We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #284 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Kent England
1 review
“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

We could not have been made more welcome by Mohammed and his friendly staff, or helped any more by the delightful owner Jean-Patrick. Every opportunity was taken to ensure our stay in Marrakech was the best. Many,many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keenexplorer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    75
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
80
379
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a short break in Marrakech. We stayed at Dar Silsila where we were really well looked after by Jean -Patrick and his staff. The riad was very clean and beautifully decorated, providing a little oasis in the middle of the dusty medina. Although we only had breakfast at Dar Silsila we could have eaten there in the evening if we had wanted to. The food cooked for other guests certainly smelt and looked delicious and if the homemade biscuits we were offered on arrival were anything to go by then I'm sure it tasted good too. Jean- Patrick's local knowledge was invaluable and helped us to make the best of our trip. I would definitely stay there again if we go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

There's a reason that so many people have given this hotel a 5* rating, and that's because it's quite simply amazing.

Jean Patrick was the perfect host; very helpful, very friendly and intent on making sure we had a delightful stay. He clearly cares about the standards his hotel sets and his staff very much share the same ethos.

We stayed in the standard room and were more than happy with what it offered - it was clean, definitely large enough for 2 people and very quaintly decorated. The water can be very hot though, so be careful to put the cold tap on before you jump in the shower! The criticism on here from the American customer was frankly ridiculous, why would you not want a room befitting a Riad while in Morocco? The rooms are full of character and perfectly in keeping with the surroundings.

The highlight for us was the wonderful roof terrace on which we had a delicious breakfast on more than one occasion. The terrace provides a quiet sanctum away from the busy streets of Medina down below. The free mint tea and biscuits (brought to you on the terrace if you want!) were also a very nice touch.

Dinner in the hotel is also delicious, I would definitely recommend this if you have a few nights there and want something that you know is freshly cooked and wont give you food poisoning.

The location is also fantastic, right in the heart of the Medina and only a couple of minutes from the main square. The back alleys to get there are a little alarming at first, but we felt perfectly safe once we got to know the place and actually found the distance from the main streets a bonus in terms of the significant reduction in noise level. I would definitely recommend a transfer from the airport, I have no idea how you would find the place if not.

The staff are all very friendly and attentive, with nothing too much trouble. On one occasion I asked them to recommend a good place to eat for lunch. Realising I was struggling to understand the directions (there are so many winding unmarked streets, it's difficult not to!), the maid actually walked me all the way there.

There are so many positive reasons to come here and no negatives as far as myself and my partner could see. The hotel is a little more pricey than others around, but with this you really get what you pay for - and in a country like Morocco, why take the chance? I shudder to think what cheaper hotels might have been like and am so glad I chose to stay here.

Merci beaucoup Jean Patrick!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

What a little gem Dar Silsila is. Nothing is too much trouble for Jean Patrick and his charming team. Our children (6 and 13) never wanted to leave to explore Marrakech! Ideally situated for the souks & square with a classy, discreet yet friendly atmosphere. Lovely breakfasts, and delicious dinners to order. Try the fabulous little hammam and massage for a real treat. J-P is happy to arrange trips, transfers and recommend & reserve restaurants. Despite the culture shock of the crazy souks, mopeds, donkey carts & carriages of Marrakech, we always felt safe.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJP065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Riad Dar Silsila, Marrakesh, where we had a most enjoyable stay. If you want to stay in a standard hotel, with standard rooms, standard facilities and standard staff, don’t stay at the Dar Silsila. However, if you want to stay in a sophisticated home, tastefully decorated to the very highest standard from top to bottom, with very attentive staff then the Dar Silsila is for you.

From the customary welcome of mint tea on our arrival by the enthusiastic owner, Jean Patrick, to our departure, we found the tranquil peacefulness of the Dar Silsila an absolute delight. The riad is situated just on the fringe of the main square, Jemaa el Fna, a matter of a few minutes walk. The contrast from the bustle of the souks to the quietness of the riad was in itself a treat.

We stayed in the Africaine Suite, which comprised a large double bed with a small sitting area and a fully equipped bathroom with shower area. Simple touches like the fresh red roses on the table to sprinkled rose petals on our towels just emphasised the attention to detail given by Jean Patrick and his superb team.

The staff couldn’t have been better, discrete but very helpful when required. On arrival Jean Patrick briefed us on the “must see” sights and suggested a few suitable restaurants for coffee and mint tea just to get us going. All the staff were a delight, but particular mention must be made of Mohamed and Fouad. Mohamed was always extremely helpful, from the provision of mint tea (free!) on request or advice on directions or for a suitable restaurant for dining (the nearby Kossour Essaoussan is a real treat). Fouad, served us the traditional Moroccan breakfast each morning, always with a warm greeting and a smile.

We dined in the riad one evening and the food was superb, in particular the beef tagine which was not bettered elsewhere during our stay.

Jean Patrick also arranged the bus tickets for us to visit Essaouira, the car and driver to take us to Imlil up in the Atlas Mountains and the car to take us back to the airport.

Our stay at the Dar Silsila was a wonderful experience, great value in beautiful surroundings and attended by first class staff.

To Jean-Patrick, Mohamed, Fouad and the girls: "Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and easy.

Wonderful!!
Willie & Linda, Scotland

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diazjr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Dar Silsila recently and were extremely happy with our time there. Jean Patrick was wonderful and went out of his way to make our stay a pleasant one. The rooms and common areas are nicely decorated and well maintained. The location is also great, although at first the alleys may seem intimidating, they are very safe.

When back in Marrakech, I will definitely stay here again. Thank you Jean Patrick for making our visit a memorable one!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diazjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

We spent some lovely days in Dar Silsila. The first days were quite rainy so we relaxed most of the time in our Riad. Mohammed & team spoilt us as much as they could. We had great mint tea, biscuits and when entering the different lounges the team were turning on nice&relaxing music.
Rooms:
We stayed in a standard deluxe room which was comfortable and decorated very classy (like the whole Riad). I liked the bathroom - the basin was out of mosaic. Rooms were very clean.
Breakfast:
Fresh Orangejuice, selfmade yoghurt, croissant, crepes, bread, marmelade/honey, tea, coffee
Location:
Even though the Riad was at the end of a small street and we had to pass through a dark "tunnel" it was never dangerous. We were 2 blond women and had no problems at all.
I highly recommend Dar Silsila. Check the internet site to see photos of the terrace & lounges.
I also recommend to visit Les Bains Marrakech. It´s a wonderful, romantic place to get Hamman & Massages. We spent around 3 hours (incl. 1hour Massage) there and payed not more than 50,-EUR.

  • Liked — Friendly/helpful staff, Room, Lounges, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alsterperle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Maipa
Riad Maipa
#263 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#239 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#200 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#270 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#139 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing