We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #284 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June & can't recommend it enough. We took up the option of transfer from the hotel - I don't think we'd ever have found the hotel if we hadn't. We were met by Mohammed & made to feel welcome immediately with mint tea & biscuits. We were told to treat the riad like home & it did indeed feel like home. Breakfast on the roof was a great start to the day. The location is fabulous for wandering around the medina. Couldn't believe how quiet the riad was even though all the hustle & bustle is right on the doorstep.
The finishing touches in the room were perfect - never had a vase of red roses as standard before! Nothing was too much trouble - we were certainly well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your gentle comment.
Our team is dedicated to serve you at the highest standards.
You will be always welcome at Dar Silsila or any of our other Riads in Marrakech Riad Zen House, Riad Abaka.

The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    75
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
80
379
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great stay here. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful (thank you Mohammed). They will arrange tours and make reservations for you. I recommend a dinner at the hotel. You just have to let them know at breakfast to give them the day to cook a wonderful beef dish. Breakfast was not an expansive spread, but it was plenty to start the day.

The location is very central as it is easy to reach the souks or catch a cab to visit sites outside the Medina. It was nice to be able to walk around the hectic Medina and then come back to the peaceful souk to rest with a cold beer or glass of wine. There are plenty of spots to lounge and relax within the souk. The souk is a little difficult to find at first (down a street/alley with a nondescript entrance as is most of the Medina) so it’s probably good to arrange for an airport transfer.

Mint tea and wi-fi are included. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DauphineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your nice comment.

Our team is dedicated to provide our guests the very best standards and we are happy you enjoyed it.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.

The Dar silsila team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was a pleasure to have stayed in Dar Silsila where the staff is as helpful as can be. The rooms are well appointed and in a reasonably good location to enjoy the major sights. It is initially a little tricky to navigate through the labyrinthine streets to get to the hotel, but that is generally the case in Marrakech.

I would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nr456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This riad is so close to everything. A five minute walk to the square and a short taxi ride to the Majorelle Gardens. The breakfasts are a great and will keep you going to lunch. Our room was perfect. But the best part of Dar Silsila is the staff. Nothing was too much for these guys and they gave us the best recommendations for food and sight seeing. We had a few problems with the airport transfers but it was all sorted out very quickly. We really can't fault this riad, it really was great and we will definitely be staying here again if we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We only spent one night in Dar Silsila so did not experience all its charms but we enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and very welcoming, the location was perfect, and we are not surprised by its popularity.

Room Tip: We had a superior room (no 4) which was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Incredible Riad! Rooms are super clean and it four terraces are amazing. Staff is the BEST! The dinner at the Riad is wondeful. Perfect location; only 5 minutes walking to the main square. Very safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimundo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Dar Silsila is another example of how riads can be incredible places to relax just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina. The nearest main thoroughfare is packed, with mopeds, bikes and pedestrians making their way around at all times of day. One minute's walk down a low, dark derb (and when the porter with your bags first takes you that way you can be forgiven for being a bit skeptical!), and you arrive at the riad's front door. Inside and you're met by absolute tranquility.

The public rooms are beautiful, with a small pool and waterfall features in the lobby. There are dozens of smaller nooks and crannies with comfy seats, where you can while away the time with a good book. The riad has no less than 4 different levels of roof terrace, with loungers, gazebos and comfortable chairs; it was our favourite space to relax, with spectacular views of the Atlas Mountains and all the noises of Marrakech around you.

Our room (a deluxe room) was adequately sized and very comfortable. Our window opened into the internal courtyard with a fantastic tree that reached right up to the roof terrace, and you could even hear some birds resting in it in the morning. The bathroom was nicely traditionally styled, but one of the only cons was the shower. It took us 2 minutes to realise the taps were back to front (hot was cold and vice versa!), but the hot water came in waves, and the old shower head meant the flow was a bit uneven and it tended to flood the bathroom a little, even with the shower mat down. It wasn't anywhere near as bad as some stories we heard about Marrakech hot water though, and it was still perfect after a trek up to the High Atlas.

Breakfast was nicely prepared every morning, although we would have liked a few more options, even for something like eggs or omelettes, as it was generally all breads, small fruit salads and yogurts.

The staff were excellent throughout, all very friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Mohammad, the manager, was superb; he was infinitely helpful when we had a tour company mix up their dates, provided some excellent recommendations for dinner and sightseeing, and arranged a perfect airport transfer for us when we sadly had to leave.

It was absolutely beautiful inside, and a wonderful place to return to after the sometimes wild streets of the medina. Walking in through the front door to hear nothing but the waterfall in the lobby was like stepping in to another world. A fantastic calm oasis and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrKiwiCooCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Maipa
Riad Maipa
#263 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#239 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#200 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#270 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#139 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing