We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a romantic getaway”
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #271 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We are just back from a 3-night visit to Marrakesh to celebrate my wife's birthday and are so pleased we chose Dar Silsila. From the start, Jean-Patrick and his team made us feel welcome, organising a taxi pick-up and (absolutely delicious) meal on arrival. Our standard deluxe room (no 4 in the "new" building?) was one of 4 on the 1st floor surrounding an open courtyard. The African theme was beautifully executed and the picture window was a perfect place to sit and read before heading out to the souks. The roof terraces are extensive with plenty of sunbeds and shady pagodas where you can take a siesta and enjoy a refreshing glass of mint tea and biscuits. Breakfast is a perfect mixture of yoghurt, fruit and a selectionof pastries, pancakes or dropscones which changed every day. Finally, don't miss out on the wonderful Hamman and massage whch can be arranged in the riad's own facilities off the roof terrace which is a perfect way to unwind on the last day. Visit and enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caveman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

Staying with Jean Patrick and his 'crew' at Dar Silsila is always a pleasure and fulfilling experience. I have stayed here for leisure and business and I find no matter what I am trying to achieve in my day, life is always made easy staying here. It is an escape from the bussle of Marrakech but holds all the finer details of the Moroccan experience. The architecture is immaculate, the roof garden devine and tranquil. It's location allows easy access to the main souks (if you manange to make sense of the small alley ways), and the modern city. I'll be back soon!! Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixiestix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We spent 3 days in Dar Silsila. Jean Pattrick and Mohammed were really helpful with suggestions of what to see and where to eat to make the most of our short stay.
The Riad itself is lovely (as was our room) and it is very well situated for sightseeing.
We have already recommended it to two of our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollingtonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We stayed for a week at the end of February and cannot speak highly enough of this little gem. Only 5 minutes walk from Djemaa El-Fna yet quiet and peaceful. Jean-Patrick and his staff were wonderful - very attentive without being 'in your face'. The ladies who clean the rooms were always smiling and everyone seemd genuinely pleased to look after us. Jean-Patrick emailed us before our arrival to ask if we'd like like an airport transfer and a meal on our first evening (we'd recommend both). He booked several trips for us, including a trip to the Ourika valley and 2 mornings in the city with an official guide. At 200 dh (about 16 GBP) for 4 of us, plus 10dh (80p) each for admission into Saadian tombs, Bahai and Al-Badi palaces on our first morning and a little more for the Ibn Yusef Medrassa (Koranic school) and Museum of Marrakech on the other, this was money well worth spending. Ali told us not only about the places we were visiting but lots of extra information as we walked between them. And as for the beds in the riad - probably the most comfortable in any hotel I've ever stayed in. Thanks once again to you all.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I really think this is an excellent guest house. Spotless,friendly and of real character. Well placed for the Medina, yet peaceful inside.I would use it again and be happy to send family or freinds. Well Done to Jean Patrick and all staff!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We had a wonderful time in this lovely house.
The room, the location and the friendly staff was wonderful.
The manager Jean Patrick and his assistant mohammed have been very pleasant, helpful and they had a lot of good advices.
Also the hammam and the lovely dinner have been superb.
Next time we come to marrakech, we surely stay at dar silsila.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walterandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We could not have been made more welcome by Mohammed and his friendly staff, or helped any more by the delightful owner Jean-Patrick. Every opportunity was taken to ensure our stay in Marrakech was the best. Many,many thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenexplorer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#164 of 501 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#67 of 501 in Marrakech
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#97 of 501 in Marrakech
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#152 of 501 in Marrakech
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Nora
Riad Nora
#188 of 501 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#262 of 501 in Marrakech
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#129 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#165 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Marrakesh’s medina, in Bab Laksour, enter a haven of peace, elegance and well-being. This feeling of calm will invade you once you pass the door of Dar Silsila. Its intimate places, swimming pool and two terraces, away from the bustle the city, will give your stay its full meaning. Enjoy a fresh breakfast and set off to discover the hectic Marrakesh! Then, go back through the doors of our house to rest in the shade of our umbrellas, enjoy the fresh air in the patios, immerse in our beautiful pool. Then book a traditional hammam, with black soap scrub followed by a massage and, to finish your afternoon, treat yourself to traditional small pastries and a delicious mint tea! Spend a moment out of time on the terrace, and enjoy your dinner with a breathtaking view on the Koutoubia. Our team will take care of your comfort 24 hours a day. A private lounge and an en-suite bathroom are available for early arrival and late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing