We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Silsila is a stunning riad based just a five minute walk from Jamaa el Fna”
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #281 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dar Silsila is a stunning riad based just a five minute walk from Jamaa el Fna”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Dar Silsila is a stunning riad based just a five minute walk from Jamaa el Fna, it is ideal if you want a haven to escape to after the chaos of the streets.
The décor of the riad will not disappoint with every ornament carefully chosen to produce a traditional yet unique feel. Every morning the owner of riad would visit the guests at breakfast and offer his advice on everything from day trips to how to avoid getting ripped off by taxi drivers. However the highlight of this hotel had to be a supervisor called Mohammad. Whilst he too provided practical tips on how to make the most of our short trip he also had a genuine warmth and friendliness which we have rarely experienced even in the best five star establishments.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky77Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    76
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
80
380
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Being our first time in Marrakech, we were completely unsure of what to expect .... although we would never have imagined how restfull our stay at the Dar Silsila would be !
Walking into the Riad, it's amazing how tranquil the house is. You wouldn't think you were in the middle of Marrakech, rather some country retreat. The staff were absolutely amazing, and always did everything they could to ensure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible ... and always ready with the tea and coffee ! :)
For those (like us) who have never been to Marrakech before and researching a good place to stay, some details about the location of the Riad; It is perfectly placed near the Market Square (5 min walk) and the Souks. At the same time, it's only a short walk (less then 30min) to the New City.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ntrinidade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

An incredible must-stay if you are in Marrakesh. From the moment we walked into this spectacular home, to our final cup of tea on our way home, we were treated spectacularly. Mohammed, Jean-Patrick and all the staff spoiled us wonderfully for three days at this luxiourious riad in the center of Marrakesh. This beautiful guest house has a fountain, 20 foot ceilings, stained glass windows, rooptop gardens, a spectacular view, several living room areas, wonderful breakfasts, elegant rooms, and so much charm. We took advantage of their massage treatment, which was a great local treat. What a cheerful, hospitable place—I think the staff people love their jobs! Oh, and the location was great. Can’t wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Dar Silsila is excellent. I've stayed in numerous, more expensive riads in Marrakech (chosen using the various Moroccan interior design books - they're all great too) so booked this expecting a cheap, basic hotel. Not so. It's just as good as the more expensive riads in terms of quality of offering, friendliness of staff and central location (opposite the famous Tobsil restaurant and only a short walk from the edge of the medina so easier to find at night and access by car than other riads). Incredible value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Really great place. Beautiful interior and rooms. We had a huge, comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were faultless. We couldn't have been happier. Many thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adhazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I stayed at the Riad Dar Silsila in March for 3 nights with 2 friends. We had the most fantastic time, very much thanks to Mohammed, Jean-Patrick and the rest of the staff.

I must admit, I was a little nervous at the prospect of going to Marrakech. I had no idea what to expect and was worried about the culture shock that awaited me.

We asked the riad to arrange an airport transfer when we arrived and I highly recommend doing this. It took all the stress out of trying to find the riad ourselves.

As soon as we arrived we were ushered into a relaxing reception area and given mint tea and biscuits. Jean-Patrick sat down with us (and a map!) and recommended places to go, sights to see and things to eat. It made us feel so welcome and very comfortable in the city.

The riad is really close to the souks and the square and, despite this, is like an oasis of calm. We spent every evening on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine, soaking up the great weather.

I couldn't recommend Riad Dar Silsila more highly. When we left after 4 days, we felt like we were leaving friends behind.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaKnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Dar Silsila is a fantastic riad and made our stay in Marrakech great. Firstly it is in a great location - easy to walk to Jamaa el Fna and all the attractions of Marrakech. Secondly, the service you receive at the riad is great. They are so accommodating, there is always free mint tea/biscuits/coffee, breakfast is included and it is delicious (especially the home-made yogurt and the orange juice!) and you can take it on the roof-top terrace if you like to soak up the sun! They were so helpful in organising our day trips, airport transfers and providing us with general knowledge of Marrakech. The rooms themselves are lovely, comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms - plus airconditioning! I highly recommend this Riad!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Infinity Sea
Riad Infinity Sea
#128 of 500 in Marrakech
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,251 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#242 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing