tip: Excellent for a group where you can have the whole Riad. My wife and I stayed in the Terrace Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuhr_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohasset, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Dar Silsila was beautiful and immaculate with impeccable service and excellent food! We really enjoyed every minute there and the owner and staff were wonderful!! We stayed there our first two nights and were so happy to return for our last night in Morocco!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamisal, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We got here a couple days ago and love it. The rooms are beautifully done. There are four of us, two rooms, in this riad. EXCELLENT service. EXCELLENT meals. EXCELLENT housekeeping. EXCELLENT location. The narrow street to the hotel is dirt and looks under construction but we chose to ignore it. Inside the door everything is safe, relaxing and comfortable.

Room Tip: The room just above the pool has a good wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie Coté T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I would highly recommend this divine riad. Off the narrow alleyways of the medina and behind the huge door, Dar Silsila is a calm and beautifully decorated oasis from the hot & boisterous souks. The staff and owner are very helpful. If you are in need of suggestions, Jean Patrique has no end of ideas of places to visit. He or his assistant, Salaam, will also make reservations for you at restaurants and organise taxis or excursions. Nice breakfast of coffee, homemade yogurt and Moroccan pancakes and breads. Be sure to request in advance to eat there one night and have a Marrakech specialty of beef tangia which is left to cook during the day in the fires of the local hammam. If you want a stay with a personal touch this is an opportunity to experience life inside a riad. There is a safe in the room and free wifi.

Room Tip: All the rooms face onto a courtyard in one of the two riads so you are not bothered by noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkleplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at Dar Silsila for 4 days and our experience could not have been more pleasurable.
The location in medina is so convenient, in the medina but also so short to get out of it.The riad is splendid with swimming pool, hammam,salons and dining rooms.It is not overly decorated, capturing the essence of the Moroccan style.The rooms are spacious, with elegant bathrooms attached.
Jean-Patrick(host/owner) could not have been more accommodation and gracious, making us feel like we were entering our own home away from home.He apologized for the construction in the street leading to the riad(they are replacing the water and sour system, it could be a bit messing upgrading a 13th century old city) that the inconvenient we might pay for visiting such a magical place and to stay in the medina.
The staff was always there when we needed them, plenty of towels,very comfortable and cozy bedding, great breakfasts, and delicious meals if you desire to order on the premises .
We shall definitively return .Great job Jean-Patrick.

Room Tip: If you are looking for solitude and piece the medina is not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent-Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,249 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#243 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#75 of 1,153 in Marrakech
305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#205 of 500 in Marrakech
753 reviews
11.0 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#136 of 500 in Marrakech
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing